The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball Hitting Basket Ring (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105568-ball-hitting-basket-ring.html)

bob jenkins Sun Nov 28, 2021 07:59pm

Ball Hitting Basket Ring
 
I know that the ball hitting the opponent's backboard is the same as the ball hitting the court in-bounds (4-4-5). Does that apply when the ball hits the basket?

Play: B1 gets a defensive rebound. B1 attempts a pass to B2 on the opposite side of the court. The ball hits (a) A's backboard, or (b) A's basket (ring), and rebounds directly to B1. B1 then dribbles. Ruling?

In (a) an illegal (double) dribble violation (see 4.15.1 C). In (b) ?????

SNIPERBBB Sun Nov 28, 2021 10:03pm

I think the only thing you can have, by the book, is if B1 moved to catch the ball resulting in a travel as in. 4.44.3 C

Nevadaref Sun Nov 28, 2021 10:51pm

I would treat the hall striking only the ring the same as if the player merely tossed the ball up into the air and caught it again.
My reasoning for doing such is that the rules book specifies backboard in the passage which states that action constitutes a dribble. As Bob is aware the ring/basket is not mentioned.
Also, the ball does not contact the floor or an official, so we have no rule that covers the described action.

BillyMac Mon Nov 29, 2021 11:56am

Let's Go To the Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045686)
...see 4.15.1 C ...

4.15.1 SITUATION C: A1 attempts a pass to A2 during pressing action in A’s backcourt. The ball hits B’s backboard and deflects directly back to A1 who catches the ball and: (a) passes the ball to A2; or (b) starts a dribble. RULING: The pass against B’s backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball. In (a), the pass is legal action. In (b), it is a violation for a second dribble. (4-4-5; 9-5)

4-4-5: A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds; see also 4-15-1.

4-15-1: It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player’s own backboard.

BillyMac Mon Nov 29, 2021 12:01pm

If It's Not Illegal, It's Legal ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1045688)
... the rules book specifies backboard in the passage which states that action constitutes a dribble ... the ring/basket is not mentioned ... so we have no rule that covers the described action.

Agree. If it's not illegal, it's legal.

Purpose and intent may handle it, but it's a stretch when the casebook play specifically, and only, mentions "backboard".

BillyMac Mon Nov 29, 2021 12:04pm

Citation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1045688)
I would treat the hall striking only the ring the same as if the player merely tossed the ball up into the air and caught it again.

4.44.3 SITUATION C: (a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: Legal in (a), but a traveling violation in (b). In (b), since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is illegal. (9-4)

bob jenkins Mon Nov 29, 2021 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1045688)
I would treat the hall striking only the ring the same as if the player merely tossed the ball up into the air and caught it again.
My reasoning for doing such is that the rules book specifies backboard in the passage which states that action constitutes a dribble.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1045696)

Purpose and intent may handle it, but it's a stretch when the casebook play specifically, and only, mentions "backboard".

Those seem to be the two options, I agree.

Would you rule the same if:

Play: A1 dribbles on a breakaway At the FT line,(a) A1 tosses the ball off his own back board, catches the ball in the air and dunks it. (b) Attempts to toss the ball off the backboard, but the ball hits the ring and rebounds to A1 who catches the ball in the air and dunks it.

Ruling: (a) legal. (b) ????

BillyMac Mon Nov 29, 2021 01:16pm

Down The Rabbit Hole ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045699)
A1 dribbles on a breakaway At the FT line ... Attempts to toss the ball off the backboard, but the ball hits the ring and rebounds to A1 who catches the ball in the air and dunks it.

Is bob jenkins's insinuating that this is an additional illegal dribble?

https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.h...=0&w=300&h=300

bob jenkins Mon Nov 29, 2021 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1045700)
Is bob jenkins's insinuating that this is an additional illegal dribble?

Just noting that all the rulings need to be consistent.

Play: (yes, it's impractical). A1, from the FC, throws the ball off of (a) B's backboard, or (b) The ring attached to B's backboard. The ball rebounds in the air to A2 who is standing the the FC. Ruling: (a) BC violation. (b) ?????

BillyMac Mon Nov 29, 2021 01:54pm

Another Rabbit Hole ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045701)
A1, from the FC, throws the ball off of ... The ring attached to B's backboard. The ball rebounds in the air to A2 who is standing the the FC.

Here we go again.

https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.j...=0&w=300&h=300

BillyMac Mon Nov 29, 2021 01:56pm

Extreme Makeover ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045701)
... it's impractical ...

I find that by pushing rules to the limits, one can gain great incite into rules language (if one is not limited by what the NFHS publishes, or doesn't publish).

I'm the one who is often criticized by those who believe that my "twists and turns" in the same thread confuse things.

