The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Bad toss and rejump - the clock. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10938-bad-toss-rejump-clock.html)

mick Mon Nov 24, 2003 08:56am

You toss the ball at center circle to start the game.
Your whistle is hangin'.
You get bumped by a jumper and the ball goes askew.
Partner watchin' what?
Clock starts on touch, You get bumped again; you fumble for your whistle, find it and blow the ball dead.
Clock says, "7:56".

Now what?
mick


tomegun Mon Nov 24, 2003 09:24am

bring it back and toss again. that's it.

BktBallRef Mon Nov 24, 2003 09:34am

And get the hellouttatheway this time! :)

cmathews Mon Nov 24, 2003 10:53am

Hey guys, why wouldn't you put the time back on the clock? You have definite knowledge of what it should be?? Just curious?

Dan_ref Mon Nov 24, 2003 10:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by cmathews
Hey guys, why wouldn't you put the time back on the clock? You have definite knowledge of what it should be?? Just curious?
"Definite knowledge" applies to timing errors. There's been no timing error since the clock (apparently) was started & stopped properly.

Rich Mon Nov 24, 2003 11:01am

It may not be correct per rule, but I would (and have) reset the clock since the game starts on the good toss.

Of course, I am in the camp that blowing it down causes more problems than it solves. YMMV.

Rich

cmathews Mon Nov 24, 2003 11:03am

Dan, I don't think it did start correctly...it should not have started, it was a dead ball, therefore started incorrectly. Just my thought, and hopefully 4 seconds wouldn't make a big difference...but then again you never know..

Dan_ref Mon Nov 24, 2003 11:07am

Quote:

Originally posted by cmathews
Dan, I don't think it did start correctly...it should not have started, it was a dead ball, therefore started incorrectly. Just my thought, and hopefully 4 seconds wouldn't make a big difference...but then again you never know..
The clock starts on the touch (which Mick seems to be saying happened) and it took maybe 4 seconds for Mick to grab his whistle & blow it dead (and it looks like the clock was stopped) so the timer acted properly...unless you have something else in mind?

Hawks Coach Mon Nov 24, 2003 01:11pm

I didn't initially reply cause mick's little poem leaves much to the imagination. Was this a bad toss and therefore no toss? If so, re-set the clock. Or was this a good toss, no clear control (dual touch), ball subsquently OOB off both players, and therefore time should have run? If so, leave it alone and re-jump.

garote Mon Nov 24, 2003 01:18pm

Whether or not the clock was started correctly...reset the clock and start over because its the right thing to do.

Dan_ref Mon Nov 24, 2003 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
I didn't initially reply cause mick's little poem leaves much to the imagination. Was this a bad toss and therefore no toss? If so, re-set the clock.

Got a rule, AR, case play or memo on this?

Quote:

Originally posted by garote

Whether or not the clock was started correctly...reset the clock and start over because its the right thing to do.



Got a rule, AR, case play or memo on this?


You guys could be right but I've never seen one.

Hawks Coach Mon Nov 24, 2003 02:02pm

5-9-2
If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

If the toss is bad, ball is not live and it is not legally touched, therefore clock doesn't start (or shouldn't). That's why I say re-set on first condition I outlined - obviously subject to debate.

As for starting in the second case, it seems clear to me. Ball was legally touched, clock starts on tap and stops on whistle. That's how the rule reads (stopping is in 5-8-1, and it is when official signals a violation, not when violation occurs).

bob jenkins Mon Nov 24, 2003 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
I didn't initially reply cause mick's little poem leaves much to the imagination. Was this a bad toss and therefore no toss? If so, re-set the clock.

Got a rule, AR, case play or memo on this?

Quote:

Originally posted by garote

Whether or not the clock was started correctly...reset the clock and start over because its the right thing to do.



Got a rule, AR, case play or memo on this?


You guys could be right but I've never seen one.

The clock shouldn't start until the jump ball is legally touched.

If the R doesn't throw the ball up at in a plane at right angles to the sidelines and dso the ball will drop between the jumpers, it's not a jump ball, so the ball isn't legally touched.

And, yes, I'm reaching to find rules that support what I think is the "right" thing to do here.


Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 24, 2003 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/b]

Got a rule, AR, case play or memo on this?


