The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Nov 20, 2003, 09:11am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to stewcall
NFHS
My first 3 man scrimmage last night. Really liked 3 man (person)Besides missing a flex as the trail I held my own.

With less than 1 min. our board likes to lock the C opposite the table. I noticed the other 3 officials (we had a 6 person crew to do 8 quarters)were confused when the locked down. The confusion occurred when the ball went out of bounds on the the C's sideline. I understand this should be discussed in pregame, but my question is how do most officials like to handle this. The simplest way it seems to me is to let the C handle the throwin and remain in lock Down no matter what direction. Your thoughts
Old Thu Nov 20, 2003, 09:34am
Official Forum Member

I admit I am a rookie but I dont like to lock down at the minute mark. Now with 10 seconds left maybe but think about this....20 seconds to go and 8 players and the ball bury in the corner opposite table. Thats a lot of pressure on the slot to pickup that much action. There is still plenty of time IMHO for a rotation in such a case and I have been taught there should be.

Old guys...thoughts?
Old Thu Nov 20, 2003, 09:39am
In Memoriam

Quote:
Originally posted by stewcall
NFHS
My first 3 man scrimmage last night. Really liked 3 man (person)Besides missing a flex as the trail I held my own.

With less than 1 min. our board likes to lock the C opposite the table. I noticed the other 3 officials (we had a 6 person crew to do 8 quarters)were confused when the locked down. The confusion occurred when the ball went out of bounds on the the C's sideline. I understand this should be discussed in pregame, but my question is how do most officials like to handle this. The simplest way it seems to me is to let the C handle the throwin and remain in lock Down no matter what direction. Your thoughts