The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2003, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
NCAA 9-4-5 says that no opponent of the thrower shall have any part of his/her body across the OOB plane until the ball has crossed the plane and come inbounds. Under NCAA, I would call the violation if the defender touched the ball before it came inbounds. (He had to be across the line before he touched the ball, right?)
That's a good argument, but the same reasoning would hold for B1 who touches the ball when it's still in A1's hands, or being passed to out-of-bounds A2 after a score. In these cases we have a T.

From now on, I'll probably call a violation and warn so that the next reaching through by B is a T (whether or not they touch).

Players would make reffing so much easier if they just obeyed all the rules!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1