The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Beckoned And/Or Comes Onto The Court ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104326-beckoned-comes-onto-court.html)

Raymond Wed Jan 30, 2019 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MattReferee (Post 1029537)
Had a girls VAR game jus last night and “Star” player went down in her front court as defensive team rebounds and fast breaks up Court..she stays down as I was the “L” now “T” I stayed with her while she grabbed her leg and I looked down court to wait for 1 a held ball by offensive team,2 a rebound by her team 3 dead ball and I soon as I seen her team grab rebound I blew whistle. Ok my question is just then she popped up “her team” with position and I’m holding my hand open as STOP to coach and I ask her if she is ok and she replied yes. I let her stay in game ,was I wrong to do so ?

I see nothing wrong with how you did it.

BillyMac Wed Jan 30, 2019 04:34pm

No Team Control ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MattReferee (Post 1029537)
Had a girls VAR game jus last night and “Star” player went down in her front court as defensive team rebounds and fast breaks up Court..she stays down as I was the “L” now “T” I stayed with her while she grabbed her leg and I looked down court to wait for 1 a held ball by offensive team,2 a rebound by her team 3 dead ball and I soon as I seen her team grab rebound I blew whistle.

We've been told (as recently as Sunday's meeting) to sound our whistle on the shot (no team control), the ball either goes in and we later go to run the endline, or we go to the alternating possession arrow. No chance for a rebound.

No rule reference, or casebook reference, just a local thing. Not sure how I feel about this. I need to give it more thought. Maybe a good topic for discussion.

Raymond Wed Jan 30, 2019 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1029544)
We've been told (as recently as Sunday's meeting) to sound our whistle on the shot (no team control), the ball either goes in and we later go to run the endline, or we go to the alternating possession arrow. No chance for a rebound.

No rule reference, or casebook reference, just a local thing. Not sure how I feel about this. I need to give it more thought. Maybe a good topic for discussion.

It's not a local thing. It's actually the rule, but gets ignored by most (including me)

Rule: 5-8 ART. 2
Stops play:

a. Because of an injury as in 3-3-6, 3-3-7.

b. To confer with the scorer or timer.

c. Because of unusual delay in getting a dead ball live.

d. For any other situations or any emergency.

NOTE: When a player is injured as in Art. 2(a), the official may suspend play after the ball is dead or is in control of the injured player’s team or when the opponents complete a play. A play is completed when a team loses control (including throwing for goal) or withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. When necessary to protect an injured player, the official may immediately stop play.
"

BillyMac Wed Jan 30, 2019 05:07pm

Dodged A Bullet ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1029546)
It's not a local thing. It's actually the rule, but gets ignored by most (including me)

Rule: 5-8 ART. 2
Stops play:
a. Because of an injury as in 3-3-6, 3-3-7.
d. For any other situations or any emergency.
NOTE: When a player is injured as in Art. 2(a), the official may suspend play after the ball is dead or is in control of the injured player’s team or when the opponents complete a play. A play is completed when a team loses control (including throwing for goal) or withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. When necessary to protect an injured player, the official may immediately stop play.
"

Wow. Thanks Raymond. It's good thing that I didn't raise my hand and ask a critical question at Sunday's meeting. I would have left with egg on my face.

I no longer need to give it more thought. Thanks to Raymond, it's the correct way to stop play in such situations.

https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.b...=0&w=300&h=300

bob jenkins Wed Jan 30, 2019 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1029546)

NOTE: When a player is injured as in Art. 2(a), the official may suspend play after the ball is dead or is in control of the injured player’s team or when the opponents complete a play. A play is completed when a team loses control (including throwing for goal) or withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. When necessary to protect an injured player, the official may immediately stop play. [/I]"

The NCAA (at least W) rule is essentially the same, but it does not contain the underlined part of the note -- would we enforce it the same?

Raymond Wed Jan 30, 2019 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1029552)
The NCAA (at least W) rule is essentially the same, but it does not contain the underlined part of the note -- would we enforce it the same?

We don't have that verbiage on the Men's side.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Thu Jan 31, 2019 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1029566)
We don't have that verbiage on the Men's side.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

So when would you stop play in the Mattreferee's / BillyMac's playon the men's side?

Raymond Thu Jan 31, 2019 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1029574)
So when would you stop play in the Mattreferee's / BillyMac's playon the men's side?

If the offense doesn't attack the basket, if the offense attacks then kicks it back out, after a made basket, after a turnover, or after either team rebounds a missed shot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1