The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What options does a coach have? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104930-what-options-does-coach-have.html)

Altor Mon Jan 20, 2020 04:20pm

What options does a coach have?
 
Three errors on team-control fouls (well, two errors and a near-error), two different nights. What options does a coach have to get a crew to stop for a second and think things through?

1. A1 has the ball in the backcourt in transition. A2 fouls B3 in the backcourt. Officials line up for a 1-and-1. Coach A gets T's attention and says "Team control" while a couple of assistants give the player-control signal with their hand behind their head. T looks at the bench briefly then goes back to watching the free throws. B3 makes both free throws. Coach A says something to T (now L) again as they come up the floor. He blows the whistle and says "Yes, we're going to talk about it." In the end, they wipe off the free throws and give the ball to B at the designated spot nearest the foul.

The next week:
2. Near the end of the half, A11 fouls B12 while trying to get an offensive rebound. The table signals the 1-and-1 and the official shakes them off. The bench asks for the 1-and-1 and he's told it doesn't apply. They continue with the throw in and the half ends a minute later with a couple baskets made in the meantime. The officials meet at midcourt and have an extended discussion, then go over to the scorer and continue their discussion with her. I wasn't privy, but I got to believe they realized their mistake now that it was too late.

And I believe this because:
3. In 4Q, B23 fouls A24 away from the ball on the offensive end (Team B had control). The non-calling officials walk down to the other end with the ball and start to line up for free throws. The calling official (who was the one who shook off the 1-and-1 in the first half) starts to join them, but then realizes his mistake and clearly says to Coach B "This was definitely a team control foul" and brings the ball back for a throw-in.

So what can a coach do if he knows a mistake is being made, especially on something like free throws to get the crew to slow down and think about things? I put a few search terms in the NFHS online rulebook to see if he could call a time-out for a rules review like in football, and I don't see it.

johnny d Mon Jan 20, 2020 04:56pm

Nothing. Hope he gets better officials in the future.

BillyMac Mon Jan 20, 2020 05:05pm

Correctable Error, Timing, Scoring, Alternating Possession Mistake ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 1036900)
So what can a coach do if he knows a mistake is being made, especially on something like free throws to get the crew to slow down and think about things?

5-8-4: Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an
official: Responds to the scorer’s signal to grant a coach’s request that a
correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timing, scoring or alternating-possession
mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official shall be
presented at the scorer’s table where a coach of each team may be present.

5-11-4: Only one 60-second time-out is charged (or one 30-second
time-out, if that is the only type of time-out remaining) in 5-8-4 regardless
of the amount of time consumed when no correction is made.
EXCEPTION: No time-out is charged: If, in 5-8-4, the error or mistake is prevented or rectified.


5.8.4 SITUATION A: The appeal of the coach of Team A to an official, made while the ball is dead and the clock is stopped, is made when it is too late for correction of an error. RULING: Following the conference, the 60-second time-out remains charged to Team A and they are given the privilege of utilizing whatever time remains. The official will terminate the discussion with the coach immediately upon making a decision. If the discussion takes more than one minute, only one 60-second time-out is charged. (2-10-2; 5-11-4)

5.8.4 SITUATION B: The head coach from Team A requests a 60-second time-out to rectify a timing error. The referee grants the time-out to investigate the matter, but determines that no correction can be made. The scorer then informs the referee that Team A cannot be charged a 60-second time-out as they only have one 30-second time-out remaining. RULING: Since they have no 60-second time-outs remaining and there was no timing correction made, Team A will be charged their remaining 30-second time-out regardless of the amount of time consumed. (5-11-4)


2-10: Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set
aside and results in:
a. Failure to award a merited free throw.
b. Awarding an unmerited free throw.
c. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw.
d. Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket.
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.
ART. 2 In order to correct any of the officials’ errors listed in Article
1, such error must be recognized by an official no later than during the first
dead ball after the clock has properly started.
ART. 3 If in Article 1e the error is made while the clock is running and
the ball dead, it must be recognized by an official before the second live
ball.

