The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Illegal Dribble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10955-illegal-dribble.html)

Adam Fri Nov 28, 2003 09:46am

I'd say it's legal to dribble like that. Can't think of a rule reference saying otherwise, and absent that, I've got nothin'.

rainmaker Fri Nov 28, 2003 10:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
I'd say it's legal to dribble like that. Can't think of a rule reference saying otherwise, and absent that, I've got nothin'.
It's not legal, if the first bat was the beginning of a dribble. I don't have a book reference, but I'm sure I'm right. I think it's similar to having the ball hit the body -- the player has to then let the ball hit the floor again, before touching it again with the hand.

Jurassic Referee Fri Nov 28, 2003 11:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
[/B]
It's not legal, if the first bat was the beginning of a dribble. I don't have a book reference, but I'm sure I'm right. I think it's similar to having the ball hit the body -- the player has to then let the ball hit the floor again, before touching it again with the hand. [/B][/QUOTE]The dribble started with the first bat- Rule 4-15-1. Then the language in casebook play 4.15.4SitD(a) spells out the violation- <i>"Violation in (a) because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble before it touched the floor"</i>. You use the same rationale as this casebook play for Nevada's example.

Hawks Coach Fri Nov 28, 2003 11:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
I'd say it's legal to dribble like that. Can't think of a rule reference saying otherwise, and absent that, I've got nothin'.
It's not legal, if the first bat was the beginning of a dribble. I don't have a book reference, but I'm sure I'm right. I think it's similar to having the ball hit the body -- the player has to then let the ball hit the floor again, before touching it again with the hand.

I think that hand, body, hand (e.g., knee or thigh causing ball to bounce upwards w/o hitting floor) may be illegal, but I don't know a reference that would say this to be a fact. But hand, body, floor, hand is legal (interrupted dribble) as is hand, floor, body, hand.

And I don't have any reference that says nevada's example is illegal, but it does defy physics. You would have to push a ball to the point of releasing it from contact with the hand, then accellerate the hand faster than the ball is moving toward the floor and recontact the ball before it hits the floor - I don't really see this happening ever. I can't see how you would do it.

williebfree Fri Nov 28, 2003 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The dribble started with the first bat- Rule 4-15-1. Then the language in casebook play 4.15.4SitD(a) spells out the violation- <i>"Violation in (a) because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble before it touched the floor"</i>. You use the same rationale as this casebook play for Nevada's example. [/QUOTE]

I am having a hard time envisioning how NevRef's situation occurred. Where the player's feet schuffling? I re-read his post and see he states that the player "pushed" the ball... If the feet are not moving before the dribble started, I cannot see a violation....

Jurassic Referee Fri Nov 28, 2003 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by williebfree
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The dribble started with the first bat- Rule 4-15-1. Then the language in casebook play 4.15.4SitD(a) spells out the violation- <i>"Violation in (a) because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble before it touched the floor"</i>. You use the same rationale as this casebook play for Nevada's example.



I am having a hard time envisioning how NevRef's situation occurred. Where the player's feet schuffling? I re-read his post and see he states that the player "pushed" the ball... If the feet are not moving before the dribble started, I cannot see a violation....
[/QUOTE]Willie,the feet won't come into play because you can't travel while you're dribbling-only at the beginning or the end of the dribble. An example of what Nevada is talking about(I think :D) is a player pushing the ball to the floor with his right hand during his dribble,and then reaching in with his left hand and pushing the ball down again before the ball had hit the floor. In other words,the dribbler had hit the ball in the air twice with his hand(s) between bounces.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1