The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2000, 07:19pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by Ralph Stubenthal
I think 1 more situation should be mentioned. A1 is dribbling in backcourt towards frontcourt. We all know that to gain frontcourt status he must cross the line with both feet and the ball. But, what if he is stopped by a guard at the division line? If his pivot foot remains in backcourt, he can touch frontcourt and then go back to backcourt with his non-pivot foot without penalty. But, if his pivot foot is in frontcourt and his non-pivot foot is in backcourt, once the non-pivot foot goes to frontcourt it must remain there because if the non-pivot foot returns to backcourt---violation. Does everyone agree with this?
Ralph,
Your wording could read "...once the (BC) non-pivot foot is lifted ,it may not be returned to the backcourt without violating. (Holding the ball is assumed)
mick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1