You guys could be right but I've never seen one.
[/B][/QUOTE]I have. Casebook play 5.10.1SitA- <i>"In instances where the the timer has <b>NOT</b> made an obvious mistake, the referee is <b>NOT</b> authorized to either put time on the clock or take time off the clock"</i>.

That's pretty clear. Forget about putting the 4 seconds back on. The rules won't let you.

tomegun Mon Nov 24, 2003 02:15pm

The ball is live when it leaves the R's hand(s). The clock is started when it is legally touched. I would really like to see a rule that really gives a strong foundation for putting the time back on the clock. I've never heard of this but there is a first time for everything.

tomegun Mon Nov 24, 2003 02:16pm

Thank you Jurassic.

Dan_ref Mon Nov 24, 2003 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
I didn't initially reply cause mick's little poem leaves much to the imagination. Was this a bad toss and therefore no toss? If so, re-set the clock.

Got a rule, AR, case play or memo on this?

Quote:

Originally posted by garote

Whether or not the clock was started correctly...reset the clock and start over because its the right thing to do.



Got a rule, AR, case play or memo on this?


You guys could be right but I've never seen one.

The clock shouldn't start until the jump ball is legally touched.

If the R doesn't throw the ball up at in a plane at right angles to the sidelines and dso the ball will drop between the jumpers, it's not a jump ball, so the ball isn't legally touched.

And, yes, I'm reaching to find rules that support what I think is the "right" thing to do here.


Hmmm....what I got loosely says the jump starts when it leaves the officials hand & ends when it's touched; the game clock starts when the jump ball is legally touched; the toss shall be repeated when a bad toss is made.

As you say the only thing you have to hang your hat on (IMO) is what constitutes legally touched. I tend to think it means a touch that does not otherwise violate the jump ball provisions, and might also mean the ball is to be touched inbounds.

I can't for the life of me see how it means the ref didn't screw up the toss. And I surely don't see where it says the bad toss requires us to put expired time back on (and maybe even ignore fouls except for flagrant or intentional fouls blah blah blah...?). I mean, words to this effect are there for other times we screw it up, why not this time?


Dan_ref Mon Nov 24, 2003 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
5-9-2
If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

If the toss is bad, ball is not live and it is not legally touched, therefore clock doesn't start (or shouldn't). That's why I say re-set on first condition I outlined - obviously subject to debate.

As for starting in the second case, it seems clear to me. Ball was legally touched, clock starts on tap and stops on whistle. That's how the rule reads (stopping is in 5-8-1, and it is when official signals a violation, not when violation occurs).

Forget your second case, it's trivial. (And forget JR's post, it makes the answer all too clear & short circuits a good discussion ;) )

As I asked Bob, how does a BAD toss mean the ball can not be subsequently LEGALLY touched?

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 24, 2003 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
(And forget JR's post, it makes the answer all too clear & short circuits a good discussion

[/B][/QUOTE]Well,if you don't need me, I guess I'll go have my nappy then.

cmathews Mon Nov 24, 2003 03:09pm

I agree with HawksCoach, obviously since I was the first to say put it back on the clock :)..My thinking is, the ball isn't legally touched because the toss isn't "legal" for lack of a better word. When the referee realizes that the toss is bad, it becomes a dead ball regardless of the whistle (whistles don't make the ball dead except for inadvertant whistles)..since the ball is dead it is not "legally" touched and therefore the clock was started improperly, through no fault of the timer but still improperly...so I say reset it to 8:00 and let's go again..besides it is the "right" thing to do ;)

refgatormaz Mon Nov 24, 2003 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref


Got a rule, AR, case play or memo on this?


You guys could be right but I've never seen one.
[/B]
I have. Casebook play 5.10.1SitA- <i>"In instances where the the timer has <b>NOT</b> made an obvious mistake, the referee is <b>NOT</b> authorized to either put time on the clock or take time off the clock"</i>.

That's pretty clear. Forget about putting the 4 seconds back on. The rules won't let you. [/B][/QUOTE]


Good case, I agree with JR all the way on this one.

Hawks Coach Mon Nov 24, 2003 04:14pm

If a toss is bad, it is bad before it reaches its apex (except in an outdoor game with high wind conditions :) ). I agree with cmatthews, there was no legal touch because the ball was dead before it was touched due to the bad toss. The whistle doesn't make it so, it just lets everybody know about it. The time should still be 8:00.

