The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 12, 2000, 05:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 252
Question

I was just watching women's NCAA basketball and noticed on the free throws the lower player was above the block instead of below the block. I heard about a rule change on the number of players allowed on the lines for free throws.

Can one of you NCAA types enlighten us high schoolers about this rule change? Is it a plain move? Is it optional? Is it a early experiment?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 12, 2000, 06:29pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by Richard Ogg
I was just watching women's NCAA basketball and noticed on the free throws the lower player was above the block instead of below the block. I heard about a rule change on the number of players allowed on the lines for free throws.

Can one of you NCAA types enlighten us high schoolers about this rule change? Is it a plain move? Is it optional? Is it a early experiment?

Thanks.

Yeah, Richard. Check this out under Women's hoops.
http://www.ncaa.org/champadmin/baske...ing_bulletins/
mick
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2000, 01:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Richard Ogg
I was just watching women's NCAA basketball and noticed on the free throws the lower player was above the block instead of below the block. I heard about a rule change on the number of players allowed on the lines for free throws.

Can one of you NCAA types enlighten us high schoolers about this rule change? Is it a plain move? Is it optional? Is it a early experiment?

Thanks.

Yeah, Richard. Check this out under Women's hoops.
http://www.ncaa.org/champadmin/baske...ing_bulletins/
mick

U R Welcome Mic and Richard
sh
keep smiling
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2000, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 276
Send a message via ICQ to Ron Pilo Send a message via Yahoo to Ron Pilo
Actually this is only an experimental rule this year. But perhaps we will see it fully implemented next year. I don't particularly care for it but if I gotta, I gotta.
__________________
Ron
Seattle Officials - Women's Basketball
http://www.sowb.org
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2000, 06:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 147
Send a message via ICQ to Alaska Ref
Thumbs up

According to NCAA rules in order to have a "Preseason or excempt Tournament" the games must use "Experamental rules". So what you saw on TV was just that an experamental rule.

The Men this year had the "International or Trapezoidal key" and the 4foot arc under the basket like the NBA. I don't know where that will take us but the NCAA is in the process of getting all the stats and coaches comments so they will be discussing it at the spring rules committee meeting.

Good Luck
__________________
Don
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2000, 10:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,220
Trapezoidal key

It seemed that in the games I saw, the trapezoidal key was almost ignored with respect to three seconds. I never saw that rule applied in any of the NIT/PR/Hawaii/Alaska games that I watched this week. There were a couple of occasions where I saw players leave the "paint" but never leave the trapezoidal lane, no three seconds called, but player camped for an extended period. Should've at least made them purchase a camping permit and generate some tourist revenue! Anyone else notice this?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 28, 2000, 01:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 147
Send a message via ICQ to Alaska Ref
Hawks Coach, i can't remember the last time i saw a 3 second call in major college hoops.

Good Luck
__________________
Don
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 28, 2000, 07:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,220
Doesn't NCAA have a different standard than NF - one foot out of lane sufficient? I don't have an NCAA rule book.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 28, 2000, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,120
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Doesn't NCAA have a different standard than NF - one foot out of lane sufficient? I don't have an NCAA rule book.
No. "Touching any lane line ... constitutes being in the lane."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1