The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Hanging On Rim Technical Foul ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105689-ncaa-hanging-rim-technical-foul.html)

BillyMac Mon Mar 21, 2022 10:26am

Interesting Play ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tnolan (Post 1047653)
... this occurred during the Texas Tech/Notre Dame game: (5:29 - 5:41 mark)

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/P5A75m2iUIM?start=329&end=341" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Thanks for the video tnolan. The second non-dunking hand on the rim makes this an interesting play to discuss.

For high school rules:

NFHS 10-4-4-A: A player must not: Illegally contact the backboard/ring by: Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage (“The Ralph Sampson Rule”).

Maybe he didn't gain an advantage?

NFHS 4-6-1: Basket interference occurs when a player: Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket. Exception: In Art. 1 … if a player has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters the imaginary cylinder or if in such action, the player touches the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference (“The Bill Russell Rule”).

Maybe the 4-6-1 Exception makes this a legal play? But his left hand wasn't in contact with the ball?

Raymond Mon Mar 21, 2022 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1047656)
Thanks for the video tnolan. The second non-dunking hand on the rim makes this an interesting play to discuss.

For high school rules:

NFHS 10-4-4-A: A player must not: Illegally contact the backboard/ring by: Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage (“The Ralph Sampson Rule”).

Maybe he didn't gain an advantage?

NFHS 4-6-1: Basket interference occurs when a player: Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket. Exception: In Art. 1 … if a player has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters the imaginary cylinder or if in such action, the player touches the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference (“The Bill Russell Rule”).

Maybe the 4-6-1 Exception makes this a legal play? But his left hand wasn't in contact with the ball?

If you think the exception makes it legal then you are not fully reading what the exception says. Words matter.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Mon Mar 21, 2022 01:37pm

Dunking Is Legal And Is Not Basket Interference ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1047657)
If you think the exception makes it legal then you are not fully reading what the exception says. Words matter.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1047656)
But his left hand wasn't in contact with the ball?

Just trying to head off at the pass 'em that might cite the exception.

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/eQvu4H3BXM8/hqdefault.jpg

tnolan Tue Mar 22, 2022 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1047655)
The play you showed is not the same as the Illinois play. Not even close.

Peace

Migrated to another pasture.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1