The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What is the call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104390-what-call.html)

onetime1 Fri Feb 15, 2019 03:41pm

What is the call?
 
Dribbler is in transition with defensive player running / trailing near half court. Offensive player can sense the defensive player is closing fast so dribbler on purpose swerves in path and "slams" on the brakes and gets knocked to the ground and trampled. Whatcha got?

SD Referee Fri Feb 15, 2019 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 1030345)
Dribbler is in transition with defensive player running / trailing near half court. Offensive player can sense the defensive player is closing fast so dribbler on purpose swerves in path and "slams" on the brakes and gets knocked to the ground and trampled. Whatcha got?

As the official, I have no idea what a player can and cannot "sense". I have a foul on the defense. Seems pretty easy to me. I'm not trying to figure out what the players are thinking. I'm going off what I can see in that situation.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 15, 2019 04:06pm

The offense is trying to screen, and the player with the ball is given no more protection than a player without the ball. Foul on the offense, or play on (assuming the screening requirements were not met).

BillyMac Fri Feb 15, 2019 04:39pm

Player Behind Overruns His Opponent ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1030348)
The offense is trying to screen, and the player with the ball is given no more protection than a player without the ball. Foul on the offense, or play on.

It does sound like a screen, but the player behind is responsible for the contact.

4-40: Screen
ART. 2 To establish a legal screening position:
c. The screener must be stationary, except when both the screener and opponent are moving in the same path and the same direction.
ART. 6 When screening an opponent who is moving in the same path and direction as the screener, the player behind is responsible if contact is made because the player in front slows up or stops and the player behind
overruns his/her opponent.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 15, 2019 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030351)
It does sound like a screen, but the player behind is responsible for the contact.

[/I]

This wasn't a "same path and direction" play.

From the OP: "dribbler on purpose swerves in path and "slams" on the brakes "

BillyMac Fri Feb 15, 2019 05:07pm

Ticketed For Following Too Closely ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1030352)
This wasn't a "same path and direction" play. From the OP: "dribbler on purpose swerves in path and "slams" on the brakes "

If it wasn't same path and direction there wouldn't have been a collision when he slammed on the brakes (the "accident" would have been avoided).

Wait, I guess it could have been T-Bone accident?

I would like to see the play.

Kansas Ref Fri Feb 15, 2019 06:30pm

This is exact type of play that we have discussed at association meeting recently. The discussion leader agreed that the act by the ball handler was "pre-meditated"; however, he told us that we have to call this on the defensive player because we should never "think" for the ball handler--instead to simply judge if the contact was illegal. Believe me, I feel your pain on this one my fellow official; however, that ball handler is also risking a back injury by engaging in such a [dare I say 'unsporting'] ploy---and perhaps that could become his karma.

Nevadaref Fri Feb 15, 2019 07:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 1030360)
This is exact type of play that we have discussed at association meeting recently. The discussion leader agreed that the act by the ball handler was "pre-meditated"; however, he told us that we have to call this on the defensive player because we should never "think" for the ball handler--instead to simply judge if the contact was illegal. Believe me, I feel your pain on this one my fellow official; however, that ball handler is also risking a back injury by engaging in such a [dare I say 'unsporting'] ploy---and perhaps that could become his karma.

Unfortunate that your discussion leader put forth his personal opinion as an instruction to your group instead of the proper NFHS ruling.
The contact is illegal and the ballhandler caused it by doing something not permitted under the rules.

Nevadaref Fri Feb 15, 2019 07:07pm

10.7.7 SITUATION:

During congested play in the free-throw semi-circle, B1 and B2 are less than 3 feet apart when dribbler A1 fakes to one side and then causes contact in attempting to dribble between them.

RULING: Unless one of the defensive players is faked out of position to permit adequate space for the dribbler to go between without making contact, it is a player-control foul on A1.

COMMENT: Screening principles apply to the dribbler who attempts to cut off an opponent who is approaching in a different path from the rear. In this case, the dribbler must allow such opponent a maximum of two steps or an opportunity to stop or avoid contact. When both the dribbler and the opponent are moving in exactly the same path and same direction, the player behind is responsible for contact which results if the player in front slows down or stops. (4-7-2)

bucky Fri Feb 15, 2019 09:54pm

Based on OP description, this is a defensive foul..every...single..time.

