The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Administrative Technical Fouls (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106143-administrative-technical-fouls.html)

Scrapper1 Sun Jan 07, 2024 10:28pm

Administrative Technical Fouls
 
IAABO no longer supplies members with the FED rulebook, so I have not seen an actual rulebook in the last two seasons. In this season's IAABO Handbook, there's a case play about Administrative Ts. The situation is: Team A adds a name to the scorebook with 9 minutes left in pre-game warm-ups. Then 4 minutes later, Team B changes the number of one of its designated starters.

The ruling states that "Since the penalties offset, neither team is awarded free throws".

I looked at the '20-'21 book and I can't find a corresponding case play; and the PENALTY section of 10-1 doesn't mention that these would be categorized as simultaneous fouls.

Have I just forgotten an obvious rule or case that says any time both teams commit an equal number of pre-game administrative fouls, that they offset? I feel like this is something that I really should know, but I'm drawing a total blank.

JRutledge Sun Jan 07, 2024 11:37pm

Isn't the Handbook with the rules and mechanics?

Peace

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 08, 2024 12:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1051856)
IAABO no longer supplies members with the FED rulebook, so I have not seen an actual rulebook in the last two seasons. In this season's IAABO Handbook, there's a case play about Administrative Ts. The situation is: Team A adds a name to the scorebook with 9 minutes left in pre-game warm-ups. Then 4 minutes later, Team B changes the number of one of its designated starters.

The ruling states that "Since the penalties offset, neither team is awarded free throws".

I looked at the '20-'21 book and I can't find a corresponding case play; and the PENALTY section of 10-1 doesn't mention that these would be categorized as simultaneous fouls.

Have I just forgotten an obvious rule or case that says any time both teams commit an equal number of pre-game administrative fouls, that they offset? I feel like this is something that I really should know, but I'm drawing a total blank.


Per NFHS Case Book Ruling or Rules Interpretation (I do not have my books in front of me.) Administrative TFs during the Pre-Game Period (and I am also going to say Halftime because I have not seen a Ruling for such a Situation during Haĺftime but I would consider the Pre-Game Period the same as an Inermission which is what Halftime is considered) are considered to be Double Fouls, not False Double Fouls.

MTD, Sr.

Scrapper1 Mon Jan 08, 2024 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1051858)
Per NFHS Case Book Ruling or Rules Interpretation (I do not have my books in front of me.) Administrative TFs during the Pre-Game Period (and I am also going to say Halftime because I have not seen a Ruling for such a Situation during Haĺftime but I would consider the Pre-Game Period the same as an Inermission which is what Halftime is considered) are considered to be Double Fouls, not False Double Fouls.

MTD, Sr.

I think so, too, but I need a reference if you can dig out your book.

Scrapper1 Mon Jan 08, 2024 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1051857)
Isn't the Handbook with the rules and mechanics?

Peace

IAABO produces its own Handbook now because they no longer have a contract with NFHS to reproduce the FED rulebook. We used to get the official NFHS Rulebook and Casebook, but that became too expensive, I guess.

So IAABO is producing a "rules guide" which includes play scenarios, but does not directly quote the FED's books. The Handbook even includes a disclaimer at the front that essentially says that it's not the complete rule book.

IAABO has been writing its own mechanics manual for years, and that is also included in the Handbook.

BillyMac Mon Jan 08, 2024 12:22pm

Order From NFHS ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1051861)
So IAABO is producing a "rules guide" which includes play scenarios, but does not directly quote the FED's books. The Handbook even includes a disclaimer at the front that essentially says that it's not the complete rule book.

Last two years I ordered my own NFHS rulebook and NFHS casebook from the NFHS.

With shipping, cost me $37 for the most recent copies.

I declare it on my income tax as as business expense and at least I won't have to pay any income tax on it.

