The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Gonzaga-Tech Vid. Req. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104506-gonzaga-tech-vid-req.html)

ODog Sat Mar 30, 2019 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1031838)
... I didn’t see any of the refs come over to the table and explain — does anyone know if they did?

They did, and you could hear the explanation to the broadcast team straight from the horse's mouth. Audio clear as day on TV. A flagrant 1 for contact with the thrower.

And then the thrower did not attempt the FTs :confused:

Fuelrider Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:29am

If he was blocked out lead should be over there to help with how much was going on.


According to the ESPN play by play it was ruled a Technical. Either way they administered it incorrect.

Fuelrider Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:32am

He may be one of the top officials. But by the looks of his head he's ball watching. But you should know where to look and what to look for. Goes back to the GU vs UNC Championship game when his hand was OOB. This stuff should be a huge point of emphasis in training so they quit missing the biggest calls of the game.

Nevadaref Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fuelrider (Post 1031847)
He may be one of the top officials. But by the looks of his head he's ball watching. But you should know where to look and what to look for. Goes back to the GU vs UNC Championship game when his hand was OOB. This stuff should be a huge point of emphasis in training so they quit missing the biggest calls of the game.

I don’t understand why people are saying that the T was ballwatching on this play. It was outside the 3pt line. It was his play. He was looking up at a blocked shot by two tall players. That is exactly what he was supposed to be doing.

I believe that when the shot-blocker continued past the shooter in the corner, but towards the end line side, that put the shooter’s body between this player attempting to save the ball and the Trail. He may not have been able to see his foot step out.

Another possibility is that the follow up action of the save came so quickly after the blocked shot that the Trail was still focused on looking up high for contact and concerned with landing the shooter that he couldn’t shift his viewpoint to where the defender placed a foot upon coming down and quickly jumping again. This quick 1-2 sequence simply resulted in him not being able to observe all of the necessary factors and he missed the call.

AremRed Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1031840)
They did, and you could hear the explanation to the broadcast team straight from the horse's mouth. Audio clear as day on TV. A flagrant 1 for contact with the thrower.

And then the thrower did not attempt the FTs :confused:

That's what I thought. Strange that even with an alternate watching the tape they got it wrong. In my mind this is a bigger miss than the foot on the line.

In case anyone is curious it was a 3 point game at the time of the F1 foul and here's difference in FT shooter:

Supposed to shoot: Matt Mooney, 76.5% on 2.3 attempts/game this season

Actually shot: Davide Moretti, 92.1% on 2.9 attempts/game this season

Fun but irrelevant fact: Davide Moretti was #2 in all of college basketball this season in FT%.

Camron Rust Sun Mar 31, 2019 02:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1031849)
That's what I thought. Strange that even with an alternate watching the tape they got it wrong. In my mind this is a bigger miss than the foot on the line.

In case anyone is curious it was a 3 point game at the time of the F1 foul and here's difference in FT shooter:

Supposed to shoot: Matt Mooney, 76.5% on 2.3 attempts/game this season

Actually shot: Davide Moretti, 92.1% on 2.9 attempts/game this season



Yes, this miss will probably cost all of them an advancement.

First, it should have been an F1, not a T, with the thrower shooting. But even if you go with the T, thinking the ball was hit instead of the arm, it was administered incorrectly.

And I would not put this on the player. This is probably the first time in their playing careers that this has happened. They shouldn't be expected to know who is supposed to shoot on this. It is entirely possible that they thought it was a T and sent their best player to shoot what they thought was a T.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1031849)
Fun but irrelevant fact: Davide Moretti was #2 in all of college basketball this season in FT%.

While acknowledging your point, that is not entirely accurate. I do see the same NCAA stats that you're probably looking at showing that, but it is incorrect. The #1 player on the list is listed at 92.4% on 73 of 79. Tyler Herro of Kentucky is at 93.5% on 87 for 93 and isn't even on the list. (Tyler Herro Stats, News, Bio | ESPN)

The NCAA list is missing some data.

thedewed Sun Mar 31, 2019 08:48am

I saw the aftermath in the studio and the rules analyst Gene said to the rest of the panel, mostly former college/NBA players, that after the block and coming down out of bounds, that player would need to get BOTH feet back in bounds before he could again touch the ball. Everyone agreed. But that isn't the rule, right? He just needs to get one foot back in, or any part of his body for that matter (knee, elbow?), as long as no part of the rest of his body was still out of bounds.

Right??? It seems like this is a rule that MANY in the game misunderstood, that you need to get both feet back in, not just one. I just want to make sure I'm not missing anything new, thanks,

I would also agree with the person above that pointed out that Higgins would have been looking high, watching for arm then body contact, seeing the shooter to the ground, and the immediate switch to the need to see where the blocker landed is a tough transition in the mind. At the point he even realizes what the defender may be able to accomplish, that defender is airborne and it's too late. And lead may very well not be looking out there, instead watching for activity underneath. just a tough circumstance.

