The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt Violation Magic Spots ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106316-backcourt-violation-magic-spots.html)

Raymond Wed Nov 06, 2024 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1053103)
2023-24 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 9: A1, while dribbling the ball in team A’s frontcourt, steps on but not over the division line. RULING: Backcourt violation. COMMENT: The ball was in team control in the frontcourt and went to the backcourt when A1 contacted the division line. Team B is awarded a possession throw-in in its frontcourt at one of the four designated spots nearest the violation.




In my most recent situation the ball, not the player, touches the division line.

What does that matter to the answer to any of these questions? The ball touching the division line is not a violation until a player touches the ball.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Wed Nov 06, 2024 10:32am

First to Touch ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1053112)
What does that matter to the answer to any of these questions? The ball touching the division line is not a violation until a player touches the ball.

I already covered that:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1053106)
That ball can sit on the division line untouched for a ten seconds and not be a violation. It only becomes a backcourt violation when it's touched by A1 who is fully standing in his frontcourt.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1053099)
Let's look at a more realistic practical situation, a situation most of us have really seen a few times. Ball handler A1 is dribbling in his frontcourt very near and parallel to the division line. The dribbled ball strikes the division line, bounces up, and is touched by A1 who is fully standing in his frontcourt.


BillyMac Thu Nov 07, 2024 02:51pm

Citation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1053099)
Let's look at a more realistic practical situation, a situation most of us have really seen a few times.

2017-18 Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 8: A1, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the midcourt line, has the ball strike the midcourt line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, A1 touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. A1 may not be the first to touch the ball in the backcourt if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1)

BillyMac Tue Dec 10, 2024 07:07pm

IAABO Was Wrong ...
 
2024-25 IAABO Refresher Exam

22) The throw-in spot for a backcourt violation is the nearest of the four designated frontcourt throw-in spots to where the violation occurred. Is the official correct?

IAABO answer yes

Heard today from the IAABO Co-Coordinators of Interpreters that the correct answer should be no due to a few odd situations where the ball will be inbounded in the new backcourt.

A statement in formal logic is considered true if it is true in all contexts and under all conditions.

In some specific situations, interpretations “trump” rule language.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1