![]() |
Do you call a 2nd foul?
A1 drives to the basket. A1 grabs the ball with 2 hands (controls the ball).
A1 takes a step. B1 reaches and fouls A1 across the arms. The C official blows the whistle. B2 has obtained Legal Guarding Position on A1. A1 continues the drive to the basket. A1 goes airborne. 1) A1 releases the ball for a try, then creates torso/torso contact on B2. Both A1 & B2 go to the ground. The ball goes in the basket 2) A1 creates torso/torso contact on B2 then releases the ball for a try. Both A1 & B2 go to the ground. The ball goes in the basket Should the Lead official blow the whistle and call a PC foul on A1? If so what is the ruling procedure? |
"continues to drive"? what does that mean? if thats more than another step, we're ignoring the second foul unless a1 punches b1 or something similar.even if the A1 doesnt take another step, most likely ignoring the second foul unless its egregious.
|
False Double Foul ???
Nice question Zoochy.
False double foul? Wave off the basket and give the shooter two free throws? Personal fouls on both A1 and B1? Team fouls for both Team A and Team B? Probably technical fouls on both Head Coach A and Head Coach B? Maybe tossing Head Coach A and Head Coach B? |
You Spin Me Round (Like A Record) (Dead Or Alive, 1985) ...
Quote:
No choice in the situation. It's a live ball (continuous motion) up to and including the player control foul contact after which the ball then becomes dead. You can't ignore the second foul! All live ball contact personal fouls, no dead ball contact intentional or flagrant technical fouls. <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/PGNiXGX2nLU?si=TLjOXlPOfCR3RJxE" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" referrerpolicy="strict-origin-when-cross-origin" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Quote:
How would you administrate the Free Throws? Line up or don't line up? How do you proceed after the last Free Throw? |
If you go the false double route, shoot the FTs with noone alone the lane and award the ensuing throw in to B.
|
Isn't there a case played that addresses this situation?
Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk |
theres an older case play thats not in the book, heres a thread on it
https://forum.officiating.com/basket...uble-foul.html |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25pm. |