BillyMac Mon Jan 20, 2020 05:13pm

Team Control Foul ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 1036900)
... errors on team-control fouls ... couple of assistants give the player-control signal with their hand behind their head.

Wrong signal. It wasn't a player control foul. It was a team control foul and the assistants should have been giving a team control foul signal.

https://image.slidesharecdn.com/1337...?cb=1411779680

Of course, the officials may not have spotted them anyway, they're supposed to be sitting down.

SNIPERBBB Mon Jan 20, 2020 07:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1036903)
Wrong signal. It wasn't a player control foul. It was a team control foul and the assistants should have been giving a team control foul signal.

https://image.slidesharecdn.com/1337...?cb=1411779680

Of course, the officials may not have spotted them anyway, they're supposed to be sitting down.

You'd be wrong here in Ohio. PC and TC signal is arm behind the head here.

bob jenkins Mon Jan 20, 2020 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 1036900)

So what can a coach do if he knows a mistake is being made, especially on something like free throws to get the crew to slow down and think about things? I put a few search terms in the NFHS online rulebook to see if he could call a time-out for a rules review like in football, and I don't see it.

Use rule book terminology - and be specific. "That's a Team Control foul (you said that) and they shouldn't be shooting FTs. You will have a correctable error if you continue."

crosscountry55 Mon Jan 20, 2020 10:36pm

What options does a coach have?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 1036900)
1. A1 has the ball in the backcourt in transition. A2 fouls B3 in the backcourt. Officials line up for a 1-and-1. Coach A gets T's attention and says "Team control" while a couple of assistants give the player-control signal with their hand behind their head. T looks at the bench briefly then goes back to watching the free throws. B3 makes both free throws. Coach A says something to T (now L) again as they come up the floor. He blows the whistle and says "Yes, we're going to talk about it." In the end, they wipe off the free throws and give the ball to B at the designated spot nearest the foul.


So close. At that point, should have been at the point of interruption to correct the error, not the designated spot nearest the foul.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Raymond Tue Jan 21, 2020 08:27am

Well, so much for that nonsensical philosophy that coaches should ensure CE situations don't occur, otherwise they deserve getting the short end of the stick the CE rules are applied.

SNIPERBBB Tue Jan 21, 2020 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1036917)
Well, so much for that nonsensical philosophy that coaches should ensure CE situations don't occur, otherwise they deserve getting the short end of the stick the CE rules are applied.

Where did that come from? I've never heard of that before.

Raymond Tue Jan 21, 2020 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1036921)
Where did that come from? I've never heard of that before.

A theme in this forum from conversations all the way back to when I joined this group. Folks reason that CE rules are written a certain way is to ensure coaches are honest and point out the error to the officials and if they don't it's their fault when they get the short end of the stick (i.e.: team gets free throws they aren't entitled to, CE is recognized while other team is in possession, their free throws get wiped off, and POI is a throw-in for the opposing team, so the team that got foul essentially loses both points and possession).

bob jenkins Tue Jan 21, 2020 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1036922)
A theme in this forum from conversations all the way back to when I joined this group. Folks reason that CE rules are written a certain way is to ensure coaches are honest and point out the error to the officials and if they don't it's their fault when they get the short end of the stick (i.e.: team gets free throws they aren't entitled to, CE is recognized while other team is in possession, their free throws get wiped off, and POI is a throw-in for the opposing team, so the team that got foul essentially loses both points and possession).

Whether that's a *reason* or not, it is an *effect*, and, in my view, a good one.

Raymond Tue Jan 21, 2020 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1036924)
Whether that's a *reason* or not, it is an *effect*, and, in my view, a good one.

A lot of good it did in the OP. It's always been a cop out, IMO, so officials can blame others when a team gets screwed out of possession.

