![]() |
Throw in Spot
This may have been addressed already, so sorry if it is redundant.
Ball goes OOB in Team A frontcourt, officials are unsure of who it went off of so they go with the arrow which belongs to Team A. Is the throw-in spot where the ball went OOB's or is it now treated as a held ball and goes to one of the four spots? |
Original Reason For The Whistle ...
Quote:
There's a similar situation in a 2023-24 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretation, but with a timeout rather than held ball AP arrow. In the interpretation one goes to the "original" reason for the whistle, thus not one of the four "special spots", but the where the ball went out of bounds. 2023-24 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 1: Team A has possession of the ball in its frontcourt when the ball is deflected out of bounds by Team B. The ball exits the court along the end line close to the right sideline. Team A is granted an inbounds at the location where the ball exited the court. While Team A is trying to inbounds the ball, Team A calls a time-out. After the time-out, the inbounds spot (a) returns to the same spot; (b) moves to the designated spot 3 feet outside of the lane along the end line. RULING: (a) Correct procedure; (b) Incorrect procedure. COMMENT: Since the ball was not on the court, the time-out did not create a “stoppage in play” that would move the inbounds spot to one of the four designated spots. Play will continue from the inbounds spot established by the deflection of the ball by Team B. (7-5-2, 7-5-3a) I'm assuming that it's the same for this situation, out of bounds and held ball AP arrow, not one of the four "special spots", but the where the ball went out of bounds. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
"unsure who touched it last" and "held ball" are not the same thing, even though both use the arrow to determine possession.
|
Used To Be Settled By A Jump Ball ...
Quote:
7-3-1: If the ball goes out of bounds and was last touched simultaneously by two opponents, both of whom are inbounds or out of bounds, or if the official is in doubt as to who last touched the ball or if the officials disagree, play must be resumed by the team entitled to the alternating-possession throw-in at the spot out of bounds nearest to where the simultaneous violation occurred. |
Quote:
|
AP Signal ???
Quote:
In this case we first stop the clock with an open hand (for out of bounds), and then go to the jump/held ball signal, even though it's neither a jump ball, nor is it a held ball, but is an alternating possession situation. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
I like the new procedure especially when there's a double whistle similar to block/charge plays.
|
Fixed It ...
Quote:
Quote:
Actually viewed a recent IAABO video with a straight to the held ball signal that fooled me. I fixed it. |
Old Dog, New Tricks ...
Quote:
It only took me about a month (I thought that it would take longer) to get use to reporting fouls with two hands instead of one hand (and saying, "Twenty-one" instead of, "Two. One". It's been a few years now since the change, but I'm still inconsistent with the new held ball/jump ball signal sequence. |
Merit ...
Quote:
|
The consensus around here was that the change and the reason provided for the change made no sense. We stayed with the held ball signal.
Before, you actually knew if your partner across the court had a held-ball like you or some other call. If you both came up with held ball, you knew exactly where to go next. Now, you have no idea. Does your partner have a held ball, a violation, or a timeout??? You don't know until you talk. At least with the held ball signal, you then could jump to the discussion of which came first. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44am. |