The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2019 Nat Ch Game video request thread (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104528-2019-nat-ch-game-video-request-thread.html)

Nevadaref Tue Apr 09, 2019 02:09am

2019 Nat Ch Game video request thread
 
12:09 remaining in the first half.
VA #5 Kyle Guy makes a 3pt shot.
Please clip the replay which is shown before the broadcast goes to commercial break for the under 12 minute media timeout.
This move is a clear travel. The ballhandler comes inside the 3pt arc while dribbling and plants his right foot, which is his lead or forward foot. He lifts his left foot and begins to step backward (behind the 3pt line) with this foot). At this time he ends his dribble by grasping the ball with both hands. His right foot or plant foot, which he will use to push off and propel his body backward is still on the floor when the dribble is ended. This is the problem. For after allowing his left foot to land outside the 3pt line, he pushes himself backward with his right foot and now brings that foot up into the air and back down again behind the 3pt line before rising for a jumpshot. That is picking up the pivot foot and returning it to the floor.
If this action is allowed, the defender has no chance of guarding the offensive player. I hope that this play makes the NCAA video for this Summer. It is a clear travel and the offensive player gains a big advantage by creating open space for his shot. Perhaps officials are calling this violation because the movement is backwards and away from the basket while we have been used to travels which gain an advantage being towards the basket as a player goes by or around a defender.
I believe that this is a very instructive play which should be used for training.

Nevadaref Tue Apr 09, 2019 02:15am

Note: for the above described move to be legal, the player would have to keep the dribble going until the right foot leaves the floor.

Nevadaref Tue Apr 09, 2019 02:35am

A similar move is done, more in a sideways direction, by Texas Tech #1 with 3:18 remaining in the first half.
This was also an uncalled traveling violation.

It is my understanding that these moves are allowed in the NBA because the rule is different. Perhaps people are watching too many NBA games and these moves have begun to look normal to them instead of our mind recognizing this action as a traveling violation.

Nevadaref Tue Apr 09, 2019 08:54am

Wow, what a well-officiated game! Tons of credit to the guys who were on the court. Even the video reviews were handled well and quickly.
There is very little to criticize and only a couple of plays to discuss.
I will add one more play on the traveling theme to the above two.
I am interested in people’s thoughts on the spin move by Texas Tech with about 40 seconds left in the second half. We all know that this play depends upon when the dribble is ended. If the dribble stops with his left foot on the floor, he cannot pick that foot up and put it back down again. So what are the opinions of those on here?

Not certain when this play occurred, but I believe that it was early in the overtime period. The play is an offensive rebound by VA. A defensive foul was called quickly after. Did the defender do anything wrong? Seems that he is the one who has his arm held.

Rich Tue Apr 09, 2019 09:01am

There was a play near the end of the second half where a player got an offensive rebound and cleared space with some creative footwork I'd love to see again. I wish I had noted the time, but I was in a bar after a school board meeting and just didn't.

Also there was a key no call on a possible block/charge near the end of regulation (I think) I'd love to look at again.

sdoebler Tue Apr 09, 2019 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1032173)
12:09 remaining in the first half.
VA #5 Kyle Guy makes a 3pt shot.
Please clip the replay which is shown before the broadcast goes to commercial break for the under 12 minute media timeout.
This move is a clear travel. The ballhandler comes inside the 3pt arc while dribbling and plants his right foot, which is his lead or forward foot. He lifts his left foot and begins to step backward (behind the 3pt line) with this foot). At this time he ends his dribble by grasping the ball with both hands. His right foot or plant foot, which he will use to push off and propel his body backward is still on the floor when the dribble is ended. This is the problem. For after allowing his left foot to land outside the 3pt line, he pushes himself backward with his right foot and now brings that foot up into the air and back down again behind the 3pt line before rising for a jumpshot. That is picking up the pivot foot and returning it to the floor.
If this action is allowed, the defender has no chance of guarding the offensive player. I hope that this play makes the NCAA video for this Summer. It is a clear travel and the offensive player gains a big advantage by creating open space for his shot. Perhaps officials are calling this violation because the movement is backwards and away from the basket while we have been used to travels which gain an advantage being towards the basket as a player goes by or around a defender.
I believe that this is a very instructive play which should be used for training.

Agree with you here. The key in officiating this play that we will call the "stepback" is when the feet land. Correct me if I am wrong but with his right foot being is pivot foot he can jump back wards off that foot and land simultaneously on both feet and then put the up shot. As it was done landing one foot and then the other is a travel.

A better official videos had a great breakdown of this play and what makes it legal vs illegal. As you stated the NBA rule is different in what I believe they call the 0 step which makes it a legal play under that rule set.

jakeas2 Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1032184)
There was a play near the end of the second half where a player got an offensive rebound and cleared space with some creative footwork I'd love to see again. I wish I had noted the time, but I was in a bar after a school board meeting and just didn't.

