The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10743-basketball.html)

ellewisjr Fri Nov 07, 2003 12:43pm

Does the lane 3 second count start when the ball is given to offensive player taking the ball out of bounds or when the ball is thrown in bounds by the offensive player?

ChuckElias Fri Nov 07, 2003 12:46pm

It's like deja vu all over again! :D

BktBallRef Fri Nov 07, 2003 01:04pm

Asked it 4 times! This must be really important!! :D

Welcome to the board, ellewisjr! :)

DownTownTonyBrown Fri Nov 07, 2003 01:41pm

Again
 
Some here get tired of answering the same question again and again....

The ball must be in-bounds for the three second count to begin. You surely wouldn't call a 3-second vioaltion while the throw-in is proceeding (making your 5-second count).

DownTownTonyBrown Fri Nov 07, 2003 01:48pm

Dahhhh
 
I get it! He made the same posting several times and probalby got the same answer for each of the postings.

Sometimes I think I'm a newbie too! :p

ChuckElias Fri Nov 07, 2003 01:57pm

Re: Again
 
Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
The ball must be in-bounds for the three second count to begin.
And be in team control. And be in the frontcourt. . .

Maybe you meant "D'Oh!" http://www.stopstart.fsnet.co.uk/Gif/SimpHomer.gif

Andy Fri Nov 07, 2003 02:11pm

Chuck - This may be the perfect place for your classic explanation of the thought process an official's mind goes through during the three second count!

JRutledge Fri Nov 07, 2003 02:19pm

He He!!!!
 
There is a 3 seconds call?

Peace

BktBallRef Fri Nov 07, 2003 02:27pm

He! He!
 
Chuck has a thought process? :D

Piece
___________

http://www.stopstart.freeserve.co.uk/smilie/bravo.gif

Keepin' it real!

ChuckElias Fri Nov 07, 2003 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Andy
Chuck - This may be the perfect place for your classic explanation of the thought process an official's mind goes through during the three second count!
Sorry, Andy, I can't find it without the search function. I tried google and couldn't find it either.

ChuckElias Fri Nov 07, 2003 02:33pm

Re: He! He!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Chuck has a thought process? :D

Lots of process. No thought.

Hawks Coach Fri Nov 07, 2003 03:10pm

To summarize the rule for ellewis:
Ball must be inbounds, controlled by a member of the offensive team in the front court (control being defined as a catch or the start of a dribble). Mere release of the inbounds pass doesn't start the count, touching of the ball without control doesn't start the count, and controlling the ball in he back court doesn't start the count.

If you really like the folks that yell for three seconds, try this one. A1 in lane, A2 inbounding, A2 releases ball at 4.9 seconds of 5 second count on a high lob beyond the top of the key, 1 second later A3 catches just inside the front court, 2.5 seconds later A3 passes to A1 (still in the lane), A1 takes 1.5 seconds to complete a move down the lane for a lay-up. It's all good, and A1 is in lane continuously for about 10 seconds.

I forgot to add, A is the visiting team and the home crowd is ecstatic over the no-call on the 3 seconds and eagerly relays its heartfelt thanks :)

rainmaker Fri Nov 07, 2003 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
To summarize the rule for ellewis:
Ball must be inbounds, controlled by a member of the offensive team in the front court (control being defined as a catch or the start of a dribble). Mere release of the inbounds pass doesn't start the count, touching of the ball without control doesn't start the count, and controlling the ball in he back court doesn't start the count.

If you really like the folks that yell for three seconds, try this one. A1 in lane, A2 inbounding, A2 releases ball at 4.9 seconds of 5 second count on a high lob beyond the top of the key, 1 second later A3 catches just inside the front court, 2.5 seconds later A3 passes to A1 (still in the lane), A1 takes 1.5 seconds to complete a move down the lane for a lay-up. It's all good, and A1 is in lane continuously for about 10 seconds.

I forgot to add, A is the visiting team and the home crowd is ecstatic over the no-call on the 3 seconds and eagerly relays its heartfelt thanks :)

The voice of wise experience! This is one coach that you can always listen to, ellewisjr!

ChuckElias Fri Nov 07, 2003 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
controlled by a member of the offensive team in the front court
Just a nit, Coach, but you don't need player control in the frontcourt for the 3-second count to begin. You only need team control. You need player control at some point, somewhere, in order to establish team control. But if the ball is controlled by A1 in A's backcourt and then is fumbled or batted into A's frontcourt, the official technically should begin a 3-second count if any member of Team A is in the lane.

Hawks Coach Fri Nov 07, 2003 03:32pm

Thanks rainmaker
 
Do I send the check to the usual address? ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1