Not sure about whether I like using JR's rule in this case. The question is whether or not this is a timing error. I believe that if the ball has yet to be legally touched, we would put the time back. Antoher example of this would be on an inbounds play. Ref tries to call 5 seconds, had whistle in hand because coach was asking him a question, ball is released, whistle is late, ball is touched, 2 seconds runs off the clock. If there were 2.2 seconds left in this scenario and you called 5 seconds, and now 0.2 shows on the clock, aren't you going to put time back on. The ball was legally touched inbounds before the whistle, but it was in fact dead before the whistle and touched after it was dead. That is the same as this jump ball scenario.

JR's rule does lead to a decent result from a getting started perspective. We can waste time putting the 4 seconds back on, or we can toss and play as JR says the rules would have us do. And since we have 32:00 or 31:56 to play, I don't think it matters as much as an end-of-game timing scenario.

Stan Mon Nov 24, 2003 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach


And since we have 32:00 or 31:56 to play, I don't think it matters as much as an end-of-game timing scenario. [/B]
It might make a difference in the OT periods. Assuming you've done everything to prevent the OT.

Thanks, Stan

DownTownTonyBrown Mon Nov 24, 2003 06:11pm

Mechanics Manual
 
Although it isn't in the rule or casebooks....

The Official's Manual says in paragraph 212:
If the toss is poor, either official shall sound the whistle immediately, signal the clock should not start and order a rejump.

None of us are quick enough to get our whistles back into our mouths and "signal that the clock should not start" and timers are not quick enough to recognize such a situation and not start the clock. Soooo, with this guidance I would have to assume that we should put the clock back into the condition it was before it started - reset time.

Dan_ref Mon Nov 24, 2003 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
If a toss is bad, it is bad before it reaches its apex...
We already disagree.

Anywho....
Where does it say a BAD toss = an ILLEGAL toss?
Where does it say to replace the time elapsed?
What if there's a foul...ignore it?

Dan_ref Mon Nov 24, 2003 07:56pm

Re: Mechanics Manual
 
Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
Although it isn't in the rule or casebooks....

The Official's Manual says in paragraph 212:
If the toss is poor, either official shall sound the whistle immediately, signal the clock should not start and order a rejump.

None of us are quick enough to get our whistles back into our mouths and "signal that the clock should not start" and timers are not quick enough to recognize such a situation and not start the clock. Soooo, with this guidance I would have to assume that we should put the clock back into the condition it was before it started - reset time.

However, in this play the U1 did signal the clock to be started, making these instructions irrelevant. ANd properly causing time to come off that can't be put back on.

Hawks Coach Mon Nov 24, 2003 08:36pm

Dan
Where do you get that interp of the sitch or the casebook? sitch never says U1 signalled, nor does the casebook specifically address an improper signal for the clock to start.

If the U1 improperly signals the clock to start on the front end of a two-shot foul when B1 jumps in and rebounds it, is that not able to be fixed simply because U1 improperly signalled the clock to start? How about U1 chops clock on a fake inbounds pass, then there is a five second count, and 3 seconds ran off the clock. This is now not a timing error by the timer so it can't be fixed? That's kind of silly if you ask me.

Common sense says the clock doesn't start on a bad toss. The Official's Manual backs that up. why fight it?

Dan_ref Mon Nov 24, 2003 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Dan
Where do you get that interp of the sitch or the casebook? sitch never says U1 signalled, nor does the casebook specifically address an improper signal for the clock to start.

If the U1 improperly signals the clock to start on the front end of a two-shot foul when B1 jumps in and rebounds it, is that not able to be fixed simply because U1 improperly signalled the clock to start? How about U1 chops clock on a fake inbounds pass, then there is a five second count, and 3 seconds ran off the clock. This is now not a timing error by the timer so it can't be fixed? That's kind of silly if you ask me.

Common sense says the clock doesn't start on a bad toss. The Official's Manual backs that up. why fight it?

In Mick's case U1 (and U2 if there) obviously were happy with the toss, so U1 signalled on the touch per rule. Which means the timer properly started the clock. In your other cases the signal is made in error and counter to rule: ball dead after first of 2 FTs - timer error, clock starts on touch on throw-in - timer error.

There is simply no rule that allows us to put time back on the clock in the case of a late whistled bad toss. You might not like it but that is the case, and common sense has nothing to do with it. If it were the case the rules would say so & we would know what to do with points scored & fouls committed during the time that came off in error.