Also there was a key no call on a possible block/charge near the end of regulation (I think) I'd love to look at again.

I believe you are referring to Tariq Owens 5th foul that happened with 5:46 left. I too did not think this was a defensive foul as the offensive player, Hunter, just threw his backside into Owens ofter the offensive rebound.

IUgrad92 Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1032174)
Note: for the above described move to be legal, the player would have to keep the dribble going until the right foot leaves the floor.

OR have both feet land at the same time on the step back. At that point, the player would not have a pivot foot, but could still get off a jump shot.

Good catch on this play as it caught my eye as well. It only confirmed things for me when they showed the replay of it then.

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1032173)
12:09 remaining in the first half.
VA #5 Kyle Guy makes a 3pt shot.

Play #1:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/hml_krPRnAw" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Rich Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jakeas2 (Post 1032193)
I believe you are referring to Tariq Owens 5th foul that happened with 5:46 left. I too did not think this was a defensive foul as the offensive player, Hunter, just threw his backside into Owens ofter the offensive rebound.

Yes, that's it. I watched it once and thought, "wonder if he traveled there..." and then they didn't show another replay.

Rich Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1032197)
Play #1:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/hml_krPRnAw" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Of course that's a travel.

The debate is whether it's one the NCAA and its teams want called.

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1032183)
I am interested in people’s thoughts on the spin move by Texas Tech with about 40 seconds left in the second half. We all know that this play depends upon when the dribble is ended. If the dribble stops with his left foot on the floor, he cannot pick that foot up and put it back down again. So what are the opinions of those on here?

Play #3: Sorry out of order

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/96xvOjibxZg" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1032175)
A similar move is done, more in a sideways direction, by Texas Tech #1 with 3:18 remaining in the first half.
This was also an uncalled traveling violation.

Play #2:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/YtguSLp8GFQ" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Raymond Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1032183)
...
I am interested in people’s thoughts on the spin move by Texas Tech with about 40 seconds left in the second half. We all know that this play depends upon when the dribble is ended. If the dribble stops with his left foot on the floor, he cannot pick that foot up and put it back down again. So what are the opinions of those on here?

...

Don't remember the play, but I consistently give the same answer every time this subject comes or a video is posted. If the spin is executed slowly and the pivot foot is replanted, I call a travel. That's in my NCAA games and my HS games. If the move is executed quickly, I let it go.

I get WAY more chirping for making the call then for not making the call.

Raymond Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1032184)
There was a play near the end of the second half where a player got an offensive rebound and cleared space with some creative footwork I'd love to see again. I wish I had noted the time, but I was in a bar after a school board meeting and just didn't.

Also there was a key no call on a possible block/charge near the end of regulation (I think) I'd love to look at again.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jakeas2 (Post 1032193)
I believe you are referring to Tariq Owens 5th foul that happened with 5:46 left. I too did not think this was a defensive foul as the offensive player, Hunter, just threw his backside into Owens ofter the offensive rebound.

One of the few calls I did not like, especially for a 5th foul. I felt Hunter initiated the contact, which caused Owens' arms to come down.

There was also a held ball that I felt was called too quickly during rebounding action after a UVA missed shot late in the 2nd half that took the ball away from TT and gave it back to UVA. Later, in OT I believe, there was a more obvious held ball that was not called and led to a TT foul.

Raymond Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1032199)
Of course that's a travel.

The debate is whether it's one the NCAA and its teams want called.

If I see it clearly, I'm going to call it....until one of my supervisor's tells me to stop calling in his games. ;)

jdd1172 Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:43am

Request video clip 2:45 in OT Virginia player Kyle Guy drives toward the baseline and looks like he tripped over his own players foot who is setting a pick but Texas Tech player David Moretti was called for the foul.

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:45am

Play #4:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Yn6g8JDoKaM" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1032184)
There was a play near the end of the second half where a player got an offensive rebound and cleared space with some creative footwork I'd love to see again. I wish I had noted the time, but I was in a bar after a school board meeting and just didn't.

Also there was a key no call on a possible block/charge near the end of regulation (I think) I'd love to look at again.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jakeas2 (Post 1032193)
I believe you are referring to Tariq Owens 5th foul that happened with 5:46 left. I too did not think this was a defensive foul as the offensive player, Hunter, just threw his backside into Owens ofter the offensive rebound.

Play #5:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nhtS2R2F4A8" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:38pm

The so-called controversial charge call (Video)
 
Play #6:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/6X9NSqhU6Y0" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Rich Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1032215)
Play #5:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nhtS2R2F4A8" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

In the excitement at the establishment last night, I missed the dribble.