AremRed Sun Mar 31, 2019 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1031852)
While acknowledging your point, that is not entirely accurate. I do see the same NCAA stats that you're probably looking at showing that, but it is incorrect. The #1 player on the list is listed at 92.4% on 73 of 79. Tyler Herro of Kentucky is at 93.5% on 87 for 93 and isn't even on the list. (Tyler Herro Stats, News, Bio | ESPN)

The NCAA list is missing some data.

Whatever dude I used this list: 2018-19 NCAA Division I College Basketball Player Statistics - ESPN

It does have Moretti as #2 on the season at .933, I transcribed it incorrectly in my first post.

Fuelrider Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1031848)
I don’t understand why people are saying that the T was ballwatching on this play. It was outside the 3pt line. It was his play. He was looking up at a blocked shot by two tall players. That is exactly what he was supposed to be doing.

I believe that when the shot-blocker continued past the shooter in the corner, but towards the end line side, that put the shooter’s body between this player attempting to save the ball and the Trail. He may not have been able to see his foot step out.

Another possibility is that the follow up action of the save came so quickly after the blocked shot that the Trail was still focused on looking up high for contact and concerned with landing the shooter that he couldn’t shift his viewpoint to where the defender placed a foot upon coming down and quickly jumping again. This quick 1-2 sequence simply resulted in him not being able to observe all of the necessary factors and he missed the call.


In the end the trail has responsibility to see the whole play. Or this needs to become reviewable. This possession like in the championship 2 years ago hurt Gonzaga. They seem to be on the blunt end of missed calls in big games. Trail needs to step back and get a better angle. If the shot is blocked then you act just like lead you step back to see more after the shot. Example Virgina Purdue. Lead official watched the line the entire way and made a great call down the stretch. In the GU game you can see where his head is which means field of vision. Lead and C can see the contact if there's a push he saw the blocked shot then needs to back out and see the play to be able to see it all. As a trail I'm looking for everything as a lead I'm rotating out to help trail because there's a fluster click going over there. But you can clearly see his entire foot is OOB, it's not like his toe was on the line. He jumped from OOB, there was enough delay to see where he was so and would've just taken a quick glance to make sure I see where he was. In a game like this it's huge to miss something like this and hurts teams.

Camron Rust Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1031856)
Whatever dude I used this list: 2018-19 NCAA Division I College Basketball Player Statistics - ESPN

It does have Moretti as #2 on the season at .933, I transcribed it incorrectly in my first post.

That list isn't all games.

My point was that https://www.ncaa.com/stats/basketbal...individual/142, which supposedly include all games for all teams is incorrect.

thedewed Sun Mar 31, 2019 01:32pm

actually, ball was dead when thrower in was hit on the arm. so
T Tech rightfully got to select the FT shooter. I think.

Fuelrider Sun Mar 31, 2019 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by thedewed (Post 1031878)
actually, ball was dead when thrower in was hit on the arm. so
T Tech rightfully got to select the FT shooter. I think.

dewed if you read any of the other posts it's not a dead ball T unless he hits the ball. He hit the arm which in NFHS is an intentional foul 2 shots and the ball at POI. In NCAA it should've been ruled a common foul for making contact with the thrower then upgraded to a Flagrant 1. Which means Mooney would've been the one shooting. But even if the deemed it to be a tech it's a class B T which is 1 shot and the ball and whomever they choose. So either way they administered this wrong.

thedewed Sun Mar 31, 2019 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fuelrider (Post 1031879)
dewed if you read any of the other posts it's not a dead ball T unless he hits the ball. He hit the arm which in NFHS is an intentional foul 2 shots and the ball at POI. In NCAA it should've been ruled a common foul for making contact with the thrower then upgraded to a Flagrant 1. Which means Mooney would've been the one shooting. But even if the deemed it to be a tech it's a class B T which is 1 shot and the ball and whomever they choose. So either way they administered this wrong.

I don't think that's right. foul on arm in that situation, dead ball contact foul, F1, anyone can shoot. Not positive but I'm pretty sure that's right based on reading the book. That's why I'm bringing it up for a revisit. Because everyone weighing in so far may be wrong.
Actually I'm not sure. F1 personal contact foul include contact with player making the throw in, but Class A tech includes unnecessary , excessive nature. I suppose the better interpretation is the player that got fouled shoots, that is more direct language.

Raymond Sun Mar 31, 2019 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by thedewed (Post 1031880)
I don't think that's right. foul on arm in that situation, dead ball contact foul, F1, anyone can shoot. Not positive but I'm pretty sure that's right based on reading the book. That's why I'm bringing it up for a revisit. Because everyone weighing in so far may be wrong.

Actually I'm not sure. F1 personal contact foul include contact with player making the throw in, but Class A tech includes unnecessary , excessive nature. I suppose the better interpretation is the player that got fouled shoots, that is more direct language.

You are incorrect. Several have already typed the correct adjudication.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

thedewed Sun Mar 31, 2019 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1031881)
You are incorrect. Several have already typed the correct adjudication.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Yes, w/o a citation. it is AR 82 in casebook. W/o that there is some potential for confusion as a Class A tech includes 'unecessary contact' during a dead ball, and that penalty is 2 shots by anyone.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1