I highly recommend my accountants:

https://4.bp.blogspot.com/-gSujtdBML...2BZirconia.jpg

BillyMac Mon Jan 08, 2024 12:41pm

Somewhere Out There ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1051858)
Per NFHS Case Book Ruling or Rules Interpretation ... Administrative TFs during the Pre-Game Period ... are considered to be Double Fouls, not False Double Fouls.

Agree with Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. on both his interpretation, and that there exists, somewhere out there, a case book ruling, or an annual interpretation.

But I can't find it.

How about little help from Nevadaref, the "Interpretation King"?

Nevadaref Mon Jan 08, 2024 08:27pm

We discussed this in Dec 2016.

3.4.3 SITUATION C: Starter, A1, has brought the wrong uniform and with eight minutes on the clock prior to the start of the game, switches with A15 and now is wearing a legal jersey but a new number. With two minutes on the clock prior to the start of the game, it is discovered that starter, B1, is wearing a different jersey than indicated in the scorebook. It is confirmed that a wrong number was provided to the official scorer and a change is made to reflect the correct number in the scorebook. RULING: Both Team A and B are charged with an administrative technical foul for changing a number in the scorebook and will begin the game with one team foul toward the bonus. No free throws are awarded and the game will begin at the point of interruption, which is the opening jump ball. COMMENT: When each team is assessed one technical foul prior to the game, a double technical foul has occurred, as this is considered "approximately the same time." (4- 19-8b, 4-36-2c, 10-1-2) (See 6.4.1 SITUATION A)

TECHNICAL BEFORE QUARTER STARTS
6.4.1 SITUATION A: Twelve minutes before the game is scheduled to start, team member A1 dunks the ball and is charged with a technical foul. B1 is discovered to be wearing an illegal jersey, as the players prepare for the start of the game. RULING: The game will be started by awarding Team B two free throws for A1’s technical foul. Team A will then be given two free throws and the ball for a division-line throw-in for B1’s infraction. When the thrower of Team A has the ball for the throw-in, they have control for purposes of establishing the alternating possession procedure and the arrow
is immediately set toward B’s basket. Team B will have the first opportunity for an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-3)


=========================
So what is the difference? Why offset the technicals in the first scenario and not award any FTs, but shoot all four in the second play ruling?
The best rationale that we could determine was that in the first situation both infractions were Team technical fouls for something administrative and not charged to any individual (head coach or team member). So the NFHS wants those to offset and the game to begin with a jump ball.
However, in play ruling 6.4.1 the infractions result in technical fouls which are charged to individuals (the team member who dunked and directly to the Head Coach for allowing an illegal uniform), so those technicals do not offset and the FTs are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred and possession is awarded without a jump ball.

Scrapper1 Mon Jan 08, 2024 09:33pm

Thank you, sir! I knew we'd talked about it, but I couldn't find the references. Are these case plays still in the NFHS Casebook?

SNIPERBBB Mon Jan 08, 2024 09:42pm

I know the app sucks but you can get the rules and casebooks for all NFHS sports through the NFHS All Access app.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 08, 2024 09:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1051870)
Thank you, sir! I knew we'd talked about it, but I couldn't find the references. Are these case plays still in the NFHS Casebook?

Yes, both are in the 2023-24 NFHS Case Book.
I hope that you are well and have a great 2024!

Mike Goodwin Tue Jan 09, 2024 01:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1051869)
We discussed this in Dec 2016.

3.4.3 SITUATION C: Starter, A1, has brought the wrong uniform and with eight minutes on the clock prior to the start of the game, switches with A15 and now is wearing a legal jersey but a new number. With two minutes on the clock prior to the start of the game, it is discovered that starter, B1, is wearing a different jersey than indicated in the scorebook. It is confirmed that a wrong number was provided to the official scorer and a change is made to reflect the correct number in the scorebook. RULING: Both Team A and B are charged with an administrative technical foul for changing a number in the scorebook and will begin the game with one team foul toward the bonus. No free throws are awarded and the game will begin at the point of interruption, which is the opening jump ball. COMMENT: When each team is assessed one technical foul prior to the game, a double technical foul has occurred, as this is considered "approximately the same time." (4- 19-8b, 4-36-2c, 10-1-2) (See 6.4.1 SITUATION A)