Raymond Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1032207)
One of the few calls I did not like, especially for a 5th foul. I felt Hunter initiated the contact, which caused Owens' arms to come down.

There was also a held ball that I felt was called too quickly during rebounding action after a UVA missed shot late in the 2nd half that took the ball away from TT and gave it back to UVA. Later, in OT I believe, there was a more obvious held ball that was not called and led to a TT foul.

Actually, the play led to the Hunter rebound and Owens' 5th foul on the put back.

I need to find the time stamp for the held ball that was called.

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1032184)
Also there was a key no call on a possible block/charge near the end of regulation (I think) I'd love to look at again.

Play #7:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/rumluPejOVY" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Raymond Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1032207)
...

There was also a held ball that I felt was called too quickly during rebounding action after a UVA missed shot late in the 2nd half that took the ball away from TT and gave it back to UVA. Later, in OT I believe, there was a more obvious held ball that was not called and led to a TT foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1032210)
Play #4:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Yn6g8JDoKaM" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

The earlier jump ball I was referencing happened at 10:38 of the 2nd half.

JRutledge Tue Apr 09, 2019 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1032226)
The earlier jump ball I was referencing happened at 10:38 of the 2nd half.

Play #8:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/MtKc66fOHZ4" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Raymond Tue Apr 09, 2019 06:40pm

Appreciate you posting all these plays Rut.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Nevadaref Tue Apr 09, 2019 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1032247)
Appreciate you posting all these plays Rut.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

I second that.

Freddy Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1032223)
Play #7:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/rumluPejOVY" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

The defender, anticipating the moment of contact, throws his head back. This seems to run counter to the law of physics. If contact was initiated by the ballhandler, wouldn't the defender's head have recoiled forward?
Valid point?

Pantherdreams Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:56pm

Re: the step backs play 1 & 2. NFHS rules if he's got the ball in two hands (or has in the official's mind ended his dribble) with that plant foot on the floor then pushes back into a hop if he doesn't land on 2 simultaneously its a travel.

NOW:

- That is the rule in NCAA and NFHS. FIBA, NBA, etc that is not a travel anymore. I concede it is an NCAA game so move on.

- The judgement elements. Official must clearly be able to see dribble ended. Ie if he steps back while 1 hand stayed on top or on side of ball he could in theory just be taking a long high dribble. So Official must be sure dribble ended with push foot still on floor. Official must also be sure feet came down seperately. If a game where they are officiating the defense that is a lot of if's.

- The when in Rome factor. Reality of spacial advantage is not realisitcally that drastic from landing on 2 and a quick 1-2. So ignoring/choosing to allow the move isn't creating that drastic of an advantage and is one the high level players/coaches/leagues are now expecting to be allowed regardless of how rule of written.

Could you call it a travel and be right by rule. You betcha. I don't have to make that determination anymore because regardless its not a travel in my rule set.

JRutledge Thu Apr 11, 2019 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 1032268)
Re: the step backs play 1 & 2. NFHS rules if he's got the ball in two hands (or has in the official's mind ended his dribble) with that plant foot on the floor then pushes back into a hop if he doesn't land on 2 simultaneously its a travel.

NOW:

- That is the rule in NCAA and NFHS. FIBA, NBA, etc that is not a travel anymore. I concede it is an NCAA game so move on.

The NF and NCAA Rules on this are exactly the same. There is no difference so not sure what you are talking as to say what it no longer is at the NF level. I cannot and will not speak for FIBA or the NBA as I do not work those levels.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 1032268)
- The when in Rome factor. Reality of spacial advantage is not realisitcally that drastic from landing on 2 and a quick 1-2. So ignoring/choosing to allow the move isn't creating that drastic of an advantage and is one the high level players/coaches/leagues are now expecting to be allowed regardless of how rule of written.

Could you call it a travel and be right by rule. You betcha. I don't have to make that determination anymore because regardless its not a travel in my rule set.

Well just so you know, the NCAA Men's side as one of the directives they talk about all the time is traveling and moves like this. We do not see a lot of these moves at the NCAA level, but I have seen them called or similar moves called. I would not be surprised if the NCAA highlights this move or another move in this game to talk about traveling at some point.

Peace

Pantherdreams Thu Apr 11, 2019 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1032269)
The NF and NCAA Rules on this are exactly the same. There is no difference so not sure what you are talking as to say what it no longer is at the NF level. I cannot and will not speak for FIBA or the NBA as I do not work those levels.


Peace

We are saying the same thing. NFHS/NCAA the moves in the video are travels by rule. IF they had hopped from the 1 foot and landed on 2 feet at the same time they would have been good. I can't speak for NBA but in FIBA we have the zero step now so none of the moves would be a travel. And directives we get tend to be along the lines of "follow the rule as written, however the rule change was to increase dynamic and exciting plays so if you are not 100% sure let it slide."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1