The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2019 Nat Ch Game video request thread (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104528-2019-nat-ch-game-video-request-thread.html)

Raymond Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1032199)
Of course that's a travel.

The debate is whether it's one the NCAA and its teams want called.

If I see it clearly, I'm going to call it....until one of my supervisor's tells me to stop calling in his games. ;)

jdd1172 Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:43am

Request video clip 2:45 in OT Virginia player Kyle Guy drives toward the baseline and looks like he tripped over his own players foot who is setting a pick but Texas Tech player David Moretti was called for the foul.

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:45am

Play #4:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Yn6g8JDoKaM" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1032184)
There was a play near the end of the second half where a player got an offensive rebound and cleared space with some creative footwork I'd love to see again. I wish I had noted the time, but I was in a bar after a school board meeting and just didn't.

Also there was a key no call on a possible block/charge near the end of regulation (I think) I'd love to look at again.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jakeas2 (Post 1032193)
I believe you are referring to Tariq Owens 5th foul that happened with 5:46 left. I too did not think this was a defensive foul as the offensive player, Hunter, just threw his backside into Owens ofter the offensive rebound.

Play #5:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nhtS2R2F4A8" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:38pm

The so-called controversial charge call (Video)
 
Play #6:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/6X9NSqhU6Y0" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Rich Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1032215)
Play #5:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nhtS2R2F4A8" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

In the excitement at the establishment last night, I missed the dribble.

Raymond Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1032207)
One of the few calls I did not like, especially for a 5th foul. I felt Hunter initiated the contact, which caused Owens' arms to come down.

There was also a held ball that I felt was called too quickly during rebounding action after a UVA missed shot late in the 2nd half that took the ball away from TT and gave it back to UVA. Later, in OT I believe, there was a more obvious held ball that was not called and led to a TT foul.

Actually, the play led to the Hunter rebound and Owens' 5th foul on the put back.

I need to find the time stamp for the held ball that was called.

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1032184)
Also there was a key no call on a possible block/charge near the end of regulation (I think) I'd love to look at again.

Play #7:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/rumluPejOVY" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Raymond Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1032207)
...

There was also a held ball that I felt was called too quickly during rebounding action after a UVA missed shot late in the 2nd half that took the ball away from TT and gave it back to UVA. Later, in OT I believe, there was a more obvious held ball that was not called and led to a TT foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1032210)
Play #4:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Yn6g8JDoKaM" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

The earlier jump ball I was referencing happened at 10:38 of the 2nd half.

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1032226)
The earlier jump ball I was referencing happened at 10:38 of the 2nd half.

Play #8:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/MtKc66fOHZ4" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Raymond Tue Apr 09, 2019 06:40pm

Appreciate you posting all these plays Rut.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Nevadaref Tue Apr 09, 2019 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1032247)
Appreciate you posting all these plays Rut.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

I second that.

Freddy Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1032223)
Play #7:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/rumluPejOVY" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

The defender, anticipating the moment of contact, throws his head back. This seems to run counter to the law of physics. If contact was initiated by the ballhandler, wouldn't the defender's head have recoiled forward?
Valid point?

Pantherdreams Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:56pm

Re: the step backs play 1 & 2. NFHS rules if he's got the ball in two hands (or has in the official's mind ended his dribble) with that plant foot on the floor then pushes back into a hop if he doesn't land on 2 simultaneously its a travel.

NOW:

- That is the rule in NCAA and NFHS. FIBA, NBA, etc that is not a travel anymore. I concede it is an NCAA game so move on.

- The judgement elements. Official must clearly be able to see dribble ended. Ie if he steps back while 1 hand stayed on top or on side of ball he could in theory just be taking a long high dribble. So Official must be sure dribble ended with push foot still on floor. Official must also be sure feet came down seperately. If a game where they are officiating the defense that is a lot of if's.

- The when in Rome factor. Reality of spacial advantage is not realisitcally that drastic from landing on 2 and a quick 1-2. So ignoring/choosing to allow the move isn't creating that drastic of an advantage and is one the high level players/coaches/leagues are now expecting to be allowed regardless of how rule of written.

Could you call it a travel and be right by rule. You betcha. I don't have to make that determination anymore because regardless its not a travel in my rule set.

JRutledge Thu Apr 11, 2019 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 1032268)
Re: the step backs play 1 & 2. NFHS rules if he's got the ball in two hands (or has in the official's mind ended his dribble) with that plant foot on the floor then pushes back into a hop if he doesn't land on 2 simultaneously its a travel.

NOW:

- That is the rule in NCAA and NFHS. FIBA, NBA, etc that is not a travel anymore. I concede it is an NCAA game so move on.

The NF and NCAA Rules on this are exactly the same. There is no difference so not sure what you are talking as to say what it no longer is at the NF level. I cannot and will not speak for FIBA or the NBA as I do not work those levels.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 1032268)
- The when in Rome factor. Reality of spacial advantage is not realisitcally that drastic from landing on 2 and a quick 1-2. So ignoring/choosing to allow the move isn't creating that drastic of an advantage and is one the high level players/coaches/leagues are now expecting to be allowed regardless of how rule of written.

Could you call it a travel and be right by rule. You betcha. I don't have to make that determination anymore because regardless its not a travel in my rule set.

Well just so you know, the NCAA Men's side as one of the directives they talk about all the time is traveling and moves like this. We do not see a lot of these moves at the NCAA level, but I have seen them called or similar moves called. I would not be surprised if the NCAA highlights this move or another move in this game to talk about traveling at some point.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1