The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Sumultaneous Technical Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10994-sumultaneous-technical-question.html)

RefSouthAlb Sat Nov 29, 2003 10:52am

Rule 9-10. Section 24 indicates the penalty for a Simultaneous Technical is No shots with resumption of Play at Point of interruption.

The chart on CR -160 indicates that "Each Foul carries it's own Penalty".

COntradiction.

What is correct??

Not that we would ever call a simultaneous technical!!!

Any thoughts??

ChuckElias Sat Nov 29, 2003 10:59am

I don't think there's a contradiction. It's just that in the case of double (or simultaneous) T's, the penalty is merely the charging of the fouls to the players and teams. The penalty doesn't include FTs. So it still carries its own penalty. The penalty is just slightly different from usual.

RefSouthAlb Sun Nov 30, 2003 12:14pm

Chuck,

If it says carries it own penanlty, the penalty for a direct or indirect is 2 shots then at point of interruption.

Just think it's worded poorly.

I agree the proper administration is no shots, just being nit picky.


BktBallRef Sun Nov 30, 2003 02:51pm

Each foul does have it's own penalty. But when a foul occurs against each team at the same time, the penalties for those fouls offset. That doesn't mean that their is no penalty, just that no shots are taken. The fouls still count against the player and the team and the team with the arrow will get the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1