Altor Tue Jan 21, 2020 11:30am

Billy: Thanks for the rules citations. I don't know how I missed them. So it would have been possible for the coach to call a timeout to slow the crew down. He just risks them still not agreeing with him and losing the timeout.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1036903)
Wrong signal. It wasn't a player control foul. It was a team control foul and the assistants should have been giving a team control foul signal.

Somebody mentioned that Ohio doesn't use the book signals for this, and it was in Ohio. Note that the head coach did properly use the phrase "team control." I was using those phrases to describe what I saw as best I could using rule book terminology.

Quote:

Of course, the officials may not have spotted them anyway, they're supposed to be sitting down.
They were.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 21, 2020 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1036928)
A lot of good it did in the OP. It's always been a cop out, IMO, so officials can blame others when a team gets screwed out of possession.

If officials blame others for missing this, then I agree. If officials thank others for pointing it out and preventing a CF, then I disagree.

My experience has been the latter.

BillyMac Tue Jan 21, 2020 11:38am

Risk ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 1036933)
So it would have been possible for the coach to call a timeout to slow the crew down. He just risks them still not agreeing with him and losing the timeout.

Bingo.

https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.Q...=0&w=300&h=300

Camron Rust Tue Jan 21, 2020 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1036928)
A lot of good it did in the OP. It's always been a cop out, IMO, so officials can blame others when a team gets screwed out of possession.

Well, the errors in this situation are misapplication of the rules directly by the officials. That isn't the kind of situation I've ever referred to.

My prior point on having the rules such that it motivates a team to point out the error are based on a scorekeeping error providing the officials with an incorrect foul count.

When the officials simply screw it up, not much can be said about that.

SNIPERBBB Tue Jan 21, 2020 01:47pm

Yep, on a rule issue you are up a creek. Especially in a no-protest state as Ohio is. Hopefully we never get to the point where we have to rule books in our pocket or at the table like football or baseball and softball had gotten to. Though I'm sure we've all had cases where we'd love to show coaches the rule book.

BillyMac Wed Jan 22, 2020 11:11am

Correctable Errors ...
 
I'm having trouble following some of the debate in this thread, but I will say this about correctable errors. Forty years ago, when I was taking classes preparing for the written rules exam, we were told to know the correctable error rule up, down, backward, forward, and sideways; that it would definitely be on the exam, and would probably be one of the most difficult questions on the exam.

Is it a perfect rule? Is it easy to follow? Should the list of correctable errors be expanded, or more limited? Should the time window be expanded, or more limited? Should the time limit be easier to understand, especially in regard to change of possession? How about do-overs? Should correctable errors be more like "bookkeeping errors" with the ability to be corrected at any time (with definite knowledge) in the officials' jurisdiction? Can there be too many correctable errors?

And most importantly, is it fair?

Bottom line, the correctable error rule, warts and all, has been around for a long time, and in my forty years there has been no major change in the rule.

Some might not think so, but it appears that the NFHS likes the rule, or at least tolerates it, as it is presently written.

https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.C...=0&w=300&h=300

SNIPERBBB Wed Jan 22, 2020 12:59pm

I do not think extending the time limit is practical as scorers will have to keep more detailed records and officials would have to have better memories.

rockyroad Wed Jan 22, 2020 01:05pm

As an official turned into a coach (the dark side had cookies), all I can do is ask/question what is going on. I have had situations free throws were going to be awarded on a TC foul, or not awarded when it was not a TC foul. All I can do is get the attention of the nearest official and ask the "right" question - "Hey Bill! Wasn't that a Team Control foul? Should they be shooting?" At that point its in their control...I would like to say that on the few occasions where they have continued on and shot/not shot, I have made no snotty comments...I would like to say that, but not sure I can truthfully say that.

BillyMac Wed Jan 22, 2020 02:28pm

Do You Remember (September, Earth, Wind, And Fire, 1978)...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1036967)
I do not think extending the time limit is practical as scorers will have to keep more detailed records and officials would have to have better memories.

Playing Devil's advocate, the time limit is fully extended (corrected at any time in the officials' jurisdiction) for "bookkeeping errors".

