The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105895-backcourt-violation.html)

fiasco Mon Jan 09, 2023 01:48pm

Backcourt violation?
 
Team A has the ball for a throw-in at mid-court. Player bounces the ball to her teammate, who is in the front court. The teammate bats the ball but does not control the ball, which then travels into the backcourt. The player then goes into the backcourt, retrieves and controls the ball while fully in the backcourt.

Violation?

Raymond Mon Jan 09, 2023 02:07pm

No. Been discussed here many times. And where the throw-in occurred has absolutely no bearing on the ruling.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Zoochy Mon Jan 09, 2023 02:44pm

The only violation would be is if the teammate strikes the ball with a fist. See 9-4 :D

fiasco Mon Jan 09, 2023 11:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1049762)
No. Been discussed here many times. And where the throw-in occurred has absolutely no bearing on the ruling.

The backcourt rule doesn't specify that the ball must be in player control in the frontcourt before traveling to the backcourt. It only says team control. The ball is in team control on a throw-in and continues to be in team control throughout the scenario.

In the scenario, the ball was in team control in the frontcourt (because it was touched by or touched the player in the frontcourt), then it traveled to the backcourt, where it was first touched by the player who was last in the frontcourt.

I'm still not seeing how the scenario doesn't meet all the qualifications for backcourt violation.

Team control (check)
Ball touches or is touched by player in frontcourt (check)
Ball travels to backcourt (check)
Ball is touched by player or team that was last to touch in frontcourt (check)

johnny d Mon Jan 09, 2023 11:15pm

Then go ahead and incorrectly call a backcourt violation any time you have this situation. Even though you are completely wrong, it will be ok, because 50% or less of the officials you work with will know you are wrong. In the meantime, keep patting yourself on the back for being way smarter and knowledgeable then all the other officials that posted a response.

Raymond Mon Jan 09, 2023 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 1049769)
The backcourt rule doesn't specify that the ball must be in player control in the frontcourt before traveling to the backcourt. It only says team control. The ball is in team control on a throw-in and continues to be in team control throughout the scenario.

In the scenario, the ball was in team control in the frontcourt (because it was touched by or touched the player in the frontcourt), then it traveled to the backcourt, where it was first touched by the player who was last in the frontcourt.

I'm still not seeing how the scenario doesn't meet all the qualifications for backcourt violation.

Team control (check)
Ball touches or is touched by player in frontcourt (check)
Ball travels to backcourt (check)
Ball is touched by player or team that was last to touch in frontcourt (check)

Subsequent a throw-in, jump ball, free throw, or try for goal, you must first have player control on the court before any actions can happen to cause a back court violation.

IOW, you must have player control and then some action must occur that causes the ball to violate the back court provisions.

In theory, the throw-in is no different than a shot as far as when you can start looking for backcourt violation provisions.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

fiasco Mon Jan 09, 2023 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1049771)
Subsequent a throw-in, jump ball, free throw, or try for goal, you must first have player control on the court before any actions can happen to cause a back court violation.

IOW, you must have player control and then some action must occur that causes the ball to violate the back court provisions.

In theory, the throw-in is no different than a shot as far as when you can start looking for backcourt violation provisions.

Rule cite?

Nevadaref Mon Jan 09, 2023 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 1049772)
Rule cite?

That is in the NFHS comments on the rules in a prior year’s book.

You need to know that the NFHS backcourt rule dates from when the NFHS had no team control during a throw-in. When that was added, it messed with several NFHS rules and the editors did not properly change the text to correct this. Instead the NFHS only published a couple of paragraphs stating to continue to call all violations as before and that the team control concept during a throw-in only pertained to fouls.

I will locate the relevant language from prior years and post it for you.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 09, 2023 11:46pm

Here you go.

