The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Odd Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104967-odd-play.html)

kzooref Mon Feb 03, 2020 06:46am

Odd Play
 
Team B scored a field goal. Team A inbounds the ball. Team B is screaming for a time out but it's not granted. Team A throws the ball to the official. Who's inbounds. They catch the ball and call a ref meeting. What's the next step?

SC Official Mon Feb 03, 2020 07:22am

The official is part of the floor. A ball that touches an official inbounds remains live.

If Team B requested the timeout after the ball was already at A's disposal following the made goal, it was correctly not granted.

Nevadaref Mon Feb 03, 2020 07:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kzooref (Post 1037318)
Team B scored a field goal. Team A inbounds the ball. Team B is screaming for a time out but it's not granted. Team A throws the ball to the official. Who's inbounds. They catch the ball and call a ref meeting. What's the next step?

If the official stopped play after catching the ball while inbounds, the game would be resumed at the point of interruption. Since Team A still had team control, that means a throw-in for Team A at the nearest out of bounds spot.
While the ball is dead, the officials might as well ask Team B if they still want the time-out, which could now be granted before resuming play.

bob jenkins Mon Feb 03, 2020 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1037322)
If the official stopped play after catching the ball while inbounds, the game would be resumed at the point of interruption. Since Team A still had team control, that means a throw-in for Team A at the nearest out of bounds spot.
While the ball is dead, the officials might as well ask Team B if they still want the time-out, which could now be granted before resuming play.

Wouldn't the POI be the original throw-in (since it never ended)?

Raymond Mon Feb 03, 2020 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1037322)
If the official stopped play after catching the ball while inbounds, the game would be resumed at the point of interruption. Since Team A still had team control, that means a throw-in for Team A at the nearest out of bounds spot.
While the ball is dead, the officials might as well ask Team B if they still want the time-out, which could now be granted before resuming play.

POI would be Team A's throw-in, which had not yet ended, not team control by Team A.

Nevadaref Mon Feb 03, 2020 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1037323)
Wouldn't the POI be the original throw-in (since it never ended)?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1037324)
POI would be Team A's throw-in, which had not yet ended, not team control by Team A.

I read the OP’s statement “Team A inbounds the ball” as the throw-in being completed. I understand how you could interpret it as the throw-in was still in progress, but if that were the case then better wording would have been, “Team A is inbounding the ball.”

We will have to let him clarify.

thumpferee Mon Feb 03, 2020 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1037325)
I read the OP’s statement “Team A inbounds the ball” as the throw-in being completed. I understand how you could interpret it as the throw-in was still in progress, but if that were the case then better wording would have been, “Team A is inbounding the ball.”

We will have to let him clarify.

Agree.

Sounds like A1 threw it into A2, hearing the TO, was confused and threw the ball to the ref who caught the ball.

billyu2 Mon Feb 03, 2020 10:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by thumpferee (Post 1037329)
Agree.

Sounds like A1 threw it into A2, hearing the TO, was confused and threw the ball to the ref who caught the ball.

That's the way I understood the play as well.

Raymond Tue Feb 04, 2020 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kzooref (Post 1037318)
Team B scored a field goal. Team A inbounds the ball. Team B is screaming for a time out but it's not granted. Team A throws the ball to the official. Who's inbounds. They catch the ball and call a ref meeting. What's the next step?

Great Kazoo, we need you to please clarify your play. Did the player throwing in the ball throw it to the official, or did a player inbounds throw the ball to the official?

bob jenkins Tue Feb 04, 2020 09:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1037381)
Great Kazoo, we need you to please clarify your play.

Not really, imo, because both possibilities have been answered..

*IF* the ball was inbounded and then thrown to the official --POI is where the official caught the ball.

*IF* the inbounder threw the ball to the official -- POI is the original throw-in.

Camron Rust Tue Feb 04, 2020 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1037383)
Not really, imo, because both possibilities have been answered..

*IF* the ball was inbounded and then thrown to the official --POI is where the official caught the ball.

*IF* the inbounder threw the ball to the official -- POI is the original throw-in.

And either way, team A gets the ball and, in all likelihood, it is on the endline if the ball was thrown to the old lead (new trail).

thumpferee Tue Feb 04, 2020 01:26pm

Would you grant the TO in both?

Raymond Tue Feb 04, 2020 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by thumpferee (Post 1037392)
Would you grant the TO in both?

Team B could re-request the time out at that point.

Altor Tue Feb 04, 2020 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1037389)
And either way, team A gets the ball and, in all likelihood, it is on the endline if the ball was thrown to the old lead (new trail).

One difference would be that in one case, I'd think running the endline would be allowed whereas the other would be a "spot."

BillyMac Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:16am

Funny ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1037381)
Great Kazoo

I'm pretty sure that this humor was lost for many Forum members. One has to be of a certain age to appreciate this.

https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.Y...=0&w=180&h=162

Camron Rust Wed Feb 05, 2020 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 1037401)
One difference would be that in one case, I'd think running the endline would be allowed whereas the other would be a "spot."

Agree.

Rich1 Fri Feb 07, 2020 12:42pm

Inadvertent Whistle
 
The throw-in ends when: a. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player in-bounds. b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out-of-bounds. except as in 7-5-7. c. The throw-in team commits a violation.

Either way its an inadvertent whistle and as mentioned before the ball belongs to Team A and the only question to decide is if they can run the line or is it a spot throw in depending on how you interpret the original post.

griblets Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1037389)
And either way, team A gets the ball and, in all likelihood, it is on the endline if the ball was thrown to the old lead (new trail).

What about the location of the official? If the official was standing OOB, the ball would be OOB and the POI would be thrown-in for B, either at the original spot if the throw-in had not ended, or the spot where it touched the official OOB if the thrown-in had ended.

Camron Rust Wed Feb 12, 2020 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by griblets (Post 1037533)
What about the location of the official? If the official was standing OOB, the ball would be OOB and the POI would be thrown-in for B, either at the original spot if the throw-in had not ended, or the spot where it touched the official OOB if the thrown-in had ended.

The OP said the official was inbounds.

griblets Wed Feb 12, 2020 01:40pm

Yes, I saw it right after I posted, then deleted. [emoji849]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1