The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   When Do They Travel ??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104894-when-do-they-travel.html)

BillyMac Fri Jan 03, 2020 06:34pm

When Do They Travel ???
 
A5 and A6 simultaneously come down with a rebound, both holding the ball, with all four feet stationary on the floor.

While both are holding the ball, what can they legally do without traveling?

1) A5 and A6 simultaneously come down with a rebound, both holding the ball, with all four feet stationary on the floor?

2) A5 and A6 simultaneously come down with a rebound, both holding the ball. A5 keeps both feet stationary, and A6 sets a pivot foot that remains stationary while moving the other nonpivot foot?

3) A5 and A6 simultaneously come down with a rebound, both holding the ball. A6 keeps both feet stationary, and A5 sets a pivot foot that remains stationary while moving the other nonpivot foot?

4) A5 and A6 simultaneously come down with a rebound, both holding the ball. A5 sets a pivot foot that remains stationary while moving the other nonpivot foot while A6 simultaneously sets a pivot foot that remains stationary while moving the other nonpivot foot (e.g., both set pivot feet and both move the nonpivot feet)?

If any of these are travel violations, citations please.

Raymond Fri Jan 03, 2020 07:00pm

Each player is allowed their own pivot foot.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Fri Jan 03, 2020 09:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1036470)
citations please.

4.42.4B (last year's book)

BillyMac Sat Jan 04, 2020 09:31am

Always Listen To Bob and Ray ...
 
https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.-...=0&w=300&h=300

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1036471)
Each player is allowed their own pivot foot

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1036472)
4.42.4B (last year's book)

Thanks guys. I agree, but had a partner, coach, and some fans who thought otherwise.

4.44.2 SITUATION B: Airborne A1 and A2 jointly grab the rebound and each alights simultaneously on both feet. A1 and A2 each move one foot in attempting to wrestle the ball from each other before realizing they are teammates. A1 lets go and A2 dribbles away. RULING: Legal. There has been no violation as neither A1 or A2 moved their pivot foot while they were in joint control.

bob jenkins Sat Jan 04, 2020 09:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1036480)

Thanks guys. I agree, but had a partner, coach, and some fans who thought otherwise.

For the coach and fans -- it's a somewhat pervasive myth. Maybe it was the rule at some point in some code -- I certainly heard the myth more frequently 20 years ago than I do now.

For the partner -- no excuse.

BillyMac Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:31am

Diamonds Are Forever (Shirley Bassey, 1971) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1036481)
For the partner -- no excuse.

I think that the large diamond stud that he was wearing in his ear was interfering with his brain.

Raymond Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1036481)
For the coach and fans -- it's a somewhat pervasive myth. Maybe it was the rule at some point in some code -- I certainly heard the myth more frequently 20 years ago than I do now.

For the partner -- no excuse.

I used to hear it all the time playing pickup ball, but I never heard it once as an official.

I'm pretty sure it was my very first year in officiating that I learned it was not a travel and I was surprised by that.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

LRZ Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:27pm

In true BillyMac mode, let's change the scenario slightly.

Two airborne teammates jointly control the ball on a rebound, and each alights simultaneously on both feet. A1 and A2 each move one foot in attempting to wrestle the ball from each other; A2 then moves his/her pivot foot.

Camron Rust Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LRZ (Post 1036487)
In true BillyMac mode, let's change the scenario slightly.

Two airborne teammates jointly control the ball on a rebound, and each alights simultaneously on both feet. A1 and A2 each move one foot in attempting to wrestle the ball from each other; A2 then moves his/her pivot foot.

If by "moves his/her pivot foot" you mean A2 lifts his/her pivot foot and returns it to the floor all while both are still holding the ball, you then have a travel....if either travel, it is a travel.

LRZ Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:48pm

Yes, a lesson for the young 'uns, as BillyMac would say.

BillyMac Sat Jan 04, 2020 01:04pm

Twist And Shout (The Beatles,. 1964) ...
 
https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.U...=0&w=300&h=300

Did somebody invoke my name?

Quote:

Originally Posted by LRZ (Post 1036487)
In true BillyMac mode, let's change the scenario slightly ... A1 and A2 each move one foot in attempting to wrestle the ball from each other; A2 then moves his/her pivot foot.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1036488)
If by "moves his/her pivot foot" you mean A2 lifts his/her pivot foot and returns it to the floor all while both are still holding the ball, you then have a travel....if either travel, it is a travel.

Quote:

Originally Posted by LRZ (Post 1036489)
Yes, a lesson for the young 'uns, as BillyMac would say.

Camron is correct where he describes A2 as "lift(ing) his/her pivot foot and return(ing) it to the floor". 100% illegal.

For the yong'uns, just lifting the pivot foot alone is not enough to make this illegal. A2 can lift the pivot foot and legally pass, shoot, request a timeout (or leave the pivot foot in the air until the end of the period). Of course, under these circumstances, A2 may not start a dribble since he's already lifted his pivot foot.

BillyMac Sat Jan 04, 2020 01:07pm

It's True, It's True ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1036488)
... if either travel, it is a travel.

If both travel, but not simultaneously, it's the extremely rare, probably mythological (or extinct), oft discussed over a few adult beverages around a roaring campfire, possibly never actually observed, false double travel. Penalize in order of occurrence, throwin at the point of interruption.

ilyazhito Sat Jan 04, 2020 03:02pm

That is not possible. If one player travels, then the play becomes dead from that point. No violations can occur while the ball is dead.

Camron Rust Sat Jan 04, 2020 07:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1036493)
That is not possible. If one player travels, then the play becomes dead from that point. No violations can occur while the ball is dead.

Someone missed the attempt at humor. :eek:

BillyMac Sat Jan 04, 2020 07:18pm

The Notorious Double Travel ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1036493)
That is not possible. If one player travels, then the play becomes dead from that point. No violations can occur while the ball is dead.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1036497)
Someone missed the attempt at humor.

If both A-5 and A-6 lift and put back down their pivot feet simultaneously, it's a double travel violation and both A-5 and A-6 are credited with one half of one turnover in the scorebook. Throwin at the point of interruption. It's true. It's true.

https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.G...=0&w=300&h=300


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1