Nevadaref Fri Feb 15, 2019 11:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1030371)
Based on OP description, this is a defensive foul..every...single..time.

Apparently you can’t read the first sentence of the comment in the above play ruling from the NFHS.

Camron Rust Sat Feb 16, 2019 03:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1030371)
Based on OP description, this is a defensive foul..every...single..time.

You misspelled offensive.

bucky Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:18pm

Nope, based on my interpretation of the OP, this is a defensive foul..every..single...time.

OP excludes any details such as number of steps, etc. between ball handler and defender. Based on your interpretation, ball handler could do the same thing, 20 feet in front of the defender and you would have an offensive foul. Based on OP, it would be nearly impossible for defender to not have a chance to stop or avoid contact.

Kansas Ref Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1030363)
10.7.7 SITUATION:

During congested play in the free-throw semi-circle, B1 and B2 are less than 3 feet apart when dribbler A1 fakes to one side and then causes contact in attempting to dribble between them.

RULING: Unless one of the defensive players is faked out of position to permit adequate space for the dribbler to go between without making contact, it is a player-control foul on A1.

COMMENT: Screening principles apply to the dribbler who attempts to cut off an opponent who is approaching in a different path from the rear. In this case, the dribbler must allow such opponent a maximum of two steps or an opportunity to stop or avoid contact. When both the dribbler and the opponent are moving in exactly the same path and same direction, the player behind is responsible for contact which results if the player in front slows down or stops. (4-7-2)

*Not sure how this reference applies to the original post on this thread? Your rules reference here is talking about Ax "dribbling between defenders" and then causing contact. The original post is describing an altogether different type of action by said dribbler Ax; this was the case that our discussion leader was talking about and it was instructive.

Camron Rust Sun Feb 17, 2019 01:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1030400)
Nope, based on my interpretation of the OP, this is a defensive foul..every..single...time.

OP excludes any details such as number of steps, etc. between ball handler and defender. Based on your interpretation, ball handler could do the same thing, 20 feet in front of the defender and you would have an offensive foul. Based on OP, it would be nearly impossible for defender to not have a chance to stop or avoid contact.

Don't be silly. The clear implication is that the defender was right there with the ball handler and the ball handler cut off the defender at the last moment. You're just trying to rationalize a way to not call it as prescribed.

Camron Rust Sun Feb 17, 2019 02:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 1030401)
*Not sure how this reference applies to the original post on this thread? Your rules reference here is talking about Ax "dribbling between defenders" and then causing contact. The original post is describing an altogether different type of action by said dribbler Ax; this was the case that our discussion leader was talking about and it was instructive.

The comment part of the citation is what is relevant. It precisely matches the OP.

BillyMac Sun Feb 17, 2019 09:18am

Same Path And Direction ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1030404)
The clear implication is that the defender was right there with the ball handler and the ball handler cut off the defender at the last moment.

Agree. But isn't it possible that for a split second before contact the ball handler and the defender could have been going in the same path and direction, thus bringing into play the screening exception?

4-40: Screen
ART. 2 To establish a legal screening position:
c. The screener must be stationary, except when both the screener and opponent are moving in the same path and the same direction.
ART. 6 When screening an opponent who is moving in the same path and direction as the screener, the player behind is responsible if contact is made because the player in front slows up or stops and the player behind
overruns his/her opponent.

10.7.7 SITUATION: During congested play in the free-throw semi-circle, B1 and B2 are less than 3 feet apart when dribbler A1 fakes to one side and then causes contact in attempting to dribble between them. RULING: Unless one of the defensive players is faked out of position to permit adequate space for the dribbler to go between without making contact, it is a player-control foul on A1. COMMENT: Screening principles apply to the dribbler who attempts to cut off an opponent who is approaching in a different path from the rear. In this case, the dribbler must allow such opponent a maximum of two steps or an opportunity to stop or avoid contact. When both the dribbler and the opponent are moving in exactly the same path and same direction, the player behind is responsible for contact which results if the player in front slows down or stops. (4-7-2)

bob jenkins Sun Feb 17, 2019 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1030404)
Don't be silly. The clear implication is that the defender was right there with the ball handler and the ball handler cut off the defender at the last moment. You're just trying to rationalize a way to not call it as prescribed.