Hawks Coach Mon Nov 24, 2003 09:11pm

No, in Mick's case the ref was bumped while tossing the ball, and the ball went askew. Nowhere does it say the ref was happy with the toss. The U thinking the toss is OK is not in the post, but even if it was it has nothing to do with it. It was a bad toss, whistled late. The ball was never properly live, never legally touched, the clock was improperly started.

This is really a rare kind of case anyway, but could happen and the book tells you what to do. If you choose to ignore it for convenience or whatever other reason, it's not the technically right thing but it's your game - call it your way. And this won't make a whole lot fo difference.

I'd also like your answers on my other clock shouldn't have started cases and your justification for the answers. How are they different or are they?

Dan_ref Mon Nov 24, 2003 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach

... It was a bad toss, whistled late...


Agree
Quote:



...The ball was never properly live, never legally touched, the clock was improperly started...



Disagree, and I'll ask you again to show where in the rules there is support for this. That's all.


Quote:


If you choose to ignore it for convenience or whatever other reason, it's not the technically right thing but it's your game - call it your way.




You keep saying this but you have yet to prove it by rule, case play, a.r. or memo.

Quote:


I'd also like your answers on my other clock shouldn't have started cases and your justification for the answers. How are they different or are they?

I did this already. In both cases the clock is started in error counter to rule. In Mick's case the clock is started on the touch & the ball is whistled dead 4 seconds later for a bad toss. The rules allow us to rejump (explicitely) but not restart the game.

tomegun Tue Nov 25, 2003 07:39am

The ball is legally touched. What did the players do that is illegal. It is a bad toss. Not an illegal toss. Is there such a thing as an illegal toss? Someone needs to find it in the rule book where is says something about putting time back on the clock for a bad toss. Yes, the clock shouldn't start but if it does where does it say you can put time back on the clock?

mick Tue Nov 25, 2003 08:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by tomegun
The ball is legally touched. What did the players do that is illegal. It is a bad toss. Not an illegal toss. Is there such a thing as an illegal toss? Someone needs to find it in the rule book where is says something about putting time back on the clock for a bad toss. <font color = purple><U> Yes, the clock shouldn't start</U></font> but if it does where does it say you can put time back on the clock?
...And you reference for the clock not starting on a bad toss is...? ;)
mick

tomegun Tue Nov 25, 2003 09:19am

Mick what I meant by that is if the toss is immediately blown dead then this will happen before the clock starts. This is a matter if tenths of a second though. I just don't think you can go back and put time on the clock. So, the answer to your question is I don't have a reference. Normally, I wouldn't be concerned with the state of the clock in this situation unless the clock continues to run after the whistle.

cmathews Tue Nov 25, 2003 09:56am

The toss is bad, this means the ball remains dead, a whistle only causes a dead ball in one situation (inadvertant whistle), in all other cases it confirms that the ball is dead. If the ball is to remain dead it can't be legally touched, if it can't be legally touched the clock can't properly start, if the clock can't properly start then it is a timing error that can and in my mind should be corrected. I also think that some justification for this is from the officials manual the DownTown pointed out. Most of the rules have a logical and justifiable explanation and usually fair play is central to that explanation. Should the kids lose 4 seconds because of a bad toss? I don't think so, so I think the right thing to do is put the time back up and go again, and I think it is justifiable with the statement from the officials manual.. my 2 cents for the 10th time, does that mean I am almost up to a quarters worth?? LOL :

Dan_ref Tue Nov 25, 2003 10:06am

Quote:

Originally posted by cmathews
The toss is bad, this means the ball remains dead,...
Nope. The ball is made live when the toss is released. That's the case for a good, bad or indifferent toss.

cmathews Tue Nov 25, 2003 10:14am

Dan, if that is really the intent of the rule then what is the justification for tossing again? I don't have my books so I can't quote, but the jist of the toss says it shall be tossed at right angles to the sidelines and division line or something close....since it wasn't it isn't a good toss, if it isn't good it shouldn't become live, just as if you hand the ball to the player at the throwin spot and it is mishandled, the count doesn't continue while you retrieve the ball, so it is pretty similar....either way, I will put time back on the clock and go...

