The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105946-violation.html)

BillyMac Sat Feb 25, 2023 01:09pm

What's It Gonna Be Boy (Paradise By The Dashboard Light, Meat Loaf , 1977) ......
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1050273)
That is a dribble and thus not a violation.

Nevaderef: I'm not sure which question you're answering, the deliberate backspin after a pass caught situation, or the fumble (muff) after a pass caught situation?

Raymond Sat Feb 25, 2023 01:09pm

I am completely lost as to what you are now asking.

You asked if a certain action was a dribble and you were answered. And then you applied that answer to a question that was not asked.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sat Feb 25, 2023 01:16pm

Sorry ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1050276)
I am completely lost as to what you are now asking.

Sorry.

Situation A: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball then intentionally throws the ball across the plane of the division line with backspin such the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt.

Situation B: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 unintentionally muffs (without ever holding the ball) the ball. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and somehow bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt. A1 then starts a dribble while in the backcourt.

Situation C: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball and takes two dribbles and then holds the ball, all while still in the backourt. A1 then unintentionally fumbles the ball. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and somehow bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt.

4-4-6: Ball Location: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

Note: 4-4-6 says dribble, not fumble.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 25, 2023 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1050275)
Nevaderef: I'm not sure which question you're answering, the deliberate backspin after a pass caught situation, or the fumble (muff) after a pass caught situation?

The deliberate throw with backspin meets the definition of a dribble.
A muff or fumble does not.

Hence, your Sit A is legal, while Sit B and Sit C are violations.

BillyMac Sat Feb 25, 2023 01:29pm

Dribble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1050277)
Situation A: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball then intentionally throws the ball across the plane of the division line with backspin such the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1050278)
The deliberate throw with backspin meets the definition of a dribble.

Agree.

"Three points" (two feet and the ball) rule applies, thus no backcourt.

BillyMac Sat Feb 25, 2023 01:33pm

Backcourt ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1050277)
Situation B: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 unintentionally muffs (without ever holding the ball) the ball. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and somehow bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt. A1 then starts a dribble while in the backcourt.

Situation C: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball and takes two dribbles and then holds the ball, all while still in the backourt. A1 then unintentionally fumbles the ball. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and somehow bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt.

4-4-6: Ball Location: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

Note: 4-4-6 says dribble, not fumble.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1050278)
... while Sit B and Sit C are violations.

Agree.

Because 4-4-6 is about a dribble, not a muff or fumble.

Raymond Sat Feb 25, 2023 08:10pm

No one here said otherwise that I can remember.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sun Feb 26, 2023 12:39pm

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1050281)
No one here said otherwise that I can remember.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1049131)
A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball then throws the ball across the plane of the division line with backspin such the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt. I've got backcourt?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1049142)
You are correct in this interp

I was initially wrong.

bob jenkins, who is right 99 and 44/100 % of the time, was also incorrect.

A very rare slip up for him.

Wait ??? I'm being told ... What ??? No way. Take a photo.

https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.v...AA&pid=Api&P=0


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1