Agreed. And it's why I included the "assuming the screening requirements were not met" caveat to my answer -- in an attempt to forezstall this kind of discussion.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030411)
Agree. But isn't it possible that for a split second before contact the ball handler and the defender could have been going in the same path and direction, thus bringing into play the screening exception?

A "split second" doesn't cut it. I'll agree there's no specific guidance or case play on this, but I'd use something like the "one or two steps for a moving opponent" rule as a guideline here. If A1 move over and then move in the same direction for one or two steps (or such that B1 now has one or two steps), then the contact will be a foul on B1 (if the contact rises to the level of a foul).

BillyMac Sun Feb 17, 2019 09:51am

Different Path ..,.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1030412)
I'll agree there's no specific guidance or case play on this ...

The NFHS does make a distinction between "same path" and "different path".

They must have made that distinction in rule language and/or a caseplay for a reason.

Absent that distinction, I could agree with you.

bob jenkins Sun Feb 17, 2019 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030414)
The NFHS does make a distinction between "same path" and "different path".

They must have made that distinction in rule language and/or a caseplay for a reason.

Absent that distinction, I could agree with you.

Ignore the ball handler / dribbler in the OP. B1 running down the court. A1 suddenly steps in front of B1 and does not give B1 time to stop / change direction. You can't honestly tell me that you're raising the "same path" argument in 99.99% of the plays where that happens. It's no different just because the OP has the BHD involved.

bucky Sun Feb 17, 2019 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1030404)
clear implication

Oxymoron

BillyMac Sun Feb 17, 2019 12:32pm

Comment ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1030422)
Ignore the ball handler / dribbler in the OP. B1 running down the court. A1 suddenly steps in front of B1 and does not give B1 time to stop / change direction. You can't honestly tell me that you're raising the "same path" argument in 99.99% of the plays where that happens. It's no different just because the OP has the BHD involved.

The comment makes it different.

COMMENT: Screening principles apply to the dribbler who attempts to cut off an opponent who is approaching in a different path from the rear. In this case, the dribbler must allow such opponent a maximum of two steps or an opportunity to stop or avoid contact. When both the dribbler and the opponent are moving in exactly the same path and same direction, the player behind is responsible for contact which results if the player in front slows down or stops.

Absent the comment in 10.7.7 SITUATION (specifically regarding a "dribbler", and differentiating between "different path", and "same path"), I would agree with you.

Camron Rust Sun Feb 17, 2019 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1030423)
Oxymoron

Yet, it was still clear as day....sort of like saying it is a blue sky day implying the sun is shining.

Kansas Ref Mon Feb 18, 2019 09:35am

Anyone got a video of this type of action ?
From the reactive commentary of esteemed Forum members it is evident that there is a clear difference in how this play would be called if any of you would be adjudicating this action. Maybe this difference is the result of different ways folks are reading it [and thereby visualizing the play] or maybe it's due to way the Rule is being applied. Or maybe the NF verbiage of "different path" "same path" is problematic.

LRZ Mon Feb 18, 2019 09:55am

If a "dribbler on purpose swerves in path,"* he/she is not simply "slowing down or stopping."** Instead, he/she is no longer "in exactly the same path and same direction."***

*Per the OP.
**Per the comment.
***Per the comment again.

Raymond Mon Feb 18, 2019 10:08am

If the dribbler moves into the path of the defender, then screening rules apply as far as time and distance. If the dribbler and defender are on the same path, then the defender is responsible for contact if the dribbler stops.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Mon Feb 18, 2019 11:30am

Establish A New Path To The Basket ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LRZ (Post 1030438)
If a "dribbler on purpose swerves in path," he/she is not simply "slowing down or stopping." Instead, he/she is no longer "in exactly the same path and same direction."

This is quite possible. However, after the swerve, it is also possible for the dribbler to establish a new path to the basket, where both the dribbler and the defender are now going in the same path and direction, thus bringing the screening exception into play before slowing down and before contact occurs from behind.

To be honest, I can't see myself calling a player control blocking (illegal screen) foul on a dribbler who changes direction and slows down to get his footwork established before a shot attempt and is plowed into by a defender from "behind" even if the defender is coming in at an angle (a different path and direction).

"Sorry coach, by changing direction and slowing down he set an illegal screen, it's a player control foul on your dribbler because he didn't allow time and distance for the defender to avoid contact".