Dan_ref Tue Nov 25, 2003 10:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by cmathews
Dan, if that is really the intent of the rule then what is the justification for tossing again? I don't have my books so I can't quote, but the jist of the toss says it shall be tossed at right angles to the sidelines and division line or something close....since it wasn't it isn't a good toss, if it isn't good it shouldn't become live, just as if you hand the ball to the player at the throwin spot and it is mishandled, the count doesn't continue while you retrieve the ball, so it is pretty similar....either way, I will put time back on the clock and go...
The ball is made live unconditionally on the toss...look it up in rule 6. If the toss is too low, too high or at an angle we are given, by rule, an opportunity to correct it. There are not many ways to put time back onto the clock. This sitch is not one of them.

Rich Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:17am

Look in the NFHS manual, somewhere around section 200-220. It does mention in the 2-official section that if a toss is blown down the officials are to make sure the clock hasn't started. Or something like that. I left my book in the car, but I remember reading something like this last night. Could someone look it up and see whether this applies?

First game tonight, varsity boys. 34 games until baseball season :)

Rich

cmathews Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:23am

Rich,
Paragraph 212 according to DownTownTonyBrown

Rich Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:31am

That's the section I was talking about. I wish I would've read the thread more carefully.

I would put the time back up. Any coach that would argue this at the beginning of the game is going to cause me bigger problems than this.

Rich

ChuckElias Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:39am

Yeah, Rich, it's 212. It says, "If the toss is poor, either official shall sound the whistle immediately, signal the clock should not start and order a rejump." Paragraph 321 makes the same point in reference to a 3-whistle crew.

It states clearly that the clock should not start. Notice, however, that it doesn't say what to do if the clock does start.

Paragraph 215 says that if there's a violation before the jump ball is legally touched, then the clock should not start. But a bad toss is not a violation.

Rich Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:13pm

But it also means that the toss really never happened.

If one of the umpires is blowing down the toss, does s/he really intend to start the clock?

Of course, this is all hypothetical since I never blow down a toss :)

Rich

tomegun Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:26pm

Good point Rich. Here we are arguing over this all day and the answer is staring us in the face.

1. In a 2-person or 3-person the clock has to be started by an official. If the official blows the toss then he/she never chopped the clock. So, if the clock starts we have to go to one of the problems we don't talk about enough, THE TABLE! They need to quit spectating and become part of the team. Forget about what they think and when they think the clock should start. Look at when the ref chops the clock.

2. In this situation if the official tossing the ball had to stop the clock then I can see why there is an argument about putting time back on the clock. Also, the other official needs to get on the ball and get some guts.

Dan_ref Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
But it also means that the toss really never happened.

If one of the umpires is blowing down the toss, does s/he really intend to start the clock?

Of course, this is all hypothetical since I never blow down a toss :)

Rich

Of course the toss happened. The ball was made live, the clock properly started presumably on the U1's chop (remember, the R blew it dead?) and 4 seconds later the ball was made dead on the whistle. It happens. Toss it back up & continue with 19:56.

BTW, although I never say never, I agree it's got to be one hell of a bad toss before I blow it back. :)

AK ref SE Tue Nov 25, 2003 01:32pm

Well I agree with what is said in the officials manual....The clock should have never started in the first place. If it did, I am going to the table bring both coaches together tell them we are going to start the game with 8:00 on the clock and the clock should never have been started. Its the right thing to do.

Contact is a foul, unless it is incidental contact.....from ready posts in here, I know we let a lot of incidental contact go instead of calling a foul, why, because most of the time it is the right thing to do and makes for a better flow to the game.

Just my opinion! and my 2 cents!

AK ref SE

Rich Tue Nov 25, 2003 02:12pm

If the referee blows it down then there's another problem we aren't talking about.

The R doesn't have a whistle in his mouth. To blow it down, he'd have to toss, recognize the bad toss, bring the whistle in his mouth, and blow. By that point, if it REALLY is that bad, an umpire should've already killed it.

There are 4 quarters in a game and the toss just sets the arrow. It has to be a really dreadful toss (for instance one that goes untouched by the jumpers) before I'd blow it back. The coaches and spectators will forget how crappy my toss is pretty quickly. I may be more inclined to blow one down in overtime.

I'll have to be the U tonight now that I set myself up for a bad toss.

Rich

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 25, 2003 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by AK ref SE
[BIf it did, I am going to the table bring both coaches together tell them we are going to start the game with 8:00 on the clock and the clock should never have been started. Its the right thing to do.

