The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Dec 10, 2003, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member

This is my first year officiating. My understanding of the 3-second lane violation is that as long as the play has even one foot on the line that defines the lane for a 3-second count, it is considered a lane violation. I have been watching officials this year, and it is not clear to me as I've seen so many missed calls if this is the case. It almost appears that they are waiting for two feet to be in the lane.

Advise?
Old Wed Dec 10, 2003, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member

By rule: If his one foot is in the lane and the other is out he is in violation. 9-7-2. If he lift the foot that is in the lane he's "cleared" the lane and the count gets reset.

Now my own personal take,he is up at the free throw lane and only standing there and doesn't have the ball I'm not going to call it. I'll only call it if he's there for the three and then gets the ball and turns to make a shot.
Old Wed Dec 10, 2003, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
The three second call is interpreted in different ways in different associations, and at different levels. What we are told here in Portland, Oregon, is that if the person is there for 4 or 5 but not receiving the ball, and not setting screens, just standing, give a little elbow room, and see what happens. If that person receives the ball, TWEET!! or of they are actively gaining a screening advantage, TWEET!!. 1/4 inch of shoe leather on the line isn't really anything to keep track of. That's how it's supposed to be bcalled around here.