That's not going to go over very well.

SD Referee Mon Feb 18, 2019 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1030352)
This wasn't a "same path and direction" play.

From the OP: "dribbler on purpose swerves in path and "slams" on the brakes "

You don't know that the dribbler moved into the line of the defense and stopped on purpose to get a foul. They might have had other ideas.

SD Referee Mon Feb 18, 2019 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1030404)
Don't be silly. The clear implication is that the defender was right there with the ball handler and the ball handler cut off the defender at the last moment. You're just trying to rationalize a way to not call it as prescribed.

I disagree.

Without seeing the video, we have no idea what really happened.

Perhaps the dribbler, had no clue if anybody was behind and was simply changing their direction. That's an offensive foul? No way!

I agree that based on what little we know, this is a foul on the defense. I've seen players in transition suddenly stop and pull the ball out in an attempt to run the offense. They have been run over by a defensive player hustling up court to get back on defense. That's not an offensive foul and what I envision from the OP. No way you can call that an offensive foul.

BillyMac Mon Feb 18, 2019 12:47pm

And Don't You Dare Throw That Chair At Me ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030441)
"Sorry coach, by changing direction and slowing down he set an illegal screen, it's a player control foul on your dribbler because he didn't allow time and distance for the defender to avoid contact".

"And by the way coach, that's your dribbler's fifth foul".

Camron Rust Mon Feb 18, 2019 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SD Referee (Post 1030444)
I disagree.

Without seeing the video, we have no idea what really happened.

Perhaps the dribbler, had no clue if anybody was behind and was simply changing their direction. That's an offensive foul? No way!

I agree that based on what little we know, this is a foul on the defense. I've seen players in transition suddenly stop and pull the ball out in an attempt to run the offense. They have been run over by a defensive player hustling up court to get back on defense. That's not an offensive foul and what I envision from the OP. No way you can call that an offensive foul.

More irrelevant points. It has nothing to do with the dribbler knowing who was coming or where they were but the mere act of cutting of the path of the opponent. It is, by the action itself, an illegal screen.

By your argument, you'd have to argue that 80% of fouls shouldn't be fouls because the player committing them didn't mean to.

#olderthanilook Mon Feb 18, 2019 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1030446)
More irrelevant points. It has nothing to do with the dribbler knowing who was coming or where they were but the mere act of cutting of the path of the opponent. It is, by the action itself, an illegal screen.

By your argument, you'd have to argue that 80% of fouls shouldn't be fouls because the player committing them didn't mean to.

The "action" being the movement to screen or the resulting contact?

Camron Rust Mon Feb 18, 2019 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 1030451)
The "action" being the movement to screen or the resulting contact?

Moving in a way that cuts off the defenders path with contact and with not offensive purpose. It is sort of like a shooter jumping sideways just to draw contact on a defender that would have otherwise completely missed.

If the dribbler had done the same thing and been in a motion of passing the ball to a teammate in that direction, I would then consider it a defensive foul.

SD Referee Tue Feb 19, 2019 09:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1030446)
More irrelevant points. It has nothing to do with the dribbler knowing who was coming or where they were but the mere act of cutting of the path of the opponent. It is, by the action itself, an illegal screen.

By your argument, you'd have to argue that 80% of fouls shouldn't be fouls because the player committing them didn't mean to.


That's not what I meant and you know it. So if a dribbler, suddenly changes direction, for whatever reason, and a defensive player runs them over from behing you are going to go with an offensive foul by applying the screening principle?

Good luck with that. Some of you guys like to show how smart you supposedly are and apply principles that are not correct to the situation.

Camron Rust Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SD Referee (Post 1030473)
That's not what I meant and you know it. So if a dribbler, suddenly changes direction, for whatever reason, and a defensive player runs them over from behing you are going to go with an offensive foul by applying the screening principle?

Good luck with that. Some of you guys like to show how smart you supposedly are and apply principles that are not correct to the situation.

Better than showing how dumb you are by insisting on ignoring a clear case play.

SD Referee Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1030482)
Better than showing how dumb you are by insisting on ignoring a clear case play.

So based on what little the OP said, you are just going to assume that the play falls under the case you are citing? You're just going to go offensive foul in the situation described?

Go ahead, but I don't think you will find a lot of officials that will make that call. In an actual game, most officials will not call the play an offensive foul. Especially the situation in the OP. There's not enough information to assume that the case fits the situation.