[/B]
It might be the right thing to do, but you have absolutely <b>no</b> rules basis to do so, unfortunately, in this particular case. The timer <b>started</b> the clock correctly, <b>by rule</b>, when the ball was tapped. Four seconds later the timer <b>stopped</b> the clock correctly, <b>by rule</b>, when the official blew his whistle. The timer did <b>not</b> commit a "timing error" of any kind. The manual reference doesn't apply for the simple reason that the official did <b>not</b> signal for the clock to remain stopped in this case. If he had done so,and the timer had then ran the clock for 4 seconds,- then,yes, you could say that the timer had now committed a "timing error". There is <b>no</b> rule,play, etc. available that will allow you to put time back on the clock for this play. AAMF, casebook play 5.10.1SitA specifically says that the refereee <b>can't</b> put any time back on the clock.

rainmaker Tue Nov 25, 2003 03:40pm

Sheez, four pages about four seconds at the beginning of a game, and four pages about belts. We definitely need some new blood on this board.

AK ref SE Tue Nov 25, 2003 03:49pm

I am digging deep on this one, and I am sure that someone will say that I can't use this rule in this scenerio!

Rule 2.3
Referee's Authority
The referee shall make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rules.

I still say that I am going to put the time back on the clock to start the game. Clock should have never started.

AK ref SE

Rich Tue Nov 25, 2003 04:38pm

In response to Jurassic's use of bold print:

I'm going to give the most politically incorrect answer possible. I simply don't care whether there is a black-and-white justification for me to do so. I'm putting the time back on the clock and we're starting with 8:00 on the clock.

Somebody please follow this post with the typical response asking me which other rules I'm going to choose to ignore.

(Traveling and palming, probably, but I digress :) )

Juulie is right. We do need some new blood or at least something new to talk about.

Compression shorts? Patent leather shoes? Type of lanyard used? I think I'm going to go with the noose tonight, myself along with my New Balance shoes.

Rich

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 25, 2003 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by AK ref SE
I am digging deep on this one, and I am sure that someone will say that I can't use this rule in this scenerio!

Rule 2.3
Referee's Authority
The referee shall make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rules.

I still say that I am going to put the time back on the clock to start the game. Clock should have never started.


OK,I'll say that you can't use R2-3 because the the play <b>is</b> already covered in the rules,specifically the casebook play that I referenced.You can't ignore that one just because you don't agree with it.

I'll also say that if this same play happened to me, and if I was the R as in mick's original post-way baaaaack:
1)I would call for a re-jump.
2)I would tell the timer to re-set the game clock to 8:00,20:00,whatever, without even trying to explain why to the coaches.

You don't try to kill a gnat with a cannon.

Dan_ref Tue Nov 25, 2003 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
In response to Jurassic's use of bold print:

I'm going to give the most politically incorrect answer possible. I simply don't care whether there is a black-and-white justification for me to do so. I'm putting the time back on the clock and we're starting with 8:00 on the clock.




Oh, that's just great! Now tell us what other rules you'll ignore....

Quote:



Somebody please follow this post with the typical response asking me which other rules I'm going to choose to ignore.

(Traveling and palming, probably, but I digress :) )




...oh wait...well never mind that! But I bet you're the type of guy that uses a damn noose instead of a smitty!

Quote:



Juulie is right. We do need some new blood or at least something new to talk about.

Compression shorts? Patent leather shoes? Type of lanyard used? I think I'm going to go with the noose tonight, myself along with my New Balance shoes.

Rich

..uhmmmm....OK, then have a good game!!

Some people

:p

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 25, 2003 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
In response to Jurassic's use of bold print:

I'm going to give the most politically incorrect answer possible. I simply don't care whether there is a black-and-white justification for me to do so. I'm putting the time back on the clock and we're starting with 8:00 on the clock.


Yup,and you would still be wrong, by rule.

And nobody in the free world would care, either, that you were wrong.I'd do the same thing, Rich.

This was just a nice little philosophical, what-if rules discussion. Not that much relationship to the real world.

Dan_ref Tue Nov 25, 2003 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by AK ref SE
I am digging deep on this one, and I am sure that someone will say that I can't use this rule in this scenerio!

Rule 2.3
Referee's Authority
The referee shall make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rules.

