The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Oct 21, 2003, 12:44am
Official Forum Member

My biggest struggle (as a first year referee preparing to take the test) is gaining familiarity with all the terms that, as a player and coach, I didn't have to deal with in such precise manners.

Is there a site that gives definitions and explanations to such advanced terms as "throw-in", "dead ball", or "free throw"? ;-)

For example, I mean when an event begins and when it ends, such as a "throw-in".

Thanks,
Eric
Old Tue Oct 21, 2003, 05:37am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Eric,

I don't mean to be sarcastic or snide, but those terms are all very well defined in the rulebook itself. You'll also find precise explanations of when the throw-in or jump ball begins and ends, and when the ball is live or dead.

If you don't have a FED rulebook, then your best bet is to go to a sporting goods store and buy one. That will be your biggest help.

Your second biggest help will be to come to this forum and post questions about specific issues that are giving you a hard time.

To answer your question directly, I don't know of any site online that provides definitions of terms (for HS) as you describe.

Best of luck on the upcoming test.
Old Tue Oct 21, 2003, 05:56am
Official Forum Member

I am not sure what preparation you have had, but the book is obviously the best place to start, with Section 4 having Definitions. However, I found the book very confusing until I read a lot on this board and saw how it all fits together. Now it is generally much clearer to me. If you haven't had a class, you will need to do what you can reading the book and ask questions about situations that you aren't positive about after reading the book.