The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   For NCAA Officials Only ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105567-ncaa-officials-only.html)

BillyMac Sat Nov 27, 2021 12:03pm

For NCAA Officials Only ...
 
I'm not an NCAA official, so I don't have a dog in this fight, but I thought that you college guys would be interested in this contradictory situation that appeared in a recent IAABO Inside The Lines publication.

I'm sure that most of the knowledgeable college guys we see on the Forum already know about this shot clock rule contradiction, and know how to properly handle it, but in case one hasn't, or doesn't, here it is:

Disclaimer: Not sure if this is an NCAA interpretation, or an IAABO interpretation.

Team A has the ball in their back court for a throw in. The Game Clock is at 29 seconds. The Shot Clock is off. Thrower-In A3 throws the ball to A4 in the front court. B3 fouls A4. The game clock reads 26 seconds. Team A is not in the bonus. Team A will receive the ball at one of the four spots and the Shot Clock will be turned back on. True or false?

The correct answer is False.

Unfortunately, we have two rules that are contradicting in this play:

1. Rule 2-11.2 states that the shot-clock operator “shall use the shot clock for the entire game, including extra periods, except where there is less time remaining on the game clock than on the shot clock, in which case the shot clock shall be turned off.”

2. Rule 2-11.6.c.1 states that the shot clock operator shall, “Reset' the shot clock “to 20 seconds or the time remaining (whichever is greater)when the following occurs:
1. A personal or technical foul is assessed to the defensive team and the ball is to be inbounded in the front court;”

The application of Rule 2-11.2 is correct. Turn the shot clock off. Otherwise, Team A would never get their full 30 seconds that they are entitled to by rule. See Rule 2-11.8 for exceptions to this rule that are listed in Rule 2-11.6.d.

bob jenkins Sat Nov 27, 2021 12:59pm

I don't think the rules are contradictory -- the "whichever is greater" just includes the time on the game clock (26 seconds n this instance).

You can have (at least in NCAAW) a situation where the shot clock is turned off and then turned back on again.

BillyMac Sat Nov 27, 2021 01:09pm

Updated Disclaimer ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045663)
You can have (at least in NCAAW) a situation where the shot clock is turned off and then turned back on again.

Disclaimer Update: Not sure if this is an NCAAM interpretation, an NCAAW interpretation, or just a worthless IAABO interpretation.

BillyMac Sat Nov 27, 2021 05:25pm

Turned Off ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045663)
I don't think the rules are contradictory -- the "whichever is greater" just includes the time on the game clock (26 seconds n this instance).

I see your point, and understand it, and it's foolish for me to comment on shot clock issues (I know more about quantum physics than I do about shot clocks), but the contradictory part is "the shot-clock operator shall use the shot clock for the entire game, including extra periods, except where there is less time remaining on the game clock than on the shot clock, in which case the shot clock shall be turned off” because it appears that shot clock does not remain "turned off".

However, by reading it in a certain way, I can see where it can appear to be non-contradictory.

bob jenkins Sat Nov 27, 2021 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1045668)
I see your point, and understand it, and it's foolish for me to comment on shot clock issues (I know more about quantum physics than I do about shot clocks), but the contradictory part is "the shot-clock operator shall use the shot clock for the entire game, including extra periods, except where there is less time remaining on the game clock than on the shot clock, in which case the shot clock shall be turned off” because it appears that shot clock does not remain "turned off".

However, by reading it in a certain way, I can see where it can appear to be non-contradictory.

"turned off" and "remains off" are not synonymous.

A gets the ball with 29 seconds left. Shot clock it turned off. A attempts a try that hits the rim and A gets a rebound with 25 seconds left -- shot clock it tuned back on and is set to 20 seconds.

Raymond Sat Nov 27, 2021 09:04pm

We (NCAA-M) have no problems with the rule. We know the shot may be turned back on. We are familiar with those situations.

Do you really think an NCAA official is coming here to find that out for the first time? Do you think there are peculiar shot clock situations that aren't addressed in the pregame or in the preseason clinics? If an NCAA official is confused about a rule or interpretation and needs help, there are avenues in place for that, including directly contacting JD Collins.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sun Nov 28, 2021 10:22am

Not Synonymous ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045669)
"turned off" and "remains off" are not synonymous.

Agree.

BillyMac Sun Nov 28, 2021 10:31am

Not Meant To Be Educational ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1045670)
Do you really think an NCAA official is coming here to find that out for the first time?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1045662)
I'm sure that most of the knowledgeable college guys we see on the Forum already know about this shot clock rule contradiction, and know how to properly handle it ...

Was not meant to be educational in any way. Just thought that those with an interest in shot clock rules, especially since high school shot clocks will be coming to some states soon, with rules in one form or another, would be interested in this.

Also thought that those of you that work college games would have some interesting comments on this, which bob jenkins and Raymond did.

Based on comments by bob jenkins and Raymond, this appears not to be an NCAA (M or W) interpretation, it appears to be just an IAABO interpretation, and it seems to be wrong.

Another (usually rare) case of IAABO not staying in its lane and interpreting instead of teaching (as happened when they jumped the gun the last time the NFHS switched from hit to release on free throws).

Raymond Sun Nov 28, 2021 10:49am

The answer to the question was correct.

Shot clocks are set/reset to only 30 or 20 seconds, or shot clocks are left where they are. They are not turned back on and set to 26 seconds.



Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sun Nov 28, 2021 10:58am

Confused In Connecticut ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1045674)
The answer to the question was correct.

I thought that both bob jenkins and Raymond said to turn the shot clock back on?

... and the Shot Clock will be turned back on. True or false? The correct answer is False.

Wouldn't comments by bob jenkins and Raymond make this true, i.e., turn the shot clock back on.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045663)
... NCAAW ... the shot clock is turned off and then turned back on again.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1045670)
... (NCAA-M) ... the shot may be turned back on.


JRutledge Sun Nov 28, 2021 11:03am

Billy,

You spend more time trying to dissect the things you will never do or apply in your career or life. The rule is simple and those that apply them know how to do this or we would not be there. Or we will not be there very long. IJS.

Peace

Raymond Sun Nov 28, 2021 11:05am

Again: Shot clocks are set/reset to only 30 or 20 seconds, or shot clocks are left where they are. They are not turned back on and set to 26 seconds.

We (NCAA Officials) are not confused.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sun Nov 28, 2021 11:06am

26 Seconds ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1045674)
They are not turned back on and set to 26 seconds.

I don't see that stated in the situation given. It just says to turn the shot clock back on after being off. Wouldn't the shot clock have to be "on" to set it to 20 seconds?

bob jenkins Sun Nov 28, 2021 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1045673)

Based on comments by bob jenkins and Raymond, this appears not to be an NCAA (M or W) interpretation, it appears to be just an IAABO interpretation, and it seems to be wrong.

I won't speak for Raymond, but your interpretation of my comments is what is wrong.

I agree with the IAABO answer to the situation given

Raymond Sun Nov 28, 2021 11:17am

Again: We (NCAA Officials) are not confused.

The rule has been explained to you.

Go back and cobble together the written rules and the responses Bob and I provided.

Leave out the BillyMac assumptions and "reading into".

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1