The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105946-violation.html)

thumpferee Tue Feb 14, 2023 05:37pm

Violation?
 
Player A1 has the ball near the mid court line in team A's BC. A1 attempts to make a pass to A2 in the FC but the ball slips out of his hand and bounces in the FC, after which A1 grabs the ball.

BC?

Does the 10 sec count stop?

Continue 10 sec count?

Start a new 10 sec count?

Nothing?

Raymond Tue Feb 14, 2023 05:47pm

I'm trying figure out how one would think this is not a BC violation.

BillyMac Tue Feb 14, 2023 05:59pm

Backcourt Violation ...
 
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Nevadaref Wed Feb 15, 2023 05:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by thumpferee (Post 1050198)
Player A1 has the ball near the mid court line in team A's BC. A1 attempts to make a pass to A2 in the FC but the ball slips out of his hand and bounces in the FC, after which A1 grabs the ball.

BC?

Does the 10 sec count stop?

Continue 10 sec count?

Start a new 10 sec count?

Nothing?

Yes, this is a BC violation as the action was not a dribble. As you have stated that the ball slipped out of A1’s hand, this meets the definition of a fumble and the play violates 9-9-2.
The 10 second count does cease when the ball strikes the floor in the front court for the same reason above—this is not a dribble.

thumpferee Wed Feb 15, 2023 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1050199)
I'm trying figure out how one would think this is not a BC violation.

You'd be surprised!

Appreciate the responses!

BillyMac Wed Feb 15, 2023 09:45am

Frontcourt Player ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1050199)
I'm trying figure out how one would think this is not a BC violation.

Based on discussions that I've witnessed in some of my Refresher Exam study groups, because the ball never touched an offensive player in the frontcourt.

BillyMac Wed Feb 15, 2023 09:49am

Three Legs Of A Stool ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1050204)
Yes, this is a BC violation as the action was not a dribble ...

... thus 4-4-6 does not come into play.

4-4-6: Ball Location: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

BillyMac Wed Feb 15, 2023 12:46pm

Both Feet And The Ball ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1050199)
I'm trying figure out how one would think this is not a BC violation.

Due to an improper understanding of 4-4-6?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Feb 24, 2023 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1050204)
Yes, this is a BC violation as the action was not a dribble. As you have stated that the ball slipped out of A1’s hand, this meets the definition of a fumble and the play violates 9-9-2.
The 10 second count does cease when the ball strikes the floor in the front court for the same reason above—this is not a dribble.


I agree with everything you said except the 10 Second Count. Once the fumbled Ball touched in Team A's Front Court the 10 Second ended.

MTD, Sr.

rbruno Fri Feb 24, 2023 05:03pm

Am I not understanding this correctly? A-1 is in his backcourt and fumbles into his frontcourt where he picks up the ball. How can this be a backcourt violation? He is the only one who touched it in both back and front court. All this is from what I read is a fumble. He just can't dribble after he picks it up and I believe he loses his pivot foot.

Nevadaref Fri Feb 24, 2023 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 1050265)
Am I not understanding this correctly? A-1 is in his backcourt and fumbles into his frontcourt where he picks up the ball. How can this be a backcourt violation? He is the only one who touched it in both back and front court. All this is from what I read is a fumble. He just can't dribble after he picks it up and I believe he loses his pivot foot.

He is standing in his backcourt. Therefore, when he recovers the ball after the fumble, it returns to the backcourt.

PS A fumble has no impact upon traveling or the use of a pivot foot.

Raymond Fri Feb 24, 2023 06:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 1050265)
Am I not understanding this correctly? A-1 is in his backcourt and fumbles into his frontcourt where he picks up the ball. How can this be a backcourt violation? He is the only one who touched it in both back and front court. All this is from what I read is a fumble. He just can't dribble after he picks it up and I believe he loses his pivot foot.

It's not a dribble. So when he fumbles the ball into the front court the ball then has front court status. When he touches the ball again while standing in the back court, the ball then has BC status.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sat Feb 25, 2023 10:47am

Extreme Backspin Example ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1050268)
It's not a dribble. So when he fumbles the ball into the front court the ball then has front court status. When he touches the ball again while standing in the back court, the ball then has BC status.

