The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   SEC Championship Game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104453-sec-championship-game.html)

SC Official Sun Mar 17, 2019 01:23pm

SEC Championship Game
 
At 14:52 in the second half Auburn #4 was fouled hard and went to the ground. Multiple coaches came onto the floor to check on #4, yet he still attempted the free throws. I don't believe a timeout was granted to Auburn. Shouldn't a mandatory substitution have been required?

Rich Sun Mar 17, 2019 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1031130)
At 14:52 in the second half Auburn #4 was fouled hard and went to the ground. Multiple coaches came onto the floor to check on #4, yet he still attempted the free throws. I don't believe a timeout was granted to Auburn. Shouldn't a mandatory substitution have been required?



They reviewed the play, right?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

SC Official Sun Mar 17, 2019 06:10pm

They did, but I don’t think that has anything to do with the required substitution rule.

Rich Sun Mar 17, 2019 07:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1031138)
They did, but I don’t think that has anything to do with the required substitution rule.



Possible they didn't notice Pearl out there. Or just whiffed on the rule.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Raymond Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:35pm

Pearl's request for a review was had already been granted. After that point they're not worried about Pearl coming on the court, or at least I wouldn't be.

JRutledge Mon Mar 18, 2019 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1031130)
At 14:52 in the second half Auburn #4 was fouled hard and went to the ground. Multiple coaches came onto the floor to check on #4, yet he still attempted the free throws. I don't believe a timeout was granted to Auburn. Shouldn't a mandatory substitution have been required?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/UMyyxK_7RcI" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

sdoebler Tue Mar 19, 2019 09:42am

Agree with common foul call. The defensive player swung both arms down at the ball, and while the offensive player moved the ball to the outside which made all of the contact against the player it is still a legitimate play at the ball with nothing excessive.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1