The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 07, 2021, 09:10am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,723
IAABO Survey Says

Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.

https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...uOQbJ3Gw%3D%3D

IAABO Play Commentary: Correct Answer: This is a blocking foul.

When guarding an opponent with the ball, If the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard must have obtained a legal position before the opponent left the floor. (4-23-4b) In this play, the defender, White #2, moved laterally into the path of Blue #12 after she became airborne to attempt the try. This is a blocking foul and an excellent ruling by the Center official.

The Center official does a very nice job of making a position adjustment in transition to find a way to view this play. There wasn't a great angle available to her, but she could get a good enough view to correctly rule on the play. The Lead official (not pictured until after the ruling was made) most likely had the best chance to get an open look to see between both the offensive and defensive players. When the Lead did not have a ruling, the Center came in and made the proper ruling.

However, the Center did not execute proper site of foul signaling. She does display the proper stop-the-clock signal and the counting goal signal. The counted goal signal was a bit emphatic. Officials should not get caught up in the emotion of a game and should signal in a manner which is calm, unhurried, and under control. (IAABO Manual p. 131) Officials should also step toward the offender, stop and verbalize the color and number of the player who committed the foul. (Manual p. 180 Section 7) The Center did not demonstrate the proper blocking signal (Manual p. 239), instead pounded her hips with clenched fists. When free throws are to be awarded as they were in this play, the ruling official should verbalize the color and the number of the player who was fouled. Then verbally and visually inform partners of the number of free throws. (Manual pgs. 180-181 Sections 9&10)

Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is a blocking foul 89% (including me). This is a player control foul 7%. This is incidental contact (no foul) 4%.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1