The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 09, 2003, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
There are two different scenarios here. Scenario 1: A1 commits his 5th personal foul. The official notifies Coach A that A1 is DQ'd. A1 then curses at the official.

Scenario 2: A1 has been DQ'd with 5 minutes remaining in the game. With 2 minutes left in the game, A1 reports to the table and is beckoned into the game.

In #1, the T is charged directly to A1 and indirectly to Coach A, since A1 is considered bench personnel. However, in #2, the rules committee felt that this was unsportsmanlike conduct by the Coach for sending the player back into the game, rather than unsporting conduct by A1 himself. Therefore, they concluded that the direct T should go to the Coach, rather than to the player.

So in #1 you have a direct T on A1 and an indirect on the Coach. In #2 you have a direct T on the Coach, rather than the player.

If TASO interprets it differently, I don't think they have a leg to stand on, from a rules perspective. JMO
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1