The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   For IAABO Eyes Only ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106126-iaabo-eyes-only.html)

BillyMac Wed Dec 13, 2023 10:40am

For IAABO Eyes Only ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051673)
I'm still waiting for an answer to a question about our Refresher Exam emailed a month ago.

Here's the answer in question.

It's a mechanics question and we use IAABO mechanics.

92) Indicating the throw-in spot is done by the administering official before placing ball at disposal of thrower.

My answer: Yes

Answer Sheet: No Page 45 Diagram (bottom)

“This box is set by the administering official before placing the ball at the disposal of thrower.”

So it’s a “box” not a “spot”?

But the actual rule definition says that it's a "spot".

Nowhere does the actual rule call it a "box".

4-42-6: The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation and is established and signaled by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower’s disposal.

Why am I wrong?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Dec 15, 2023 06:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051674)
Here's the answer in question.

It's a mechanics question and we use IAABO mechanics.

92) Indicating the throw-in spot is done by the administering official before placing ball at disposal of thrower.

My answer: Yes

Answer Sheet: No Page 45 Diagram (bottom)

“This box is set by the administering official before placing the ball at the disposal of thrower.”

So it’s a “box” not a “spot”?

But the actual rule definition says that it's a "spot".

Nowhere does the actual rule call it a "box".

4-42-6: The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation and is established and signaled by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower’s disposal.

Why am I wrong?


Billy:

You are correct. In fact Peter Webb like to remind people that it is not a Spot Throw-in but a Designated Spot Throw-in. Someone needs to drop a email to National and give them a piece of your mind and remind them of what Peter says.

MTD, Sr.

P.S. Thanks for the information you emailed me.

joelpoli Thu Dec 21, 2023 06:41am

Billy,
I believe that the IAABO manual (and Peter Webb) tells us that the calling official indicates the throwin spot and the administrating official designates the spot.

BillyMac Thu Dec 21, 2023 09:49am

Can The Leopard His Spots? (Jeremiah 13:23) …
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051674)
92) Indicating the throw-in spot is done by the administering official before placing ball at disposal of thrower.

My answer: Yes

Answer Sheet: No Page 45 Diagram (bottom)
“This box is set by the administering official before placing the ball at the disposal of thrower.”

So it’s a “box” not a “spot”?

But the actual rule definition says that it's a "spot".

Nowhere does the actual rule call it a "box".

4-42-6: The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation and is established and signaled by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower’s disposal.

Why am I wrong?

Quote:

Originally Posted by joelpoli (Post 1051759)
I believe that the IAABO manual (and Peter Webb) tells us that the calling official indicates the throwin spot and the administrating official designates the spot.

Thanks for trying to explain.

Indicates versus designates.

The Manual actually says "sets".

Did I really deserve to get this wrong?

bob jenkins Sun Dec 24, 2023 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051760)
Did I really deserve to get this wrong?

Do you know the rule / mechanic? Then stop obsessing over this.

BillyMac Mon Dec 25, 2023 10:31am

Perfect Exam ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051798)
Do you know the rule / mechanic? Then stop obsessing over this.

Closest I ever came to a perfect exam.

I will probably never officiate a perfect game (who has?), but a perfect score on a written exam is possible, but after forty-four exams, time on the clock is quickly running down on me.

BillyMac Mon Dec 25, 2023 12:27pm

Two Wrong, Best Ever ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051800)
Closest I ever came to a perfect exam.

I only got two questions wrong. I know why I got #90 wrong.

90) Following time-out, the administering official shall announce jersey color, signal direction and signal the type of throw-in and then sound the whistle just before putting the ball at the disposal of the thrower.

My answer: Yes

Answer Sheet: No Page 42, Section F.1.g
“If following a timeout, intermission, or unusual delay, sound whistle, announce jersey color, signal direction, and signal the type of throwin.”

Question was out of order. Sound the whistle first. While I may disagree with that, that’s what it says in the IAABO Mechanics Manual, so I got it wrong.

I’m still trying to figure out why I got #92 (indicating the throw-in spot) wrong.

BillyMac Wed Jan 03, 2024 04:39pm

Stupid IAABO Refresher Exam ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051674)
92) Indicating the throw-in spot is done by the administering official before placing ball at disposal of thrower.

My answer: Yes

Answer Sheet: No Page 45 Diagram (bottom)

“This box is set by the administering official before placing the ball at the disposal of thrower.”

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051801)
I’m still trying to figure out why I got #92 wrong.

Quote:

Originally Posted by joelpoli (Post 1051759)
I believe that the IAABO manual ... tells us that the calling official indicates the throwin spot and the administrating official designates the spot.

I've been told, from the IAABO International co-interpreters, via my local interpreter, that I confused the "ruling" official with "administering" official.

I still don't know why I got it wrong!

If I'm the administering official, I will indicate the throwin spot by either simply pointing to the spot, or by pointing to a spot and then signaling "run the endline".

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Jan 05, 2024 03:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by joelpoli (Post 1051759)
Billy,
I believe that the IAABO manual (and Peter Webb) tells us that the calling official indicates the throwin spot and the administrating official designates the spot.



The "Calling" Official "indicates" where the Designated Spot Throw-in is, either: i) one of the four Designated Spots in a Team's Front Court or ii) the Designated Spot for all Designated Spot Throw-ins not subject to the Rule for (i).

The "Calling" Official is "indicating" to his Partners (especially to the "Administering" Official if the "Calling" Official will not be the "Administering" Official), Players, Coaches, Scorer, and Timer(s) as to where the Designated Spot for the Designated Spot Throw-in.

The "Administering" Official is "indicating" to the Thrower where the Designated Spot for the Throw-in is.

As I stated earlier to you Billy, your answer is correct because both the "Calling" Official and the "Administering" Official are to do it but for different reasons.

This is a "gotcha" question which has two correct answers.

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Fri Jan 05, 2024 01:32pm

It Certainly Got Me ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1051831)
This is a "gotcha" question which has two correct answers.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/83/0e...163411a40a.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1