The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   FT with And 1 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104236-ft-1-a.html)

BillyMac Fri Dec 28, 2018 02:13pm

Team Control ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1027780)
How can there be TEAM control if the ball is possessed by an official?

Assuming the lead was inbounds ...

Because the rule says so. Ask yourself who had team control before it was controlled by the official?

RULE 4 SECTION 12 CONTROL, PLAYER AND TEAM
ART. 1 A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or -
dribbling a live ball. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a
jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper,
or during an interrupted dribble.
ART. 2 A team is in control of the ball:
a. When a player of the team is in control.

b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.
c. During an interrupted dribble.
d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.
ART. 3 Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
ART. 4 While the ball remains live a loose ball always remains in
control of the team whose player last had control,
unless it is a try or tap
for goal.

If the official, while holding the ball, moves his pivot foot in excess of the legal limitations are you going to call a travel violation?

For all intents and purposes the official is part of the floor.

http://lowres.cartoonstock.com/diy-p...br1394_low.jpg

BillyMac Fri Dec 28, 2018 03:26pm

Possession Arrow ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1027767)
If L (and apparently others) thought it was the first of multiple FTs ...

Any chance of miscommunication, or misunderstanding by all the players, I'm going with the possession arrow.

Below is certainly not a completely relevant casebook play, but it's the only one that's close:

8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-
one free-throw situation. The administering official steps
in and erroneously informs players that two free throws will
be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed free
throw is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players
motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all
other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or
(c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to
secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this
point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put
one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and
didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be ruled dead
immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession
procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound
despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to
gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3; 2-
10)

bob jenkins Fri Dec 28, 2018 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1027787)
Any chance of miscommunication, or misunderstanding by all the players, I'm going with the possession arrow.

Yes

No

I might get together with, or look at, my partners to see if anyone signaled "two shots." If we all had "one shot" then it's on the players.

MattReferee Fri Dec 28, 2018 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1027782)
I'm surprised there is no casebook play for this situation, but assuming the lead is using proper mechanics for this play, he will be out-of-bounds, so this discussion is moot. A ball at the spot nearest to the ball going out of bounds.


I think this is what I said and agree !!!

billyu2 Fri Dec 28, 2018 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 1027760)
"Score the goal" .. all 3 officials mirror ONE shot .. the first shot comes off the rim and no one moves .. period. The inside defensive player gathers the rebound and tosses it to the L for what they think is another shot.

Had a very similar situation many years ago. Two person, trail administers free throws back then. I was Trail. Stepped in, said "one shot", gave ball to the shooter. Free throw bounced off front of the rim right back to the shooter. No one moves. Shooter catches the ball. Bounce-catch, bounce-catch as if he gets another try. After I put my jaw back in place, I blew the whistle and signaled double dribble.

WhistlesAndStripes Fri Dec 28, 2018 07:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1027771)
One of my pet peeves is when officials think TC ends because of an errand pass.


One of my pet peeves is when people don’t proofread their posts and end up using words like errand when they meant errant.

[emoji1787][emoji23][emoji1787]

It’s even more disturbing when I see that their post has already been edited at least once.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Raymond Fri Dec 28, 2018 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by WhistlesAndStripes (Post 1027793)
One of my pet peeves is when people don’t proofread their posts and end up using words like errand when they meant errant.

[emoji1787][emoji23][emoji1787]

It’s even more disturbing when I see that their post has already been edited at least once.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I was wondering if I spelled that wrong. It just didn't feel right, but I was too lazy to look it up. I knew if I did somebody would come along and let me know.

As long as I'm getting the rules part right I'm happy.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

WhistlesAndStripes Fri Dec 28, 2018 07:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1027794)
As long as I'm getting the rules part right I'm happy.


Me too.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1