The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Vid Request: Clemson vs S. Carolina - BI/GT? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104235-vid-request-clemson-vs-s-carolina-bi-gt.html)

bucky Thu Dec 27, 2018 04:50pm

Vid Request: Clemson vs S. Carolina - BI/GT?
 
With 18:13 left in the second half, player attempts a dunk that appears to be legally blocked. L ref scored the basket but no reason/explanation was ever given. TV angle made it difficult to see calling official and they immediately cut away and started discussing something else. No players flinched. ??

Raymond Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:17pm

Called by the Lead. I didn't see anything illegal; looked like a good block of a dunk attempt. Same official who called the incorrect kick ball.

JRutledge Sat Dec 29, 2018 03:13pm

Here you go.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/B52gDdo3APs" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Camron Rust Sat Dec 29, 2018 04:40pm

Looks like part of the ball was in the cylinder which is all it takes. The only exception for such contact is for a player executing a dunk, not the defender. So, once the leading edge of the ball crosses into the cylinder defined by the rim, it would be basket interference for another player to touch the ball.

bucky Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:52am

And I never understood why the offense gets that exception but not the defense. A1 is attempting to dunk the ball and has his two hands on the ball above the cylinder. B1 blocks the ball. Doesn't seem right that something is wrong with that.

crosscountry55 Sun Dec 30, 2018 01:15pm

Not taking a side because honestly I知 not sure of the rule. I知 just not a big fan of the L making a BI call here. I think if we leave that for C/T per proper mechanics, we池e more likely not to get a whistle on an arguably marginal call like this.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Camron Rust Sun Dec 30, 2018 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1027858)
Not taking a side because honestly I知 not sure of the rule. I知 just not a big fan of the L making a BI call here. I think if we leave that for C/T per proper mechanics, we池e more likely not to get a whistle on an arguably marginal call like this.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The L was in more of a C position here, not off the endline. In a transition play, a L is often the official best in position to make the call. The mechanic of it being the T/C call is assuming we're in a half-court situation.

JRutledge Sun Dec 30, 2018 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1027858)
Not taking a side because honestly I知 not sure of the rule. I知 just not a big fan of the L making a BI call here. I think if we leave that for C/T per proper mechanics, we池e more likely not to get a whistle on an arguably marginal call like this.

I was told some time ago that the Lead can make these calls in transition if they are looking at the front of the basket. If they are looking behind, then no, they should leave it alone. But in this situation, it appears he should have been out of bounds by this time, but he seemed to be anticipating the next play and stayed home. I would need more guidance in this situation to know if that is something I should do personally if in that situation.

Peace

bucky Sun Dec 30, 2018 04:13pm

Yes, to me it appears as if the L intentionally stopped to adjudicate rim activity. He only made one heel to the endline.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1