The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2003, 09:32pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
It's a violation b/c, in order to become the FT shooter, one of the players will have to break the plane of the 3-point arc in order to enter the FT circle. 9-1-8. Yeah, I'm stretching it a little, but not much.
No need to stretch. Casebook play 9.1.7 gives the rationale- "After the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower,he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating,until restrictions are ended". It gives rule 9-1-7PENALTY1 as the reference. Of course, the violation that Chuck referenced in 9-1-8 should technically be called first if the FT shooter is outside the arc when the ball is placed on the floor.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1