![]() |
|
|
|||
Backcourt violation?
A1 attempts an dunk, the dunk is unsuccessful, ball rebounds off back of rim towards midcourt where A2 catches ball with both feet off the ground where he lands his first foot in the front court and the second in the backcourt.
I post the rule here, the exception is only for jump ball, throw in and while on defense. ART. 3... During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt. |
|
|||
Backcourt ...
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.
Check. Check. Check. Check. Look both ways for an exception. None. Check. Liftoff.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 23, 2021 at 12:40pm. |
|
|||
I have no violation. The player secured control in the air and can land. Yes, the rule doesn't enumerate that exact scenario, but I believe that is what is intended by "defense"...a team that doesn't have the team control gets the team control.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Bang Bang Play ...
Quote:
On the other hand, on a written test ...
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Team control no longer existed once A1 releases the ball on the dunk attempt (a "try"), and team control was not established until A2, while in the air, caught the ball. If, as I read the OP, A2 then lands with both feet simultaneously, one foot in the front court and the other in the back court, both A2 and the ball have backcourt status, but the offense would not be "last to touch" in the front court while in team control (BillyMac's third factor), which ended on the try.
I don't see it as an exception, written or unwritten, but the application of the rule consistent with the intent and purpose of the rule. I would have no violation--but I would begin a 10-second count. |
|
|||
The old wording of the rule contained a phrase similar to “a player from a team not in control.” That wording permitted this play, however that part of the exception went away with the change to the text.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
backcourt violation | furlu55 | Basketball | 12 | Fri Feb 17, 2012 05:48pm |
Backcourt violation? | rawhi1 | Basketball | 8 | Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:17am |
Backcourt violation | cmhjordan23 | Basketball | 12 | Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:09pm |
Backcourt violation??? | UmpJM | Basketball | 1 | Wed Mar 01, 2006 12:15pm |
Backcourt Violation | Bizket786 | Basketball | 2 | Fri Feb 25, 2005 11:29am |