Camron Rust Tue Feb 19, 2019 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SD Referee (Post 1030483)
So based on what little the OP said, you are just going to assume that the play falls under the case you are citing? You're just going to go offensive foul in the situation described?

Go ahead, but I don't think you will find a lot of officials that will make that call. In an actual game, most officials will not call the play an offensive foul. Especially the situation in the OP. There's not enough information to assume that the case fits the situation.

^ That is called rationalization.

FWIW, that OP was precisely this case play....that was the entire point of the OP.

Raymond Tue Feb 19, 2019 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 1030345)
Dribbler is in transition with defensive player running / trailing near half court. Offensive player can sense the defensive player is closing fast so dribbler on purpose swerves in path and "slams" on the brakes and gets knocked to the ground and trampled. Whatcha got?

How many steps did the defensive player take after the dribbler got in his path?

BillyMac Tue Feb 19, 2019 03:16pm

Screening Exception ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1030488)
How many steps did the defensive player take after the dribbler got in his path?

After changing direction, and subsequently establishing a new path and direction, were the dribbler and the defender now both traveling in the same path and direction?

If so, I don't think that the number of steps matters:

COMMENT: When both the dribbler and the opponent are moving in exactly the same path and same direction, the player behind is responsible for contact which results if the player in front slows down or stops.

If not, I think that the number of steps does matter because screening principles apply:

COMMENT: Screening principles apply to the dribbler who attempts to cut off an opponent who is approaching in a different path from the rear. In this case, the dribbler must allow such opponent a maximum of two steps or an opportunity to stop or avoid contact.

Raymond Tue Feb 19, 2019 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030489)
After changing direction, and subsequently establishing a new path and direction, were the dribbler and the defender now both traveling in the same path and direction?



If so, I don't think that the number of steps matters:



COMMENT: When both the dribbler and the opponent are moving in exactly the same path and same direction, the player behind is responsible for contact which results if the player in front slows down or stops.



If not, I think that the number of steps does matter because screening principles apply:



COMMENT: Screening principles apply to the dribbler who attempts to cut off an opponent who is approaching in a different path from the rear. In this case, the dribbler must allow such opponent a maximum of two steps or an opportunity to stop or avoid contact.

It makes a difference as far as how soon the collision occurred afterwards. If he got in his path and stopped without giving the defender two steps to adjust between the time he got in his path and the time they collided, it's a foul on the screener. If he moved into the path and the defender got two or more steps before the collision, then if it's on the defense.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Tue Feb 19, 2019 04:00pm

Hamlet's Soliloquy ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1030491)
It makes a difference as far as how soon the collision occurred afterwards. If he got in his path and stopped without giving the defender two steps to adjust between the time he got in his path and the time they collided, it's a foul on the screener. If he moved into the path and the defender got two or more steps before the collision, then if it's on the defense.

Ay, there’s the rub! (Hamlet, William Shakespeare)

Agree, both reasonable, and correct, but there aren't too many of us who are going to count steps and call a player control blocking (illegal screen) foul on a dribbler who changes direction and slows down to get his footwork established before a shot attempt and is plowed into by a defender from behind.

Raymond Tue Feb 19, 2019 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030493)
Ay, there’s the rub! (Hamlet, William Shakespeare)

Agree, both reasonable, and correct, but there aren't too many of us who are going to count steps and call a player control blocking (illegal screen) foul on a dribbler who changes direction and slows down to get his footwork established before a shot attempt and is plowed into by a defender from behind.

That collision is going to be almost immediately after the change in path for it too be on the offense. Maybe we should be checking ourselves on this type of play to make sure we aren't unfairly penalizing the defense.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 19, 2019 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030493)
Ay, there’s the rub! (Hamlet, William Shakespeare)

Agree, both reasonable, and correct, but there aren't too many of us who are going to count steps and call a player control blocking (illegal screen) foul on a dribbler who changes direction and slows down to get his footwork established before a shot attempt and is plowed into by a defender from behind.

That doesn't read like the OP -- which was near half court (a shot is unlikely here, and if there is one, it's a straight ahead launch), an "on-purpose" swerve and "slamming on the brakes".