I still say that I am going to put the time back on the clock to start the game. Clock should have never started.


OK,I'll say that you can't use R2-3 because the the play <b>is</b> already covered in the rules,specifically the casebook play that I referenced.You can't ignore that one just because you don't agree with it.

I'll also say that if this same play happened to me, and if I was the R as in mick's original post-way baaaaack:
1)I would call for a re-jump.
2)I would tell the timer to re-set the game clock to 8:00,20:00,whatever, without even trying to explain why to the coaches.

You don't try to kill a gnat with a cannon.

et tu, geezer?

Soooo, what kind of compression shorts you wearing these days?

Not that you got much left to compress.

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 25, 2003 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
Soooo, what kind of compression shorts you wearing these days?

Not that you got much left to compress.

[/B][/QUOTE]http://www.sodamnfunny.com/Picture/Animal/roo.jpg

BktBallRef Tue Nov 25, 2003 07:30pm

Okay, I'll put in my 4 cents.

#1 - Once the ball is tossed, it's live. There's no rule that states a bad toss prevents the ball from becoming live. There's no rule that says the ball is dead because the toss is bad. The whistle makes the ball dead, not the bad toss. This ain't football.

#2 - As has already been said over and over again, there's no rule that allows you to put time back on the clock in this case, when the toss has been legally touched. If you give the wrong team the ball on a throw-in, you can't correct it, even if it is the "right" thing to do.

#3 - What should have happened is that the U1 should not have chopped the clock. Instead, he should have killed the play. He didn't, the clock started, the 4 seconds are history. Blame the U1 for screwing the pooch.

#4 - mick, if my U1 doesn't kill this, I ain't blowing.

Dan_ref Wed Nov 26, 2003 12:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Soooo, what kind of compression shorts you wearing these days?

Not that you got much left to compress.

[/B]
http://www.sodamnfunny.com/Picture/Animal/roo.jpg [/B][/QUOTE]

Whoa. Quite a pair of ears ya got there kid.

Dan_ref Wed Nov 26, 2003 12:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Okay, I'll put in my 4 cents.

#1 - Once the ball is tossed, it's live. There's no rule that states a bad toss prevents the ball from becoming live. There's no rule that says the ball is dead because the toss is bad. The whistle makes the ball dead, not the bad toss. This ain't football.

#2 - As has already been said over and over again, there's no rule that allows you to put time back on the clock in this case, when the toss has been legally touched. If you give the wrong team the ball on a throw-in, you can't correct it, even if it is the "right" thing to do.

#3 - What should have happened is that the U1 should not have chopped the clock. Instead, he should have killed the play. He didn't, the clock started, the 4 seconds are history. Blame the U1 for screwing the pooch.

#4 - mick, if my U1 doesn't kill this, I ain't blowing.

Great minds do think alike.

Now...about that sliding business... :eek:

BktBallRef Wed Nov 26, 2003 01:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Great minds do think alike.

Now...about that sliding business... :eek:

Oh, I have no problem with him sliding. :)

BTW, this was brought up at our last local clinic, and not by me.

The group was equally divided.

I sat there in silence, as I was already tired of discussing it. ;)

gsf23 Wed Nov 26, 2003 09:03am

I couldn't believe it went four pages and we were still on topic..

Rich Wed Nov 26, 2003 11:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
In response to Jurassic's use of bold print:

I'm going to give the most politically incorrect answer possible. I simply don't care whether there is a black-and-white justification for me to do so. I'm putting the time back on the clock and we're starting with 8:00 on the clock.


Yup,and you would still be wrong, by rule.

And nobody in the free world would care, either, that you were wrong.I'd do the same thing, Rich.

This was just a nice little philosophical, what-if rules discussion. Not that much relationship to the real world.

Oh, I misinterpreted then. Sorry. I've been a baseball umpire as long as I've been a basketball official (late 80s) and I'm used to rule sets that simply don't cover everything that happens in a game. Baseball's 9.01(c) is famous because it is the catch-all that covers that and I'm sure basketball has something similar, but I simply don't remember rule numbers the same way I do in baseball.

BTW, I used the smitty last night. Brought both the New Balance and my last pair of Run 'n Refs to the game in case the NB shoes hurt my feet and I needed to change out a halftime. Fat chance. The difference between the RnR shoes I bought in 1996 (I bought six pairs and broke this pair out last season) and the NB 609 shoes is like the difference between a Yugo and a BMW. It felt like I was wearing slippers (with support) out there. The RnR's are now officially retired.