Visiting score keeper at the end of an apparent one point loss before the officials leave the court:"Hey. There was only one successful three pointer in the entire game, by the visiting team, back in the first period, both of you signaled the three, but the home scorekeeper only marked it as two points. Remember?".

SNIPERBBB Wed Jan 22, 2020 07:58pm

Thats why we have the books checked at halftime before going into the locker room and in the last minutes/seconds of the fourth if the game is close. If it would happen, all the parent scorekeepers in the crowd would of been having conniption fits two seconds after the goal was miscredited.

crosscountry55 Wed Jan 22, 2020 10:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1036991)
If it would happen, all the parent scorekeepers in the crowd would of been having conniption fits two seconds after the goal was miscredited.


This. It’s why I never really worry about bookkeeping errors that involve the score. Help is all around me. Fouls? Not so much. Gotta pay close attention to the team foul count, and sometimes team member foul counts, too (the home scorer can be sneaky at times). But the score? Nope.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Thu Jan 23, 2020 08:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1036993)
This. It’s why I never really worry about bookkeeping errors that involve the score. Help is all around me.

I have had a game where the visible scoreboard indicated a tie after 4 quarters. About 30 seconds into OT, the table buzzed and the scorer indicated the game hadn't actually been tied.

Yes, we adjudicated it correctly.

BillyMac Thu Jan 23, 2020 10:44am

A Truly Rare Bird ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1036998)
I have had a game where the visible scoreboard indicated a tie after 4 quarters. About 30 seconds into OT, the table buzzed and the scorer indicated the game hadn't actually been tied.

I wonder how many officials have had such a situation and ruled correctly?

5-7-4: Once the ball becomes live in the extra period, it will be
played even though a correction in the fourth quarter score is made.

5.7.4 SITUATION: The score is tied at the end of regulation time. During the overtime period, the official scorer informs the referee that Team A had an additional point in the fourth quarter that was not counted. In (a), the referee reviews the scorebook and recognizes where a point was not properly credited to Team A; or (b) the referee does not have definite knowledge that a point was not credited to Team A. RULING: In (a), the referee adds a point to Team A's score. In (b), the referee does not add a point to Team A's score. In either case, the referee continues the overtime period to completion. (2-11-11)

BryanV21 Thu Jan 23, 2020 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1036903)
Wrong signal. It wasn't a player control foul. It was a team control foul and the assistants should have been giving a team control foul signal.

https://image.slidesharecdn.com/1337...?cb=1411779680

Of course, the officials may not have spotted them anyway, they're supposed to be sitting down.

Not in central Ohio. We give the player control signal on all offensive fouls. It's used as a way to communicate that they're are no free throws.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Thu Jan 23, 2020 07:15pm

The Buckeye State ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1036909)
You'd be wrong here in Ohio. PC and TC signal is arm behind the head here.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1037048)
Not in central Ohio. We give the player control signal on all offensive fouls. It's used as a way to communicate that they're are no free throws.

Man, you Ohio guys are really serious about your signals.

Still waiting for Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. to chime in. I bet he can't wait to yank my chain.

BryanV21 Thu Jan 23, 2020 07:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1037050)
Man, you Ohio guys are really serious about your signals.

Still waiting for Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. to chime in. I bet he can't wait to yank my chain.

We're the best! Lol

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

Camron Rust Thu Jan 23, 2020 07:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1037048)
Not in central Ohio. We give the player control signal on all offensive fouls. It's used as a way to communicate that they're are no free throws.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

In Oregon, we authorize the team control signal for pc fouls.

At one time, there was a reason to have different signals. Now, they are treated exactly the same so there is no good reason to have two signals. The only difference is that one is committed by the player with the ball and that difference is entirely irrelevant.

We chose the TC signal because it is a much better signal in almost every way.

BillyMac Fri Jan 24, 2020 09:11am

Lack Of Consistency ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1037053)
We chose the TC signal because it is a much better signal in almost every way.

We have about 325 guys on our local board and also have about 325 different player control foul signals.

