The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt ? from IAABO Refresher Exam (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10745-backcourt-iaabo-refresher-exam.html)

Joel Poli Fri Nov 07, 2003 02:54pm

A—1 is holding the ball in team A's frontcourt near the division line. A—1's bounce pass to A—2 touches the division line and then touches the floor in the frontcourt A-2, in the frontcourt, catches the ball after touching in frontcourt. Official allows play to continue. Is the official correct?

bob jenkins Fri Nov 07, 2003 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Joel Poli
A—1 is holding the ball in team A's frontcourt near the division line. A—1's bounce pass to A—2 touches the division line and then touches the floor in the frontcourt A-2, in the frontcourt, catches the ball after touching in frontcourt. Official allows play to continue. Is the official correct?
No, the official is not correct.

1) Team control -- yes
2) Ball in front court -- yes
3) A last to touch before ball went backcourt -- yes
4) A first to touch after ball went backcourt -- yes


Joel Poli Fri Nov 07, 2003 03:08pm

Even though the ball has frontcourt status?

Hawks Coach Fri Nov 07, 2003 03:22pm

Yes- it is still a violation. Ball went backcourt after being frontcourt while A had team control. a last to touch before, first to touch after - violation.

BTW, if ball comes to A2 on one bounce, the one that struck the dividing line, the ball is b/c not f/c when A2 touches it. That is even more reason that this is a violation.

Back In The Saddle Fri Nov 07, 2003 03:32pm

NFHS 9-9-1 A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt [which is has been], if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcout before it went to the backcourt [which happened].

The rule makes no distinction regarding the ball regaining frontcourt status before being touched. Violation.

Joel Poli Fri Nov 07, 2003 03:47pm

Hawk Coach,
The question states "A—1's bounce pass to A—2 touches the division line and then touches the floor in the frontcourt" which puts the ball in the frontcourt.

bob jenkins Fri Nov 07, 2003 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Joel Poli
Hawk Coach,
The question states "A—1's bounce pass to A—2 touches the division line and then touches the floor in the frontcourt" which puts the ball in the frontcourt.

It doesn't matter where the ball is.

Only that A touched it before it went backcourt and after it went backcourt.


Hawks Coach Fri Nov 07, 2003 05:03pm

Bob
You are right that it doesn't matter, but Joel is right that I failed to RTFQ and the ball did indeed achieve front court status. My bad - but it is a b/c violation anyway.

donj Fri Nov 07, 2003 06:32pm

The bottom line is, the way I understand it, the division line is part of the backcourt, so when the ball bounced on the division line, it then had achieved backcourt status and a violation occured.

ChuckElias Fri Nov 07, 2003 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by donj
The bottom line is, the way I understand it, the division line is part of the backcourt, so when the ball bounced on the division line, it then had achieved backcourt status and a violation occured.
Just be careful here, Don. The violation doesn't occur when the ball hits the backcourt line, does it? ;)

donj Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:05pm

Chuck,

I stand corrected. After re-reading the rule (9-1-1), once the ball touched the divison line and then was touched by team A who last touched in frontcourt, then it's a backcourt violation.

Thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1