The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul after violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105586-foul-after-violation.html)

rbruno Wed Dec 22, 2021 08:43am

Foul after violation
 
Had this last night in a GV game. Player A-1 rises to shoot and realizes her shot will be blocked and comes back down to the floor. I whistle the travel and just after my whistle player B-1 guarding her follows through with her attempted block and hits A-1 in the face. I explain to coach A (complaining) that the travel preceded the foul and awarded the ball to team B nearest the foul. Got to thinking.... could we have a dead ball technical for the contact after the whistle?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 22, 2021 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 1046027)
Had this last night in a GV game. Player A-1 rises to shoot and realizes her shot will be blocked and comes back down to the floor. I whistle the travel and just after my whistle player B-1 guarding her follows through with her attempted block and hits A-1 in the face. I explain to coach A (complaining) that the travel preceded the foul and awarded the ball to team B nearest the foul. Got to thinking.... could we have a dead ball technical for the contact after the whistle?

No. ;)

(Read the definitions)

BryanV21 Wed Dec 22, 2021 09:20am

If the block attempt/foul is part of the play I'm probably letting it go.

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Wed Dec 22, 2021 09:34am

Intentional Or Flagrant ...
 
For contact to be ruled illegal during a dead ball period it has to be either intentional or flagrant contact.

Have to pass on (ignore) incidental contact (as we always do), or contact not deemed to be intentional or flagrant, i.e., type of contact involved with a common foul.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 22, 2021 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1046033)
For contact to be ruled illegal during a dead ball period it has to be either intentional or flagrant contact.

(delted)

BillyMac Wed Dec 22, 2021 10:24am

Dead Ball ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1046036)
And even if its I or F, it's still not a T (as the OP asked).

Wasn't it dead ball contact?

4-9-5-C: A technical foul is: An intentional or flagrant contact foul while the ball is dead, except a foul by an airborne shooter.

rbruno Wed Dec 22, 2021 12:15pm

Well the ball became dead when I blew the whistle for the traveling violation. Hence my question about a foul also AND it would be technical. I seems from some that they would consider the contact incidental so go with the travel and move on as I did. I just started to question in my mind about the contact because it was in the head. No matter I'm explaining to one coach or another

BillyMac Wed Dec 22, 2021 12:32pm

Dead Ball ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 1046044)
Well the ball became dead when I blew the whistle for the traveling violation.

Became dead with the travel violation, which may have been before the whistle (reaction time).

bob jenkins Wed Dec 22, 2021 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 1046044)
Well the ball became dead when I blew the whistle for the traveling violation. Hence my question about a foul also AND it would be technical. I seems from some that they would consider the contact incidental so go with the travel and move on as I did. I just started to question in my mind about the contact because it was in the head. No matter I'm explaining to one coach or another

IF the ball had been live-- would you have ruled an intentional personal or a flagrant personal? If so, then you should rule an intentional technical or a flagrant technical in your play. If not (that is, if you would have ruled a common foul), then you should ignore it in your play.

BillyMac Wed Dec 22, 2021 01:33pm

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 1046027)
... follows through with her attempted block and hits A-1 in the face.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 1046044)
...the contact because it was in the head.

I missed the reference to contact above the shoulders the first time around.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1046046)
If the ball had been live, would you have ruled an intentional personal or a flagrant personal? If so, then you should rule an intentional technical or a flagrant technical in your play. If not (that is, if you would have ruled a common foul), then you should ignore it in your play.

Agree with bob jenkins.

Depends on how fast the arms were swinging.

4.19.3 SITUATION F: After a rebound, A1, while holding the ball, pivots and A1’s elbow contacts B1 above the shoulders. A1's elbow is violently and excessively swung at a speed in excess of the player’s torso. RULING: If the contact is violent or excessive, a flagrant foul shall be called. (4-27, 4-19-2, 4-19-3, 4-19-4)

9.13.1 SITUATION B: A1 is trapped in the corner by B1 and B2, who are in legal guarding position. In an attempt to create space, A1 rapidly swings arms/elbows while using the shoulders as pivots (a) without making contact; (b) making contact with an opponent above the shoulders and elbows are moving faster than the body. RULING: In (a), A1 excessively swinging arms/elbows without contacting the opponent is a violation. Team B is awarded a designated spot throw-in nearest the violation. In (b), this is considered an intentional foul. (9-13-1)

9.13.2 SITUATION: A5 catches the ball on a rebound, “chins” the ball and then turns (with the elbow at the same speed as the body) to make an outlet pass with the elbow leading the way. Prior to releasing the ball, A1’s elbow contacts B5 above the shoulders. RULING: This may be ruled incidental contact or a player control foul.


Isn't it nice to have interpretations in the casebook and not have to rely on a nine year old Point of Emphasis?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1