The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Continuous Motion: BillyMac This Thread Is For You, So Que Up Your Memes! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104107-continuous-motion-billymac-thread-you-so-que-up-your-memes.html)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:42am

Continuous Motion: BillyMac This Thread Is For You, So Que Up Your Memes!

I am a member of Referee Magazine Facebook Group, and from time-to-time articles that have previously appeared in Referee Magazine are published in the FB Group.

One such article was published very early this morning and it was a very well written article regarding Continuous Motion. Naturally, the author talked about how one should not use the phrase: "On the floor!", but that one should use "two shots" or "going up". "Going up!": :eek: And naturally I could not resist responding how one should not say: "Going up!"

My comment was short (me give a short comment, :p) and sweet. I said that the number of free throws should be used and not "going up". Sure enough my comment solicited a solitary (so far) reply and the one word question: "Why?"

I gave the following example (Billy, get ready to find a meme for me): A1 is shooting a Set Shot (:p) and is fouled before releasing the Ball. A1 is fouled in the Act of Shooting but is not "going up".

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Tue Oct 30, 2018 12:03pm

Calvin Coolidge And Will Rogers ...

Things Officials Should Probably Not Be Saying In A Game

Calvin Coolidge once said, "The things I did not say never hurt me." Of course, he was not talking about basketball, but many officials would be smart to heed his sage advice as they communicate with coaches, and players.