POE #4 on page 70 of the 2014-15 NFHS Basketball Rules Book

4. Team Control Status During Throw-in. Team Control Status Inbounds - Since a 2011-12
rules change, team control exists during a throw-in when the thrower-in has the ball at her/his
disposal. The change was made ONLY to eliminate the penalty of administering free throw(s)
when a teammate of the thrower-in commits a common foul during the throw-in. The change made
the penalty consistent with the penalty for other team control fouls. The penalty now is the
awarding of a throw-in to the opposing team at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the foul
occurred.
NOTE: Team control during a throw-in is not intended to be equated to player control status
inbounds which creates team control status inbounds. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds,
frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are not factors as there has yet to be
player control/team control status obtained inbounds.

fiasco Tue Jan 10, 2023 09:48am

Much appreciated! I had this sitch in a game last week, I didn't call a violation because I knew in my head there was no player control, but when I went to the rulebook, I was finding no justification for the no-call.

Seems very odd that NFHS wouldn't simply edit the backcourt rule to include player control on the throw-in.

BillyMac Tue Jan 10, 2023 11:18am

Elements Of Backcourt ...
 
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

BillyMac Tue Jan 10, 2023 11:20am

From Endline ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1049762)
... where the throw-in occurred has absolutely no bearing on the ruling.

Great point.

BillyMac Tue Jan 10, 2023 11:32am

Fist ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1049764)
The only violation would be is if the teammate strikes the ball with a fist.

In a crowd?

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...tml#post479461

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 580556)
To me the reason for the fist rule is to reduce the potential for players swatting at balls or playing defense (in the vicinity of an opponent) with fists, which could certainly be intimidating and unsporting.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 580971)
This is almost exactly what my interpreter said after I asked him about the this rule last year. I had called the violation after one player punched the ball to his teammate, while both were alone, with no defenders, in the backcourt. I won't make that call again.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 871302)
... called this exact situation a violation several years ago, was politely questioned by my partner after the game, and asked my local interpreter about it. I was told that the "fist" violation should only be called when the ball is punched in a crowd, i.e. the intent of the rule is to avoid injury.


fiasco Tue Jan 10, 2023 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1049779)
Great point.

Yeah this is important, because I can imagine a scenario in which the ball is inbounded along the endline, multiple players bat the ball in their frontcourt, the ball travels to the backcourt, where it is retrieved by one of the same players and you're going to have a coach howling for a backcourt violation because they don't know the player control part and they're heavily influenced by where the ball was inbounded.

BillyMac Tue Jan 10, 2023 12:36pm

Often Misunderstood ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 1049781)
Yeah this is important, because I can imagine a scenario in which the ball is inbounded along the endline, multiple players bat the ball in their frontcourt, the ball travels to the backcourt, where it is retrieved by one of the same players and you're going to have a coach howling for a backcourt violation because they don't know the player control part and they're heavily influenced by where the ball was inbounded.

Agree.

During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not backcourt violations.

ilyazhito Tue Jan 10, 2023 08:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 1049761)
Team A has the ball for a throw-in at mid-court. Player bounces the ball to her teammate, who is in the front court. The teammate bats the ball but does not control the ball, which then travels into the backcourt. The player then goes into the backcourt, retrieves and controls the ball while fully in the backcourt.

Violation?

No. In NFHS rules, a ball that is out of bounds has no status. That is why there cannot be a backcourt violation on a throw-in until control is gained and status established.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 11, 2023 02:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1049796)
No. In NFHS rules, a ball that is out of bounds has no status. That is why there cannot be a backcourt violation on a throw-in until control is gained and status established.

Not the proper terminology, nor is your reasoning correct for this situation in which the ball is tipped or batted by an inbounds player. That inbounds touch does in fact give the ball frontcourt status. The reason that this is not a violation is that team control has not yet been established inbounds. There is only “throw-in team control” that only applies if there is a foul by the throwing team.

fiasco Wed Jan 11, 2023 09:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1049798)
The reason that this is not a violation is that team control has not yet been established inbounds. There is only “throw-in team control” that only applies if there is a foul by the throwing team.

This seems to be a really big grey area that the rules committee should address, because you would only know this by going back 6-7 years and finding the note you found in a previous rule book, as you did. The above interpretation is not supported by the current rule book, which is frustrating when working with coaches who actually want to learn and follow the rulebook.

