![]() |
Fun With Screens ...
Is this an illegal screen? Observe the play and make a judgment if there is an illegal screen set to free up the jump shooter.
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...s0WMxB6sPU.mp4 Two choices: This is an illegal screen. This is not an illegal screen My comment: This is an illegal screen. Black #33 took a step to her right and made illegal contact with defender White #11. |
However ...
Quote:
|
Probably a "Hey make sure you are set on your screens" from me
|
Contact allowing black to get an uncontested 3-point try. Illegal screen.
|
I'm not sure there was any contact that impeded the defender. It looks like she saw the screen and avoided it. At most, she touched the screen with her hands, but it was her own actions that rerouted her.
|
IAABO Survey Says …
Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...s0WMxB6sPU.mp4 IAABO International Play Commentary: Correct Answer: This is not an illegal screen. This is a challenging play. Black #33 in the high post attempts to set a screen on white #11 to help a teammate attempt a 3-point attempt. Black #33 initial screening stance is wider than shoulder-width, and is moving to her right when the defender is attempting to get under the screen to defend the try. The rule states, the screener must be stationary, except when both the screener and opponent are moving in the same path and the same direction. (4-40-2c) So, therefore, the fact that Black #33 is moving while attempting to screen makes this an illegal screening position. As we have discussed before, the severity of contact is not a factor in screening situations. If the screener is moving and contact occurs, which impedes the defender, it is a foul. So was there contact that illegally impeded the defender? In our humble opinion, the screener (despite being in an illegal position by moving while attempting to screen) did not cause contact that impeded the defender. However, it should be noted that this opinion is in the minority. 56% of respondents believe the screener did cause contact that impeded the defender and therefore have rules support to rule a team control foul on this play. Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is an illegal screen 57% (including me). This is not an illegal screen 43%. |
Nothing. I see no contact and certainly no displacement.
Peace |
Quote:
|
Contact? We Don't Need No Stinking Contact …
Quote:
"Moving screen". |
Quote:
Peace |
Too Much Space ...
Quote:
As officials we can often predict these situations from a mile away, and prepare to watch for illegal movement and, possibly, subsequent illegal contact. As a coach, I used to ask my players who didn't use screens properly, "Did you really want to lose your defender?". |
Quote:
|
Dancing Cheek To Cheek (Fred Astaire, 1935) ...
Quote:
That's Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. in the upper right hand photo, demonstrating his two hand set shot. https://lelands.com/images_items/item_35186_1.jpg |
I don't think the screener prevents the defender from doing what she wants to do, which is going under the screener.
I think if she contests over the top and there is even slight contact, then I'm far more apt to lean towards calling a foul. Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15pm. |