Rich


Hawks Coach Wed Nov 26, 2003 02:03pm

Rich
Since half the people seem to believe the rules tell you to put time on and half seem to believe this is a non-correctable timing issue, I think that there is nothing in the rules that clearly and specifically tells you what to do. Therefore, your interprretation is the MOST correct of any - use the elasticity rule for either way of doing things (leaving time off or putting it back on) and you are right. :)

bob jenkins Wed Nov 26, 2003 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Rich
Since half the people seem to believe the rules tell you to put time on and half seem to believe this is a non-correctable timing issue,

The correct solution,then, is to put 2 seconds back on the clock. ;)


Mark Dexter Mon Dec 01, 2003 09:57pm

I'm not putting time back on the clock. The legality of the ball being touched refers to the restrictions in 6-4-6 and 6-4-7. The timing rules (5-9) merely state that that the clock is started when the ball is legally touched. The ball or the toss have nothing to do with the legality of the touching.

In addition, when you look at 9-6, it states that if there is a simultaneous violation or a bad toss, the toss is repeated. There is no mention of resetting time for a violation or a bad toss.



Now, if you want to argue that the referee has definite knowledge and looked up at the clock before blowing his whistle . . . . .

CLAY Tue Dec 02, 2003 01:37pm

Mick,

I have lost all respect for you. How could you of all people make a mistake on a toss. I thought you were the "god" of basketball officiating. I use your questions and responses to make myself a better official. I print out your reply's to keep in my study guide. How will I ever get ahead if I can no longer rely on your knowledge of the game.

A Pennsylvania Coach Tue Dec 02, 2003 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by CLAY
Mick,

I have lost all respect for you. How could you of all people make a mistake on a toss. I thought you were the "god" of basketball officiating. I use your questions and responses to make myself a better official. I print out your reply's to keep in my study guide. How will I ever get ahead if I can no longer rely on your knowledge of the game.

CLAY,

You should pick your battles more carefully. If the members of this board held an election, mick would be Prom King!

Dan_ref Tue Dec 02, 2003 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Quote:

Originally posted by CLAY
Mick,

I have lost all respect for you. How could you of all people make a mistake on a toss. I thought you were the "god" of basketball officiating. I use your questions and responses to make myself a better official. I print out your reply's to keep in my study guide. How will I ever get ahead if I can no longer rely on your knowledge of the game.

CLAY,

You should pick your battles more carefully. If the members of this board held an election, mick would be Prom King!

And Chuck would carry his balls!

http://www.hanie.com/images/basketballs.jpg

mick Tue Dec 02, 2003 02:43pm

No, no, no!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by CLAY
Mick,

I have lost all respect for you. How could you of all people make a mistake on a toss. I thought you were the "god" of basketball officiating. I use your questions and responses to make myself a better official. I print out your reply's to keep in my study guide. How will I ever get ahead if I can no longer rely on your knowledge of the game.

Geez, Clay,
I wrote:
<LI>"<B>You</B> toss the ball....
<B>Your</B> whistle is hangin'.
<B>You</B> get bumped by a jumper....
...<B>You</B> get bumped again;
<B>you</B> fumble for your whistle ...."

I never said <b>I</b> messed U.P. that toss!
I never said <b>I</b> got bumped by a spastic 7th grader!

mick

<font size = 1/3 color = red><B>...and I didn't reset the clock, either. ;) </Font></B>







Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 02, 2003 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
[/B]
If the members of this board held an election, mick would be Prom King! [/B][/QUOTE]
http://deephousepage.com/smilies/respect.gif

Mark Dexter Tue Dec 02, 2003 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach

You should pick your battles more carefully. If the members of this board held an election, mick would be Prom King!


Wait a minute. Didn't mick organize his prom? And he's somehow also prom king . . . . . I smell something fishy.


Time to send in the election monitors!!!

http://www.datamanos2.com/parodies/lepore.jpg

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 03, 2003 01:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
[/B]
Time to send in the election monitors!!!

[/B][/QUOTE]Mick's got a hangin' chad?

Mark Dexter Wed Dec 03, 2003 11:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

Mick's got a hangin' chad?

Could be worse - he could have a pregnant one!



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1