But it's not the case here.

This thread has a common theme of, "What's the location status of the ring compared to the backboard?", and every situation noted by bob jenkins pushes that point further along.

I find this thread to be fun and educationally invigorating, but we should prepare ourselves to never get any closure here, unless a "Mighty Mouse" shows up to "save the day" with an overlooked rule or casebook play citation (Nevaderef's area of expertise).

Or we may have to end up using "purpose and intent", and that's often very subjective.

And then we may have a problem comparing a "real" game call to a written test question.

https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.Y...=0&w=300&h=300

BillyMac Mon Nov 29, 2021 05:47pm

For Young'uns Only ...
 
Just for the young'uns out there. Unlike in football (and probably other sports) where a team defends its own goal, in basketball a team's own basket is the basket it's shooting at.

billyu2 Mon Nov 29, 2021 07:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1045696)
Agree. If it's not illegal, it's legal.

Purpose and intent may handle it, but it's a stretch when the casebook play specifically, and only, mentions "backboard".

The casebook play also specifically states "the ball hits B's backboard and bounces directly back to A1." Question: What if the ball hits B's backboard, then the ring and then to A1? Would it be legal for A1 to start a dribble? IMHO if A1 started a dribble I would rule a violation in all three situations (backboard only, backboard+ring, ring only) to be consistent in not giving A1 an unfair advantage not intended by the existing rule.

SNIPERBBB Mon Nov 29, 2021 08:01pm

What advantage would A1 get if the ball came straight to him, didnt hit the floor and he didnt move?

Indianaref Tue Nov 30, 2021 08:01am

I would consider the ball striking the ring at the opponents goal the same as hitting an official and then returning to A1.

BillyMac Tue Nov 30, 2021 10:21am

Ball Hits Opponent's Backboard ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 1045710)
What if the ball hits B's backboard, then the ring and then to A1? Would it be legal for A1 to start a dribble?

4.15.1 SITUATION C ... The pass against B’s backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball ... it is a violation for a second dribble.

BillyMac Tue Nov 30, 2021 10:23am

Advantage ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1045713)
What advantage would A1 get if the ball came straight to him, didn't hit the floor and he didn't move?

Just for fun: Fake a defensive opponent out of position?

BillyMac Tue Nov 30, 2021 10:24am

Dribble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 1045717)
I would consider the ball striking the ring at the opponents goal the same as hitting an official and then returning to A1.

So it's a dribble?

4-4-4: A ball which touches ... an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual’s location.

billyu2 Tue Nov 30, 2021 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1045720)
4.15.1 SITUATION C ... The pass against B’s backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball ... it is a violation for a second dribble.

But the ball didn't bounce directly back to A1. It touched something else, the ring. The whole point of OP was if the ball hit the ring instead of the backboard only, would it be legal to start a dribble? Some seem to indicate "legal" since the rule specifically says backboard only. I am asking if the ball hits the backboard, then the ring, then goes to A1 would it be legal for A1 to start a dribble since the rule specifically says the ball (from the backboard) must return directly to A1 which it did not.

BillyMac Tue Nov 30, 2021 12:34pm

Yet Another Rabbit Hole ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 1045727)
But the ball didn't bounce directly back to A1. It touched something else, the ring ... I am asking if the ball hits the backboard, then the ring, then goes to A1 would it be legal for A1 to start a dribble since the rule specifically says the ball (from the backboard) must return directly to A1 which it did not.

My opinion: The pass against B’s backboard was still the start of a dribble, use "normal" rules to decide what can, or cannot, legally happen next.

Keeping only the ring (not ring and backboard) in the situation makes the interpretation less complex, not a lot, but a little.

http://www.dictionary.com/e/wp-conte...abbit-hole.jpg

Nevadaref Wed Dec 01, 2021 12:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045701)
Just noting that all the rulings need to be consistent.

Play: (yes, it's impractical). A1, from the FC, throws the ball off of (a) B's backboard, or (b) The ring attached to B's backboard. The ball rebounds in the air to A2 who is standing the the FC. Ruling: (a) BC violation. (b) ?????

This one is easy. Backcourt violation in both cases (a) and (b).
Why? We have a rule which tells us that the opponent’s basket is part of a team’s backcourt. 4-13-2 “…A team’s backcourt consists of the rest of the court, including the entire division line and the opponent’s basket and inbounds part of the - opponent’s backboard.“

Nevadaref Wed Dec 01, 2021 12:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045699)
Those seem to be the two options, I agree.

Would you rule the same if:

Play: A1 dribbles on a breakaway At the FT line,(a) A1 tosses the ball off his own back board, catches the ball in the air and dunks it. (b) Attempts to toss the ball off the backboard, but the ball hits the ring and rebounds to A1 who catches the ball in the air and dunks it.