BillyMac Tue Feb 19, 2019 05:34pm

On Purpose ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1030497)
... near half court, an "on-purpose" swerve and "slamming on the brakes".

That's fair. Now lets look a very similar situation but take away the "on purpose" part:

Quote:

Originally Posted by SD Referee (Post 1030444)
I've seen players in transition suddenly stop and pull the ball out in an attempt to run the offense. They have been run over by a defensive player hustling up court to get back on defense.

I don't believe that there aren't too many of us who are going to count steps and call a player control blocking (illegal screen) foul on a dribbler who changes direction and slows down in an attempt to run the offense and is plowed into by a defender from behind.

Raymond Wed Feb 20, 2019 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030498)
That's fair. Now lets look a very similar situation but take away the "on purpose" part:



I don't believe that there aren't too many of us who are going to count steps and call a player control blocking (illegal screen) foul on a dribbler who changes direction and slows down in an attempt to run the offense and is plowed into by a defender from behind.

Laziness on officials' part?

deecee Wed Feb 20, 2019 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1030504)
Laziness on officials' part?

Now now. Let's be real. In realtime bang-bang plays like this many times you don't have time or remember to "count" the steps. We do go with an approximation or feel. You get to count the steps if you see the whole action happening in your head in advance. We don't get that luxury many times.

BillyMac Wed Feb 20, 2019 01:05pm

Decades ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030498)
I don't believe that there aren't too many of us who are going to … call a player control blocking (illegal screen) foul on a dribbler who changes direction and slows down in an attempt to run the offense and is plowed into by a defender from behind.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030493)
… there aren't too many of us who are going to … call a player control blocking (illegal screen) foul on a dribbler who changes direction and slows down to get his footwork established before a shot attempt and is plowed into by a defender from behind.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1030504)
Laziness on officials' part?

Fair point, but it's more the way many of us (as well as coaches, players, and fans) have seen it called for decades in games we've worked, and in games we've observed.

Right or wrong, ball handling screeners seem to be customarily treated differently than screeners without the ball.

Many of us seem to pay more attention to the third sentence of the comment rather than the first two sentences.

COMMENT: Screening principles apply to the dribbler who attempts to cut off an opponent who is approaching in a different path from the rear. In this case, the dribbler must allow such opponent a maximum of two steps or an opportunity to stop or avoid contact. When both the dribbler and the opponent are moving in exactly the same path and same direction, the player behind is responsible for contact which results if the player in front slows down or stops.

just another ref Wed Feb 20, 2019 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030507)
Right or wrong, ball handling screeners seem to be customarily treated differently than screeners without the ball.



That's because customarily, the primary function of a screener is to get in somebody's way, which often leads to contact. Customarily, the ballhandler is occupied doing other things, but on the rare occasion that it happens, make the call and move on.


"Sometimes, you have to just referee."

BillyMac Wed Feb 20, 2019 04:35pm

Overly Officious Official ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 1030514)
... the primary function of a screener is to get in somebody's way, which often leads to contact. Customarily, the ballhandler is occupied doing other things, but on the rare occasion that it happens, make the call and move on.

While, by rule, a ball handler may have to be treated as a screener, I have never seen a ball handler called for a player control (illegal screen) blocking foul in over thirty-eight years of officiating (added to years of playing, coaching, and observing).

Player control fouls are usually called for a ball handler plowing into a defender, not for a defender plowing into a ball handler from the rear.

If I ever call this, I'm not looking forward to explaining it to the coach, even if I whip out my rulebook and prove that I'm correct.

Jay R Wed Feb 20, 2019 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030516)
While, by rule, a ball handler may have to be treated as a screener, I have never seen a ball handler called for a player control (illegal screen) blocking foul in over thirty-eight years of officiating (added to years of playing coaching, and observing).

Player control fouls are usually called for a ball handler plowing into a defender, not for a defender plowing into a ball handler from the rear.

If I ever call this, I'm not looking forward to explaining it to the coach, even if I whip out my rulebook and prove that I'm correct.

One fairly common illegal screen by dribbler is when the dribbler is handing off a pass and screens illegally by sticking out his butt etc....

bob jenkins Wed Feb 20, 2019 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030516)
While, by rule, a ball handler may have to be treated as a screener, I have never seen a ball handler called for a player control (illegal screen) blocking foul in over thirty-eight years of officiating (added to years of playing, coaching, and observing).