TECHNICAL BEFORE QUARTER STARTS
6.4.1 SITUATION A: Twelve minutes before the game is scheduled to start, team member A1 dunks the ball and is charged with a technical foul. B1 is discovered to be wearing an illegal jersey, as the players prepare for the start of the game. RULING: The game will be started by awarding Team B two free throws for A1’s technical foul. Team A will then be given two free throws and the ball for a division-line throw-in for B1’s infraction. When the thrower of Team A has the ball for the throw-in, they have control for purposes of establishing the alternating possession procedure and the arrow
is immediately set toward B’s basket. Team B will have the first opportunity for an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-3)


=========================
So what is the difference? Why offset the technicals in the first scenario and not award any FTs, but shoot all four in the second play ruling?
The best rationale that we could determine was that in the first situation both infractions were Team technical fouls for something administrative and not charged to any individual (head coach or team member). So the NFHS wants those to offset and the game to begin with a jump ball.
However, in play ruling 6.4.1 the infractions result in technical fouls which are charged to individuals (the team member who dunked and directly to the Head Coach for allowing an illegal uniform), so those technicals do not offset and the FTs are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred and possession is awarded without a jump ball.

We can add this casebook play to the list of pre-game technical fouls that do not offset, as these would also be charged to individual team members just like in 6.4.1 Sit A.

6.4.1 SITUATION F: A team member of Team A is detected dunking about five minutes before the game and a team member of B does the same thing about a minute later.

RULING: The game will start with administration of the technical-foul free throws in the order in which the fouls were called. Team B shoots first followed by Team A. Team A will then be given the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the table. When the thrower of Team A is bounced the ball or it is placed at Team A's disposal, the possession arrow will be set pointing toward Team B's basket. (4-3, 7-5-6a)

Altor Tue Jan 09, 2024 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike Goodwin (Post 1051873)
We can add this casebook play to the list of pre-game technical fouls that do not offset, as these would also be charged to individual team members just like in 6.4.1 Sit A.

6.4.1 SITUATION F: A team member of Team A is detected dunking about five minutes before the game and a team member of B does the same thing about a minute later.

RULING: The game will start with administration of the technical-foul free throws in the order in which the fouls were called. Team B shoots first followed by Team A. Team A will then be given the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the table. When the thrower of Team A is bounced the ball or it is placed at Team A's disposal, the possession arrow will be set pointing toward Team B's basket. (4-3, 7-5-6a)

Is this right? I was expecting the arrow to be set when Team B received the ball for the FT, meaning Team A gets the ball to start the game AND the arrow. This is more fair, but is not the ruling I was expecting.

BillyMac Tue Jan 09, 2024 12:27pm

Thank You ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051866)
How about little help from Nevadaref, the "Interpretation King"?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1051869)
3.4.3 SITUATION C: COMMENT: When each team is assessed one technical foul prior to the game, a double technical foul has occurred, as this is considered "approximately the same time."

I knew that we could count on Nevadaref. Thank you.

BillyMac Tue Jan 09, 2024 12:30pm

There's No I In Team ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1051869)
3.4.3 SITUATION C: COMMENT: When each TEAM is assessed one technical foul prior to the game, a double technical foul has occurred, as this is considered "approximately the same time." (4- 19-8b, 4-36-2c, 10-1-2) (See 6.4.1 SITUATION A)

The best rationale that we could determine was that in the first situation both infractions were team technical fouls for something administrative and not charged to any individual ...

Agree, it's right there in the casebook play.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 09, 2024 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 1051875)
Is this right? I was expecting the arrow to be set when Team B received the ball for the FT, meaning Team A gets the ball to start the game AND the arrow. This is more fair, but is not the ruling I was expecting.