BillyMac Fri Jan 24, 2020 09:23am

Team Control Fouls ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1037053)
At one time, there was a reason to have different signals. Now, they are treated exactly the same so there is no good reason to have two signals.

I'm not sure that I follow? I can't speak in regard to NFHS, but IAABO only added the team control foul signal when the NFHS decided not to shoot fouls committed by a team in control. I don't believe that there was a team control foul signal before then (not needed in the rules penalties, i.e., illegal screen, give the blocking foul signal and shoot the free throws if in the bonus). I believe the only change since then has been to add team control to throwins (only for foul purposes).

What was the reason for two different signals, and how were these two fouls treated differently back then (after the rule change (don't shoot)) as opposed to now?

Before the rule change (don't shoot) I don't believe that there was a team control foul signal (not needed in the rules penalties).

BillyMac Fri Jan 24, 2020 10:05am

Are Two Signals Really Needed ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1037053)
... they are treated exactly the same so there is no good reason to have two signals. The only difference is that one is committed by the player with the ball and that difference is entirely irrelevant.

I agree with Camron Rust, but are there any Forum members smarter than me (that's almost all Forum members) who can come up with a situation where there is an actual need for two different signals (penalties, blarge, continuous motion, live ball/dead ball, airborne shooters, counting baskets, etc.)?

This is not a fun quiz, I actually can't think of such a situation.

Can we eliminate the player control foul signal without any unintended consequences?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1037065)
We have about 325 guys on our local board and also have about 325 different player control foul signals.


BryanV21 Fri Jan 24, 2020 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1037071)
I agree with Camron Rust, but are there any Forum members smarter than me (that's almost all Forum members) who can come up with a situation where there is an actual need for two different signals (penalties, live ball/dead ball, counting baskets, etc.)?



This is not a fun quiz, I actually can't think of such a situation.

Some table personnel aren't very bright and/or observant. Does the team control signal sometimes simply look like the official is pointing the other way?

*shrugs*

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

Rich1 Fri Jan 24, 2020 11:19am

Not a real reason
 
The only thing I can come up with is that player control cancels the shot but team control does not. Not sure why you would need an extra signal -- just waive it off as you report...

On a side note: Many officials in our area (especially vets/college guys) tend to just use the punch for both at the spot and only put the hand behind the head when they report. Of course, they are quick to chastise the newbies when they do the same -- do as I say not as I do!

BillyMac Fri Jan 24, 2020 11:30am

Dead As A Doornail ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 1037075)
The only thing I can come up with is that player control cancels the shot but team control does not ...

A team control foul doesn't cancel the shot? Are you sure?

There is no exception (ball does not become dead until the try ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor) for Article 4: The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when: A player-control or team-control foul occurs.

Exceptions (ball does not become dead until the try ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor) are only made for articles 5, 6, 7, and 9.

6-7: The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:
ART. 1 A goal, as in 5-1, is made.
ART. 2 It is apparent the free throw will not be successful on a:
a. Free throw which is to be followed by another free throw.
b. Free throw which is to be followed by a throw-in.
ART. 3 A held ball occurs, or the ball lodges between the backboard
and ring or comes to rest on the flange.
ART. 4 A player-control or team-control foul occurs.
ART. 5 An official’s whistle is blown (see exceptions a and b below).
ART. 6 Time expires for a quarter or extra period (see exception a
below).
ART. 7 A foul, other than player-control or team-control, occurs (see
exceptions a, b and c below).
ART. 8 A free-throw violation by the throwing team, as in 9-1, occurs.
ART. 9 A violation, as in 9-2 through 13, occurs (see exception d
below).
EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or
until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in
flight.
b. Article 5 or 7 occurs while a try for a free throw is in flight.
c. Article 7 occurs by any opponent of a player who has started a try
or tap for goal (is in the act of shooting) before the foul occurred,
provided time did not expire before the ball was in flight. The trying
motion must be continuous and begins after the ball comes to rest in
the player’s hand(s) on a try or touches the hand(s) on a tap, and is
completed when the ball is clearly in flight. The trying motion may
include arm, foot or body movements used by the player when
throwing the ball at his/her basket.
d. Article 9 as in 9-3-3 or 9-13-1, occurs by an opponent.


https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.X...=0&w=233&h=164

Altor Wed Feb 19, 2020 02:38pm

So I got another one, and I'm curious how you all would have handled it.