That's why, at some levels, it's been a POE (at least informally, if not formally).

BillyMac Wed Feb 20, 2019 05:11pm

From Behind ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 1030517)
One fairly common illegal screen by dribbler is when the dribbler is handing off a pass and screens illegally by sticking out his butt etc....

Agree. But after the handoff he's no longer a ball handler, and any exception or "comment" to the screening rule would no longer apply.

My posts have all referred to one ball handler and one defender, and the defender is always approaching from behind.

Like a dribbler who changes direction and slows down in an attempt to run the offense and is plowed into by a defender from behind, or a dribbler who changes direction and slows down to get his footwork established before a shot attempt and is plowed into by a defender from behind.

I've never seen these called a player control foul.

Camron Rust Wed Feb 20, 2019 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030520)
Agree. But after the handoff he's no longer a ball handler, and any exception or "comment" to the screening rule would no longer apply.

True, but this screen often happens before the ball is transferred.

CJP Wed Feb 20, 2019 08:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 1030345)
Dribbler is in transition with defensive player running / trailing near half court. Offensive player can sense the defensive player is closing fast so dribbler on purpose swerves in path and "slams" on the brakes and gets knocked to the ground and trampled. Whatcha got?

Some assumptions to be made here.

1. If the dribbler can "sense" the defender, I am going to assume that the defender is following so close that their paths do overlap somewhat. With that, if the dribbler moves "more" into the path and stops, I have a foul on the defense.

2. If it is 100% clear that the offense made the intentional act to "screen" the defense and their paths are clearly different, I will call a foul on the offense. This threshold is pretty high though and very unlikely to play out.

3. If both the defense and offense are unaware of each others movements, this can be incidental.

SD Referee Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030520)
Agree. But after the handoff he's no longer a ball handler, and any exception or "comment" to the screening rule would no longer apply.

My posts have all referred to one ball handler and one defender, and the defender is always approaching from behind.

Like a dribbler who changes direction and slows down in an attempt to run the offense and is plowed into by a defender from behind, or a dribbler who changes direction and slows down to get his footwork established before a shot attempt and is plowed into by a defender from behind.

I've never seen these called a player control foul.

Exactly my point and what i was trying to say/use as an example. Perhaps I did it poorly.

I've never EVER seen this called by an official at any game that I have watched or worked. Not one time.

RefRich Thu Feb 21, 2019 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1030507)
Fair point, but it's more the way many of us (as well as coaches, players, and fans) have seen it called for decades in games we've worked, and in games we've observed.

Right or wrong, ball handling screeners seem to be customarily treated differently than screeners without the ball.

Many of us seem to pay more attention to the third sentence of the comment rather than the first two sentences.

COMMENT: Screening principles apply to the dribbler who attempts to cut off an opponent who is approaching in a different path from the rear. In this case, the dribbler must allow such opponent a maximum of two steps or an opportunity to stop or avoid contact. When both the dribbler and the opponent are moving in exactly the same path and same direction, the player behind is responsible for contact which results if the player in front slows down or stops.

I had almost the exact play as the OP in the playoffs, HS, last year with one exception. The dribbler immediately moved into the path, less than two steps, but the kicker was he even tried to backup a step so there was no possible way for the defender to avoid contact.

Foul on the dribbler, we went the other way.

BillyMac Thu Feb 21, 2019 03:55pm

Beep, Beep, Beep ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RefRich (Post 1030551)
The dribbler immediately moved into the path, less than two steps, but the kicker was he even tried to backup a step so there was no possible way for the defender to avoid contact. Foul on the dribbler, we went the other way.

Good call. I'm not sure that I would have made the same call, not because I disagree with the interpretation, but because it's such an odd call to properly react to in a bang bang situation.

The "backup a step" may have helped.

bucky Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:28pm

Indeed, backing up is waaaaaay different. In that case, it is a PC foul...every...single...time.;)

SD Referee Fri Feb 22, 2019 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1030559)
Indeed, backing up is waaaaaay different. In that case, it is a PC foul...every...single...time.;)


I agree 100%!

Camron Rust Fri Feb 22, 2019 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1030559)
Indeed, backing up is waaaaaay different. In that case, it is a PC foul...every...single...time.;)

A sudden stop for no other reason isn't any different...both are designed to do the same thing.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1