If the ball will remain live if the FT is missed, then set the arrow when the FT starts. IF the ball will remain dead (and be followed by a throw-in as part of the penalty), then wait until the throw-in.

Raymond Tue Jan 09, 2024 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 1051875)
Is this right? I was expecting the arrow to be set when Team B received the ball for the FT, meaning Team A gets the ball to start the game AND the arrow. This is more fair, but is not the ruling I was expecting.

Yes it is correct. The penalty for a technical foul is the free throws and subsequent throw-in. You don't set the arrow for free throws if the ball is not going to be live after the last free throw.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

ilyazhito Tue Jan 09, 2024 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1051879)
Yes it is correct. The penalty for a technical foul is the free throws and subsequent throw-in. You don't set the arrow for free throws if the ball is not going to be live after the last free throw.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

That makes sense. If A violates on the throw-in, B gets possession and the arrow.

Altor Tue Jan 09, 2024 02:40pm

Thanks all. I no longer have access to basketball rule books, so I couldn't look it up myself.

BillyMac Tue Jan 09, 2024 04:53pm

Wait ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051878)
IF the ball will remain dead (and be followed by a throw-in as part of the penalty), then wait until the throw-in.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1051879)
You don't set the arrow for free throws if the ball is not going to be live after the last free throw.

Good example would be technical foul free throws to start an overtime.

BillyMac Tue Jan 09, 2024 04:57pm

Set It Now ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051878)
If the ball will remain live if the FT is missed, then set the arrow when the FT starts.

Good example would be a bonus free throws near the beginning of an overtime period for a common foul that occurs after the jump ball is tossed, but before the ball is touched by the jumpers.

BillyMac Tue Jan 09, 2024 04:59pm

Before Control ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051878)
If the ball will remain live if the FT is missed, then set the arrow when the FT starts.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051883)
Good example would be a bonus free throws near the beginning of an overtime period for a common foul that occurs after the jump ball is tossed, but before the ball is touched by the jumpers.

... or after the ball is touched by a jumper but before anybody gains control.

Raymond Tue Jan 09, 2024 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051883)
Good example would be a bonus free throws near the beginning of an overtime period for a common foul that occurs after the jump ball is tossed, but before the ball is touched by the jumpers.

What would be different if the jumpers did touch the ball? You would still set the AP arrow when the ball is at the disposal of the free throw shooter.

And if there's an intentional, technical, or flagrant foul after the jumpers touch the ball, you wouldn't set he AP arrow until the throw-in starts, not during the free throws.



Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Tue Jan 09, 2024 07:45pm

Nice Thread ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1051885)
What would be different if the jumpers did touch the ball?

Nothing, which is why I added my second post.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051884)
... or after the ball is touched by a jumper but before anybody gains control.

Nice thread reminding us about pregame team versus pregame individual technical fouls, and when to set the arrow during such.

BillyMac Tue Jan 09, 2024 07:46pm

No Rebounders ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1051885)
And if there's an intentional, technical, or flagrant foul after the jumpers touch the ball, you wouldn't set he AP arrow until the throw-in starts, not during the free throws.

Easy way for me to remember - no rebounders.

Scrapper1 Tue Jan 09, 2024 09:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 1051875)
Is this right? I was expecting the arrow to be set when Team B received the ball for the FT, meaning Team A gets the ball to start the game AND the arrow. This is more fair, but is not the ruling I was expecting.

Yes, it's correct. When FTs are awarded before the alternating possession arrow has been set, the arrow is set as follows:

1) When the ball will remain dead after the free throws and play will be resumed with a throw-in, the arrow is set to the non-throw-in team when the ball is at the thrower's disposal;

OR

2) When the ball will remain live after the free throws and players will be allowed to line up to attempt to rebound a missed attempt, then the arrow is set to the non-free-throwing team when the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower. (Rule 4-3)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1