A1 commits a common foul on B1 for team A's 9th foul of the half. The official reports the foul and signals for 2 shots. As he heads opposite table, he signals 2 shots to his partner. When he turns around, the table tries to get his attention that it should be 1-and-1. Partner tells the players 2 shots and bounces the ball to the shooter. Now, the timer is hitting the horn to stop the action, but nobody blows their whistle. B1 takes the shot and misses it. As expected nobody plays the rebound and the ball is given back to L who then looks at what the table wants and discovers the error.

JRutledge Wed Feb 19, 2020 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 1037716)
So I got another one, and I'm curious how you all would have handled it.

A1 commits a common foul on B1 for team A's 9th foul of the half. The official reports the foul and signals for 2 shots. As he heads opposite table, he signals 2 shots to his partner. When he turns around, the table tries to get his attention that it should be 1-and-1. Partner tells the players 2 shots and bounces the ball to the shooter. Now, the timer is hitting the horn to stop the action, but nobody blows their whistle. B1 takes the shot and misses it. As expected nobody plays the rebound and the ball is given back to L who then looks at what the table wants and discovers the error.

Honestly, it depends. If the officials feel the entire process was altered by the horn, they could say the shot does not count. If they feel nothing was disrupted, then you could go to the AP arrow because of the inaction of the players. I really do not see another way then these two options. This is why we slow down on FTs to make sure we are doing the right thing.

Peace

Raymond Wed Feb 19, 2020 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 1037716)
So I got another one, and I'm curious how you all would have handled it.

A1 commits a common foul on B1 for team A's 9th foul of the half. The official reports the foul and signals for 2 shots. As he heads opposite table, he signals 2 shots to his partner. When he turns around, the table tries to get his attention that it should be 1-and-1. Partner tells the players 2 shots and bounces the ball to the shooter. Now, the timer is hitting the horn to stop the action, but nobody blows their whistle. B1 takes the shot and misses it. As expected nobody plays the rebound and the ball is given back to L who then looks at what the table wants and discovers the error.

That's just poor officiating and game awareness. If the table is hitting the horn prior to us administering a free throw in my game, we are going to stop what we are doing and see what's up.

When I'm crew chief, I explicitly tell the table not to let us do something we're not supposed to be doing (throw-in instead of free throw and vice versa or wrong number of shots).

Remedy for your play is obviously the AP arrow.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 19, 2020 03:03pm

There's a case play on this, without the table horn. If "no one" reacts, go to the arrow. If "everyone" reacts, play on (or give the ball to whoever got the rebound, if play is then stopped)

Altor Wed Feb 19, 2020 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1037719)
There's a case play on this, without the table horn. If "no one" reacts, go to the arrow. If "everyone" reacts, play on (or give the ball to whoever got the rebound, if play is then stopped)

This is what I was expecting. I suspect they had JRutledge's thought that the horn was a problem because they re-administered as a 1-and-1.

Altor Wed Feb 19, 2020 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1037717)
This is why we slow down on FTs to make sure we are doing the right thing.

Which is really my overall point with this thread. We all get in a rush and make mistakes. Sometimes I just get on a roll in what I'm doing and overlook obvious errors. Sometimes, we just need to slow down and pay better attention.

BillyMac Wed Feb 19, 2020 04:59pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1037719)
There's a case play on this, without the table horn. If "no one" reacts, go to the arrow. If "everyone" reacts, play on (or give the ball to whoever got the rebound, if play is then stopped)

8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two free throws will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed free throw is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be ruled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3; 2-10)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1