The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA ruling (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10880-ncaa-ruling.html)

TriggerMN Wed Nov 19, 2003 11:56am

Can someone help me out? Last night while watching a college game on TV, A1 shot a floater in the lane. The ball was released before contact, and A1 was called for a foul. In the past, the basket would count, and B1 would be awarded free throws if in the bonus. Did this rule change in the last couple of years? Is it an automatic wave-off and simply a team control foul on A1?

ChuckElias Wed Nov 19, 2003 12:26pm

There hasn't been a change in that rule, as far as I know. If the shot is released before the contact, you penalize the foul and count the basket.

My experience is that unless the shot is obviously in the air, the official will wave it off. But by rule, if it's in the air, it should count.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 19, 2003 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TriggerMN
Can someone help me out? Last night while watching a college game on TV, A1 shot a floater in the lane. The ball was released before contact, and A1 was called for a foul. In the past, the basket would count, and B1 would be awarded free throws if in the bonus. Did this rule change in the last couple of years? Is it an automatic wave-off and simply a team control foul on A1?
Was this a men's or a women's game? The rule (foul by an airborne shooter) is different.


ChuckElias Wed Nov 19, 2003 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Was this a men's or a women's game? The rule (foul by an airborne shooter) is different.
Sigh. I keep forgetting that the women play a different game.

TriggerMN Wed Nov 19, 2003 03:34pm

It was a men's game...Texas Tech vs. Davidson last night. the lead official waved it off and went behind his head immediately, even though it was quite obvious the shot had been released well before the contact occurred.

Nevadaref Thu Nov 20, 2003 06:48pm

I saw this play too. They simply got it wrong. The announcer babbled about how in the past this basket would have counted. He is the one who confused you. There has been no rule change and Davidson clearly got cheated out of 2 points.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1