4-12-2 and 4-12-3 establish that team control does exists during a throw-in and that team control "continues until: a. The ball Is In flight during a try or tap for field goal. b. An opponent secures control. c. The ball becomes dead."

Is there a perverse incentive to changing the team control rule so that there is no team control during a throw-in? Or adding a clause to the team control rule or the backcourt rule that states that player control must be established inbounds on a throw-in?

Raymond Wed Jan 11, 2023 09:35am

Case play 9.9.1 Sit. G addresses the team control issue being discussed here.

The verbiage in Rule 4-19-7 eliminates the need for saying there is TC during a throw-in, 4-12-2.d. It defines a TCF to include a foul by the throw-in team at any point before PC is obtained inbounds.

fiasco Wed Jan 11, 2023 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1049800)
Case play 9.9.1 Sit. G addresses the team control issue being discussed here.

The verbiage in Rule 4-19-7 eliminates the need for saying there is TC during a throw-in, 4-12-2.d. It defines a TCF to include a foul by the throw-in team at any point before PC is obtained inbounds.

Huzzah! Thank you.

How hard would it be to add this line from the case book to the TC rule??

Quote:

Although there is team control on a throw-in, it only pertains to foul situations

Raymond Wed Jan 11, 2023 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 1049801)
Huzzah! Thank you.

How hard would it be to add this line from the case book to the TC rule??

All they need to do is eliminate 4.12.2.d, which states there is TC on a throw-in, from the rule book. 4-19-7 already covers a TCF being committed by a team in control of the ball OR by the throw-in team until PC is established on the court.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 11, 2023 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 1049799)
This seems to be a really big grey area that the rules committee should address, because you would only know this by going back 6-7 years and finding the note you found in a previous rule book, as you did. The above interpretation is not supported by the current rule book, which is frustrating when working with coaches who actually want to learn and follow the rulebook.

4-12-2 and 4-12-3 establish that team control does exists during a throw-in and that team control "continues until: a. The ball Is In flight during a try or tap for field goal. b. An opponent secures control. c. The ball becomes dead."

Is there a perverse incentive to changing the team control rule so that there is no team control during a throw-in? Or adding a clause to the team control rule or the backcourt rule that states that player control must be established inbounds on a throw-in?

We've talked about multiple ways to address this (and the problems with the wording over the years) ever since they added the rule.

Welcome to the party.

Camron Rust Fri Jan 13, 2023 02:33pm

I've proposed (last year) a rule change to clean this entire thing up. But, it went nowhere.

My proposal was to change the team control definition to be what it always was...begins when a player inbounds established player control. And then, to get the result they wanted, change the definition of a team control foul to include fouls that occur between the time a throw-in starts and when a team established team control.

This would have been the easy way to do it. We already do that with the player control foul on an airborne shooter who no longer has player control. That would have been the least confusing way to have done this.

Camron Rust Fri Jan 13, 2023 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1049796)
No. In NFHS rules, a ball that is out of bounds has no status. That is why there cannot be a backcourt violation on a throw-in until control is gained and status established.

Frontcourt/Backcourt status is obtained the instant the ball is touched. Control is not necessary.

Raymond Fri Jan 13, 2023 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1049823)
I've proposed (last year) a rule change to clean this entire thing up. But, it went nowhere.

My proposal was to change the team control definition to be what it always was...begins when a player inbounds established player control. And then, to get the result they wanted, change the definition of a team control foul to include fouls that occur between the time a throw-in starts and when a team established team control.

This would have been the easy way to do it. We already do that with the player control foul on an airborne shooter who no longer has player control. That would have been the least confusing way to have done this.

You desired definition of TCF is already in 4-19-7. If they remove "d" from 4-12-2, it would eliminate any further confusion.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 15, 2023 03:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1049825)
You desired definition of TCF is already in 4-19-7. If they remove "d" from 4-12-2, it would eliminate any further confusion.

I think that would leave it ambiguous still and people would still mess it up. I think 4-19-7 would need to be reworded to make it clear that you could have a team control foul without team control. As worded, I don't think it would be good enough.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1