The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   IAABO Refresher Test Question #73 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/111-iaabo-refresher-test-question-73-a.html)

Joel Poli Wed Nov 03, 1999 02:11pm

The question reads: "During halftime, A-1 who has been wearing the number 4, changes his jersey with the number 24. Upon returning to the floor, A-1 notifies the scorers and the officials of the change. Referee assesses A-1 with a technical foul. Is the official correct?"

Keith Wenrich Wed Nov 03, 1999 05:47pm

Rule 10-1-Art.2c - It is a team technical to require the scorer to cahnge a squad member's or player's number in the scorebook. If the player did not report it to the officials and the scorers, then it would be a single flagrant technical which would require DQ. Shoot the technical and get the 2nd half going.

Howsie Thu Nov 11, 1999 11:49pm

Rule 10-1-Art.2c - It is a team technical to require the scorer to cahnge a squad member's or player's number in the scorebook. If the player did not report it to the officials and the scorers, then it would be a single flagrant technical which would require DQ. Shoot the technical and get the 2nd half going.

You are correct in regards to changing a player's number after the 10 min limit...however...as stated in 10-3-1, a player must report any change in number to both scores and officials prior to participating. This did apen in this case. No Technical is called. Legal action.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1