![]() |
Masochistic throw-in question
Lotsa kid hoops tourneys these days and was watching one (probably the problem ... ) Friday night and this happened:
B1 wins battle for a rebound as A1 loses body control and goes splat. No fastbreak underway so the play is whistled dead while Coach A comes out to to tend to injured 7th grader. Teams congregate before their respective benches. A minute or so later, the shaken up player is walked off the floor and the officials hustle the players back onto the floor since there's been no timeout granted. Since A has the near bench and A2 mistakenly thinks his player hit the deck because he was fouled, he gets in place first, readies to receive the ball from the official and team B slowly trots back onto the court. Ball is handed to A2 at about the 28-foot mark and he passes to A3 who drives furiously to his nearby basket and gets fouled by B3 in a bang-bang sequence. Tweet. Two-shot foul. Stop. Officials realize why the play seemed so discombobulated and they seemed in the wrong positions: B should have inbounded, going long — not A. The nearest official stops everyone from setting up for the FTA and announces the ball was wrongly inbounded. Foul is wiped from the book and and play resumes with B inbounding from the previous throw-in spot. It wasn't (yet) a correctable error per 2-10, but handled correctly? |
Rule 7-6-6: "When an official administers a throw-in to the wrong team, the mistake must be rectified before the throw-in ends."
|
No, you gave the ball to the wrong team. That is not a correctable error. You cannot correct this when the throw-in ends by rule. So you cannot just whip off the foul just because. Everything has to count and move on from that point.
Peace |
Are you also saying the teams are now going the wrong direction as well? Then you would have to march everyone to the other lane and shoot the attempted FT there....everything counts as if you were going the correct direction the whole time.
|
No.
And there are officials who will ignore the rule (or flat out don't know it) and do what this crew did in the interest of doing what's "fair to the kids." Which is a cowardly way to officiate and just compounds the original mistake. I'd be pissed if I were A's coach and we had free throws taken away with no rules support. And if I were an assigner, I'd suspend a crew that didn't follow the rule. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Going back the OP, others have already provided the proper remedy for the situation. It is an official's mistake and not a correctable error. |
The rules are flexible....depending on the circumstances, game, and environment you can do "anything" you want. The more structured/important the games the less "flexible" the rules. Do what is expected in Rome. If you don't like it don't visit Rome.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15pm. |