The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2003, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Now I'm confused by Dan's post. Dan, can you please explain a little better why 1&1 is not shot if a foul occurs by the throwing team after they have touched the ball inbounds after a throw-in, but have not controlled it?
NCAA rules throughout:

In 2003, we did shoot 1&1 in this situation. Because of the definitions of team-control foul and team control, if A1 throws the ball in, A2 touches, then A3 controls, if A4 committed a foul

(a) before A2 touches, it was a team-control foul, so no free throws;
(b) after A2 touches but before A3 controls, it was not a team-control foul, so shoot 1&1 or 2 if in the bonus;
(c) after A3 controls, it was a team-control foul, so no free throws.

This is what I called "the silly 1&1 scenario," since IMHO there shouldn't be a difference between (a) and (b).

In 2004, team control has been redefined so that, I believe, any foul in the above scenario would be a team-control foul with no free throws. This makes more sense to me.

However, I believe that it also causes some backcourt violations that didn't exist in 2003, as I mentioned above.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1