Ruling: (a) legal. (b) ????

As you have written, case (a) is legal due to a casebook ruling. I’ll note that the rationale of that casebook play was modified just this year to make tossing the ball off one’s own backboard a try for goal.
Case (b) is more difficult because the ball striking the ring is not automatically considered a try for goal. For example, a pass which strikes the ring would not reset the shot clock should one be in use. Therefore, if the official does not deem this action a try, then it must be treated as a dribble which does not strike the floor. Now we must consider if the player who threw the ball lifted his pivot foot AND returned it to the floor prior to touching the ball again. If so, then an illegal dribble violation has occurred (what the NFHS casebook now labels a traveling violation, but used to list as an illegal dribble). If not, then the action is legal.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 01, 2021 08:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1045740)
Therefore, if the official does not deem this action a try, then it must be treated as a dribble which does not strike the floor.

Why isn't it just "tossing the ball in the air and catching it" -- as in the first play I posted?

BillyMac Wed Dec 01, 2021 09:22am

Clarification ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045743)
Why isn't it just "tossing the ball in the air and catching it" ...

... while keeping pivot foot in contact with the floor?

But it's more than that. If it hits the opponent's ring, it appears to be a dribble (or a part of a dribble).

BillyMac Wed Dec 01, 2021 09:23am

A Team’s Backcourt ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1045739)
4-13-2 A team’s backcourt consists of the rest of the court, including the entire division line and the opponent’s basket and inbounds part of the opponent’s backboard.

Nice citation Nevadaref.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 01, 2021 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1045745)
Nice citation Nevadaref.

and, part of why I'm asking -- if the basket is part of the backcourt, then shouldn't the ball hitting the basket be the same as the ball hitting the backboard?

BillyMac Wed Dec 01, 2021 09:38am

Transitive Property ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045746)
and, part of why I'm asking -- if the basket is part of the backcourt, then shouldn't the ball hitting the basket be the same as the ball hitting the backboard?

Then a ball hitting the opponent's ring, flange, backboard, or frontcourt floor would all be treated the same, as a dribble (or part of a dribble).

Nice rationale bob jenkins.

Do we also include the opponent's net? I have seen cross court passes in one's backcourt hit the opponent's net.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 01, 2021 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1045747)
Then a ball hitting the opponent's ring, flange, backboard, or frontcourt floor would all be treated the same, as a dribble (or part of a dribble).

Nice rationale bob jenkins.

Do we also include the opponent's net? I have seen cross court passes in one's backcourt hit the opponent's net. In the past, I've just ignored.

The ball is unlikely to rebound to the player after just hitting the net -- but I agree the rationale should be the same. Maybe the NFHS will change this, or maybe someone can submit a change

BillyMac Wed Dec 01, 2021 01:02pm

Temporarily Caught In The Net ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045748)
The ball is unlikely to rebound to the player after just hitting the net ...

While the ball may not rebound, it could get temporarily caught in the net and just fall straight down (maybe with a little pendulum back track action) to the floor. If the passer gets to the ball first, picks the ball up, and starts a dribble, it's an illegal (double) dribble.

Call that and a head coach might end up sitting on a cold bus in the parking lot.

In Mike Goodwin's games the coach could get severe frostbite.

https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.P...=0&w=226&h=170

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045701)
... it's impractical...

It could happen, probably won't, but I would not bet my house that it could never happen.

If we're going to go down rabbit holes, we might as well go all the way down the rabbit holes.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 02, 2021 02:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045743)
Why isn't it just "tossing the ball in the air and catching it" -- as in the first play I posted?

Yes, that would be fine too. The two thoughts are equivalent in this instance.

Since this action is not tossing the ball to another player it cannot be a pass and as the player is not throwing for goal (certainly not at the wrong hoop), it cannot be a try. That leaves us with the potential start of a dribble. One which has yet to strike the floor. So the player may not move his pivot foot to another location and then touch the ball again prior to it contacting the floor (or the backboard or an official).

I agree with Bob that the ball striking the ring at either basket when clearly not a try for goal must be treated in exactly the same manner.

BillyMac Thu Dec 02, 2021 02:46pm

Tossing Ball Into Air ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1045753)
So the player may not move his pivot foot to another location and then touch the ball again prior to it contacting the floor (or the backboard or an official) ...

... or catch it himself.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 02, 2021 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1045755)
... or catch it himself.

Wouldn’t that involve touching the ball?

BillyMac Thu Dec 02, 2021 04:14pm

Erratum ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1045756)
Wouldn’t that involve touching the ball?

Missed that. Sorry. As I read it, my brain couldn't keep up with my eyes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1