The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 04, 2000, 02:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 22
Team A has the throw-in, A1 throws the ball to A2 who is standing in the FC. A2 deflects the ball into the BC, as in never actually had control, just mis timed his catch. A2 then goes and collects the ball in the BC. I called a BC as A2 caused the ball to go into the BC and then got it.

My reasoning is this, A2 caused the ball to have FC status by touching the ball in the FC, then when he collected the ball in the BC it became a BC violation, even though he never had established "player control".

Please give me your thoughts.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 04, 2000, 11:53am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by fshrake
Team A has the throw-in, A1 throws the ball to A2 who is standing in the FC. A2 deflects the ball into the BC, as in never actually had control, just mis timed his catch. A2 then goes and collects the ball in the BC. I called a BC as A2 caused the ball to go into the BC and then got it.

My reasoning is this, A2 caused the ball to have FC status by touching the ball in the FC, then when he collected the ball in the BC it became a BC violation, even though he never had established "player control".

Please give me your thoughts.
fshrake,
Take a look at Mark Padgett's 4-point OB scenario (backcourt- Ralph Stubenthal)
In your case, you did not have the initial requirement of team control, because, although A2 had FC status, he was not holding or dribbling inbounds, and thus did not have Player control. Since he was the first to touch, there, also, was no team control, until he collected the ball in the backcourt.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 04, 2000, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
mick is correct. Since team control was never established, you can't have a BC violation. Since team control is listed under the first of the four requirements, you need not go any further.

No team control, no BC violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1