The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Test Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10539-ncaa-test-question.html)

rockyroad Fri Oct 24, 2003 09:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins


#2 should also be Yes - reference Rule 3-4-14, AR13

I disagree -- 3-4.13 says that a bleeding player may return after a TO has been granted to his or her team. And AR14 gives an example of A being injured, B being granted a TO and A not being allowed to return. [/B][/QUOTE]

Bob, read AR 13 on page 54 again...the ruling states that when a time-out is granted to either team, one OR BOTH players are allowed to remain in the game - no bleeding and no saturated uniforms...the difference in the two situations appears to be the fact that AR 14 is dealing with a time-out called after the injured player from the other team has already been replaced...hmmm...seem to contradict each other, don't they???

bob jenkins Fri Oct 24, 2003 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins


#2 should also be Yes - reference Rule 3-4-14, AR13

I disagree -- 3-4.13 says that a bleeding player may return after a TO has been granted to his or her team. And AR14 gives an example of A being injured, B being granted a TO and A not being allowed to return.

Bob, read AR 13 on page 54 again...the ruling states that when a time-out is granted to either team, one OR BOTH players are allowed to remain in the game - no bleeding and no saturated uniforms...the difference in the two situations appears to be the fact that AR 14 is dealing with a time-out called after the injured player from the other team has already been replaced...hmmm...seem to contradict each other, don't they??? [/B][/QUOTE]

But in that AR, both injured players are from the SAME team -- so a TO by that team allows both to remain.

AR14 (the very next one! ;)) is the AR that indicates the team with the injured player must call the TO.

(gee -- I hope that's right -- I did it w/o the rules book).


rockyroad Fri Oct 24, 2003 07:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins





But in that AR, both injured players are from the SAME team -- so a TO by that team allows both to remain.

AR14 (the very next one! ;)) is the AR that indicates the team with the injured player must call the TO.

(gee -- I hope that's right -- I did it w/o the rules book).


You sir, are correct...hmmm...we were told that the answers we were given were the "official" answers from the NCAA office...makes one wonder why they haven't hired you to do their tests! Thanks for helping me out on those!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1