Agree.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1049131)
A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball then throws the ball across the plane of the division line with backspin such the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt. I've got backcourt? Am I wrong? The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1049142)
You are correct in this interp


BillyMac Sat Feb 25, 2023 12:42pm

Three Points ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1049131)
A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball then throws the ball across the plane of the division line with backspin such the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt. I've got backcourt? Am I wrong? The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Wait a minute?

Unlike a fumble, is this considered a dribble, and as such does the "three points" (two feet and the ball) rule apply, thus no backcourt?

What if it was was a real un-intentional fumble (muff) after catching a pass, where the start of a dribble would normally be perfectly legal?

Would that also be considered a "dribble" (knowing that another (real) dribble would be legal?), and as such does the "three points" (two feet and the ball) rule apply, thus no backcourt?

I understand that a fumble after one ends one's dribble would be backcourt because the "three points" (two feet and the ball) rule would not apply.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 25, 2023 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1050272)
Wait a minute?

Unlike a fumble, is this considered a dribble, and as such does the "three points" (two feet and the ball) rule apply, thus no backcourt?

What if it was was a real un-intentional fumble (muff) after catching a pass, where the start of a dribble would normally be perfectly legal?

Would that also be considered a "dribble" (knowing that another (real) dribble would be legal?), and as such does the "three points" (two feet and the ball) rule apply, thus no backcourt?

I understand that a fumble after one ends one's dribble would be backcourt because the "three points" (two feet and the ball) rule would not apply.

That is a dribble and thus not a violation.

BillyMac Sat Feb 25, 2023 01:09pm

What's It Gonna Be Boy (Paradise By The Dashboard Light, Meat Loaf , 1977) ......
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1050273)
That is a dribble and thus not a violation.

Nevaderef: I'm not sure which question you're answering, the deliberate backspin after a pass caught situation, or the fumble (muff) after a pass caught situation?

Raymond Sat Feb 25, 2023 01:09pm

I am completely lost as to what you are now asking.

You asked if a certain action was a dribble and you were answered. And then you applied that answer to a question that was not asked.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sat Feb 25, 2023 01:16pm

Sorry ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1050276)
I am completely lost as to what you are now asking.

Sorry.

Situation A: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball then intentionally throws the ball across the plane of the division line with backspin such the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt.

Situation B: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 unintentionally muffs (without ever holding the ball) the ball. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and somehow bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt. A1 then starts a dribble while in the backcourt.

Situation C: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball and takes two dribbles and then holds the ball, all while still in the backourt. A1 then unintentionally fumbles the ball. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and somehow bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt.

4-4-6: Ball Location: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

Note: 4-4-6 says dribble, not fumble.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 25, 2023 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1050275)
Nevaderef: I'm not sure which question you're answering, the deliberate backspin after a pass caught situation, or the fumble (muff) after a pass caught situation?

The deliberate throw with backspin meets the definition of a dribble.
A muff or fumble does not.

Hence, your Sit A is legal, while Sit B and Sit C are violations.

BillyMac Sat Feb 25, 2023 01:29pm

Dribble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1050277)
Situation A: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball then intentionally throws the ball across the plane of the division line with backspin such the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1050278)
The deliberate throw with backspin meets the definition of a dribble.

Agree.

"Three points" (two feet and the ball) rule applies, thus no backcourt.

BillyMac Sat Feb 25, 2023 01:33pm

Backcourt ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1050277)
Situation B: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 unintentionally muffs (without ever holding the ball) the ball. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and somehow bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt. A1 then starts a dribble while in the backcourt.

Situation C: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball and takes two dribbles and then holds the ball, all while still in the backourt. A1 then unintentionally fumbles the ball. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and somehow bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt.

4-4-6: Ball Location: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

Note: 4-4-6 says dribble, not fumble.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1050278)
... while Sit B and Sit C are violations.

Agree.

Because 4-4-6 is about a dribble, not a muff or fumble.

Raymond Sat Feb 25, 2023 08:10pm

No one here said otherwise that I can remember.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sun Feb 26, 2023 12:39pm

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1050281)
No one here said otherwise that I can remember.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1049131)
A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball then throws the ball across the plane of the division line with backspin such the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt. I've got backcourt?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1049142)
You are correct in this interp

I was initially wrong.

bob jenkins, who is right 99 and 44/100 % of the time, was also incorrect.

A very rare slip up for him.

Wait ??? I'm being told ... What ??? No way. Take a photo.

https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.v...AA&pid=Api&P=0


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1