The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2000, 11:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 94
Question

I recently had another official ask me about this rather bizarre incident. On a desperation try for goal from 3/4 court, the offensive player heaved the ball towards her basket only to have the ball bounce once and enter the basket from above.

The rule book states that the try for goal ends when the ball touches the floor, so what happens when the ball goes through the hoop? Is it still in play? If not, who gets the ball and where assuming there is still time left on the clock? Or, would you count the hoop? Thanks in advance for the advice.

[Edited by Pirate on Nov 14th, 2000 at 10:37 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2000, 11:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
As long as there is time on the clock when the ball enters the basket, you would count it as a two point basket.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2000, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 94
BktBallRef, how would you interpret rule 4-40-4 then? It states that the try ends when the throw is successful, or when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful, or WHEN THE BALL TOUCHES THE FLOOR (my question) or when the ball becomes dead.

Are you suggesting that the throw was successful and therefore the try is over? Just curious.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2000, 12:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
I didn't say that it was a try. I said you count the basket. That's why I said if there was time on the clock when the ball enters the basket, you would count it as a two points. If the horn sounded after the ball hit the floor but before the ball went into the basket, it would not count, because the try ended when it hit the floor.

Two points can be scored by means other than a try. For example:

1- A throw-in cannot score a basket but if it hits the rim and a defender knocks it off, we have BI and 2 points. But we didn't have a try.

2- If B shoots the ball at A's basket and it goes in, then we have two points. But we didn't have a try.

Read 5-1-1 and 5.1.1a. It says a goal is scored when a live ball, not a try or tap, enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2000, 12:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 94
O.K., thanks for the clarification.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1