The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Nov 04, 2003, 11:34pm
Get away from me, Steve.

I'm actually excited. I've been using Converse Run 'N Ref shoes since 1994 or so. About 5 seasons ago, I bought up a half-dozen or so pair at a Converse outlet when they had a huge sale.

I wore the last pair last season. I also came to the realization that, while familiar, they weren't the most comfortable shoes I've ever owned.

Seeing that New Balance is making their 609 shoes in all black (and selling them at the officials supply places online) I went to the local New Balance store to try some on. They had the exact same shoe there for the same price Gerry Davis and Honig's sells them.

I had another ankle injury recently (got scoped in 1999) and got fitted for orthotics. I was thinking that a wider width shoe would be able to hold the orthotic and my foot comfortably and I was right. I had a person measure my feet and it turns out that with a proper width I'm in a shoe 1 full size smaller. Turns out I have a EE foot and because of the orthotic I bought a 4E (which neither Honig's or GD Sports carries). I've never had such a comfortable shoe in my life for hoops. I'm thinking maybe I'll go through a season without having really bad heel pain.

Anyone else switch shoes lately? Any other new clothing? I switched from Cliff Keen pleats last season to Honig's pleats in an athletic cut this year. Really comfy and fit better on my legs and backside.

First game 16 days away. My pants will be ready tomorrow

Rich
Old Wed Nov 05, 2003, 12:12am
Official Forum Member

The Run'nRef was a good shoe for it's time but it's old technology. The new shoes are built like todays' sneakers. They provide much better support and comfort than officiating shoes did 5 years ago.