The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2019, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Please allow me to clarify. The foot was covering the endline so that a portion of the foot was in bounds. It was clear to me that the inbounder (B1) was never OOB. In such a case, B2 had the option to take the ball OOB and become the inbounder, correct? If so, since he chose to NOT do that and advance the ball toward the front court, team B exceeded their 5 second time limit to properly inbound the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2019, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by chet_hoyt View Post
Please allow me to clarify. The foot was covering the endline so that a portion of the foot was in bounds. It was clear to me that the inbounder (B1) was never OOB. In such a case, B2 had the option to take the ball OOB and become the inbounder, correct? If so, since he chose to NOT do that and advance the ball toward the front court, team B exceeded their 5 second time limit to properly inbound the ball.
No.

It is a violation to make a throw-in after a made basket from inbounds. It's not a "do-over." It's not a 5-second violation.

It's a violation as soon as the team simulates a throw-in without getting out of bounds.

Just make sure that the thrower is clearly not OOB before whistling it. Don't split hairs.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2019, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post

It's a violation as soon as the team simulates a throw-in without getting out of bounds.
Interesting. I didn't know that. Is there a rule I can reference? Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2019, 10:41am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Throwin Violations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by chet_hoyt View Post
Interesting. I didn't know that. Is there a rule I can reference?
9-2 ART. 2 The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court
from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds
or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched.
ART. 5 The thrower shall not carry the ball onto the court.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2019, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9-2 ART. 2 The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court
from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds
or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched.
ART. 5 The thrower shall not carry the ball onto the court.
Chet I understand your point, because even with this rule citation, I think one can continue to say, "but he was never fully OOB, so this rule doesn't apply..." or something similar. However, B1 was clearly attempting to make a throw in, and his foot on the line makes him not out-of-bounds, as far as an inbounder is concerned.

You said you ruled it a 5 second violation, correct? What if B2 had traveled before you reached your 5 count? Would you have just not called anything? What if A1 stole the ball from a dribbling B2? Would you have called a T for interference with a player attempting to "In-bound" a ball?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2019, 11:04am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
One Toke Over The Line (Brewer & Shipley, 1970) …

Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
... and his foot on the line makes him not out-of-bounds, as far as an inbounder ...
You mean "over the line"? Right?

Now sit back and enjoy Brewer & Shipley's greatest hit. Vice President Spiro Agnew said the song was "blatant drug-culture propaganda that threatens to sap our national strength."

https://youtu.be/MNKL9onYB_8
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jan 31, 2019 at 11:46am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2019, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
You mean "over the line"? Right?
You can be vertically over the line....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2019, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by chet_hoyt View Post
Interesting. I didn't know that. Is there a rule I can reference? Thanks again.
The relevant case play was posted in post #2, only 2 minutes after you asked your question.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbound after made basket question- throws in before stepping out. marc.reppermund Basketball 14 Thu Jan 12, 2017 01:45pm
Inbound after made hoop & net is tangled RefLarry Basketball 17 Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:24pm
Inbound after made basket/timeout CoachP Basketball 7 Tue Jul 22, 2008 06:08pm
inbound after made basket shont Basketball 6 Fri Dec 03, 2004 11:57am
inbound after made FG ridgehiggs Basketball 4 Tue Mar 26, 2002 08:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1