![]() |
Illegal Kick ...
Quote:
|
Jump Ball Illegal Catch ...
Quote:
Quote:
No more lose the ball and lose the arrow like in the good old days. |
Quote:
What you can contend under the present wording is that the player who catches the ball while having one foot out of bounds is not holding a live ball. He is holding a dead ball because the ball immediately became dead the instant that it touched this player. Therefore, there is no player or team control established during this play and we must wait until the ball is placed at the disposal of an opposing player for the ensuing throw-in to set the AP arrow. Quote:
|
Quote:
Agree on both counts. |
Quote:
|
Mutilated ...
Quote:
Quote:
Great explanation, interpretation, word choice, and history lesson by Nevadaref. I'm sticking with my original answer, and everybody else's answer, that the official in the exam question was incorrect. Thanks guys. |
Thanks ...
Quote:
Quote:
I submitted my exam and got 98/100 (100 combined rules and mechanics questions), my best score in years, maybe ever, probably because I've had nothing else to do in my secret underground COVID bomb shelter other than research and double check all 100 exam questions. I won't find out which two questions I missed for a few weeks. If they are of any interest, I'll share them with you when I know (I probably just misread something, which would be of no interest to all of you). I bet one of the missed questions was the disallowing a goal due to basket interference from the reporting area question, that I said was correct. I probably should have listened to SC Official. https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.a...=0&w=172&h=171 |
Fun With A Delay Of Game ...
This was one of the toughest questions on the Refresher Exam based on the number of incorrect answers:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...it?usp=sharing While the answer (the official was incorrect) was correct, the interpretation/citation was incorrect. Who wants to play? |
Quote:
|
Two Wrongs Don't Make A Right ...
Quote:
|
Five Most Missed Questions ...
Quote:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...it?usp=sharing |
Citations ...
Quote:
Quote:
10-4-5-C: Player Technical Foul: A player shall not: Delay the game by acts such as: The free thrower fails to be in the free-throw semicircle when the official is ready to administer the free throw unless the resumption-of-play procedure is in effect following a time-out or intermission. 4-47: A warning to a team for delay is an administrative procedure by an official which is recorded in the scorebook by the scorer and reported to the head coach: ART. 1 For throw-in plane violations, as in 9-2-10, 10-2-1c. ART. 2 For huddle by either team and contact with the free thrower, as in 10-2-1d. ART. 3 For interfering with the ball following a goal as in 10-2-1e. ART. 4 For failure to have the court ready for play following any timeout as in 10-2-1f. 10-2-1: Team Technical Foul: A team shall not: Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts: b. Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations. c. Commit a violation of the throw-in boundary-line plane, as in 9-2-10, after any team warning for delay. d. Contact with the free thrower or a huddle of two or more players in the lane by either team prior to a free throw following any team warning for delay. e. Interfering with the ball following a goal after any team warning for delay. f. Not having the court ready for play following any time-out after any team warning for delay. 8-1-2: Following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play procedure may be used to prevent delay. The administering official will sound the whistle to indicate play will resume. The ball must be placed at the disposal of the thrower or placed on the floor at the free-throw line and the count must begin. Either or both teams may be charged with a violation. Following a violation by one or both teams, if the offending team(s) continues to delay, a team technical foul must be ruled. |
Backcourt ...
Quote:
Quote:
61. A-l is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the division line when B-1 bats the ball into the air. A-l jumps from his frontcourt and catches the ball while in the air. A-1 then lands in the backcourt. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct? 61. No 4-12-3, 4-35-3, 4-4-2, 9-9-1 The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt. My second incorrect answer was an IAABO mechanics question. |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33pm. |